Header

Organisation chart of the International Law Division

7/F, Main Wing, Justice Place,
18 Lower Albert Road, Central, Hong Kong

Treaties & Law Unit
Enquiries: 3918 4764
Fax : 3918 4791
Mutual Legal Assistance Unit
Enquiries: 3918 4765
Fax: 3918 4792

print chart

Organisation Chart of International Law Division Treaties & Law Unit, DPGC - Ms Lorraine Chan (3918 4305) Law Officer - Mr Paul Tsang, SBS (3918 4777) Treaties & Law Unit, Deputy Law Officer, Mr Peter Wong (3918 4080) Mutual Legal Assistance Unit, Deputy Law Officer, Ms Linda Lam (3918 4766) Treaties & Law Unit, DPGC - Ms Alice Choy (3918 4770) Treaties & Law Unit, DPGC - Miss Shirley Wong (3918 4772) Mutual Legal Assistance Unit, DPGC - Ms Anthea Li (3918 4753) Mutual Legal Assistance Unit, DPGC (Acting) - Ms Elizabeth Liu (3918 4774)

The International Law Division comprises the Treaties & Law Unit and the Mutual Legal Assistance Unit. It has three important roles: it provides legal advice on public international law to the government; it negotiates international agreements, or provides legal advisers for such negotiations; and it handles requests for legal co-operation between the HKSAR and other jurisdictions.

Advice

The subjects on which the Treaties & Law Unit gives advice include international trade law, privileges and immunities, civil aviation and maritime matters, international labour conventions, human rights, environment and health, visa abolition and outer space. The unit also advises on the drafting and interpretation of co-operative agreements and arrangements which range from customs and police co-operation to cultural and education co-operation. The Mutual Legal Assistance Unit also performs an advisory role in relation to aspects of international criminal law and international legal co-operation in criminal matters. In addition, the division advises on the enactment of legislation to implement international agreements in the HKSAR. The subject matter includes United Nations Security Council Resolutions, maritime matters, conservation, surrender of fugitive offenders and mutual legal assistance in criminal matters.



Negotiations



Bilateral agreements


Counsel in the division negotiate agreements on behalf of the HKSAR with foreign countries on the surrender of fugitive offenders, mutual legal assistance in criminal matters and the transfer of sentenced persons. The HKSAR has signed over 60 agreements on these three areas.

Apart from conducting negotiations, counsel in the division also provide legal support in bilateral negotiations as part of the HKSAR delegation. The subject matter of negotiations includes air services, avoidance of double taxation, customs co-operation, free trade agreements, agreements on investment promotion and protection and visa abolition. The number of these bilateral agreements to which the HKSAR is a party has been over 180.

Mutual legal assistance in criminal matters

These agreements provide for the rendering of assistance in relation to the investigation and prosecution of crimes, and proceedings related to criminal matters. The types of assistance include taking of evidence, executing requests for search and seizure, producing documents, restraining and confiscating proceeds of crime, transferring persons to give assistance and effecting service of legal process.

Surrender of fugitive offenders

The parties to an agreement for the surrender of fugitive offenders undertake to surrender to each other, subject to conditions, persons who are accused of serious offences, or who have absconded after conviction. The conduct constituting the crime must amount to an offence according to the laws of both parties. These agreements help to prevent the HKSAR from becoming a haven for criminals from abroad and facilitate the return to the HKSAR of criminals who have fled overseas.

Transfer of sentenced persons

These agreements enable foreign nationals serving a sentence of imprisonment in the HKSAR to return to their home country so as to serve out the remainder of their sentence in an environment which is free from cultural and language barriers and where they will be able to receive family support. Similarly, people from the HKSAR who are serving sentences of imprisonment imposed in foreign jurisdictions may return to the HKSAR to serve the balance of their sentences in a familiar environment and thereby enhance their prospects of rehabilitation.

Air services

Air services agreements provide the framework for scheduled air services to operate between the HKSAR and its bilateral partners. They are negotiated on the basis of a balanced exchange of air traffic rights. Negotiations have also taken place to provide for overflight agreements with appropriate countries. The HKSAR has signed over 70 air services agreements with other jurisdictions.

Avoidance of double taxation

These agreements and arrangements provide for the avoidance of double taxation of persons carrying on cross-border economic activities. The agreements and arrangements may relate to specific income (such as income from international air and maritime traffic), or may provide for comprehensive double taxation avoidance. The HKSAR has signed over 40 comprehensive double taxation agreements and agreements in respect of shipping and air services income, and has reached substantial agreement with a number of jurisdictions on comprehensive agreements.

Investment promotion and protection

An investment promotion and protection agreement creates favourable conditions for greater investment by investors of one contracting party in the area of the other. Such an agreement includes provision for the investments of each party to be accorded fair and equitable treatment with no discrimination, and for compensation to be paid for losses caused by war or other armed conflict, revolution, national emergency or riot; and for deprivation of investments. Currently, the HKSAR has signed around 20 investment promotion and protection agreements with other jurisdictions.

Visa abolition

These agreements and arrangements provide for mutual dispensation of visa requirements and facilitate travel between the HKSAR and other jurisdictions. These arrangements are especially important for businessmen and tourists. The number of agreements or arrangements which enable holders of HKSAR passports to enjoy visa-on-arrival or visa-free access to other jurisdictions is around 160.

Multilateral agreements

Counsel in the division participate in international meetings and diplomatic conferences held by international organisations. Counsel may form part of the “Hong Kong, China” delegation, as in the case of the World Trade Organization of which the HKSAR is a member. They may also be members of the Chinese delegation, as in the case of the Hague Conference on Private International Law or the International Civil Aviation Organization, where membership is limited to states.

Very often these meetings and conferences discuss the drafting and conclusion of multilateral agreements or matters arising from their implementation. Currently, over 260 multilateral treaties apply to the HKSAR.


Requests for assistance

The Mutual Legal Assistance Unit discharges the responsibilities of the Central Authority of the HKSAR for the purposes of mutual legal co-operation in criminal matters. The unit co-ordinates and processes requests to and from the HKSAR for the surrender of fugitive offenders and for mutual legal assistance; and advises the government on applications for the transfer of sentenced persons to and from the HKSAR. The unit also handles letters of requests from overseas courts or tribunals pursuant to the Evidence Ordinance (Cap 8). The unit also acts as the Central Authority of the HKSAR under the Hague Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction and the Child Abduction and Custody Ordinance (Cap 512) to process return and access applications to and from Convention countries.

For information of obtaining assistance from HKSAR in criminal cases, please refer to Guidelines for making applications under the Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters Ordinance (Chapter 525, Laws of Hong Kong) and Guide to Asset Recovery in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.


Other work

Financial Action Task Force Against Money Laundering (FATF)

The Mutual Legal Assistance Unit provides legal support to the Financial Secretary and Secretary for Security in relation to the HKSAR’s participation in the FATF as a full member, under the name “Hong Kong, China”. Counsel attend international meetings of the FATF, participate in expert working groups and act as expert legal assessors in mutual evaluations of fellow members’ implementation of measures to combat money laundering and terrorist financing.

International seminars

Counsel in the division contribute to maintaining the HKSAR’s international profile by regularly speaking and participating in regional and international seminars organised by other governments and international organisations such as the Hague Conference on Private International Law. Counsel also frequently conduct briefings for local and overseas law enforcement agencies on mutual legal assistance matters and deliver papers in the field of international co-operation in criminal matters such as asset recovery and other forms of mutual legal assistance.

Go to Top

標題

國際法律科組織圖

香港中環下亞厘畢道18號
律政中心中座7樓

條約法律組
查詢: 3918 4764
傳真﹕3918 4791
司法互助組
查詢: 3918 4765
傳真: 3918 4792
列印圖表

律政司 - 國際法律科組織圖 國際法律專員 - 曾強先生, SBS (3918 4777) 條約法律組, 副國際法律專員 - 黄慶康先生 (3918 4080) 司法互助組, 副國際法律專員 - 林美秀女士 (3918 4766) 條約法律組, 副首席政府律師 - 蔡敏斯女士 (3918 4770) 條約法律組, 副首席政府律師 - 黃修賢女士 (3918 4772) 司法互助組, 副首席政府律師 - 李淑君女士 (3918 4753) 司法互助組, 署理副首席政府律師 - 劉書玲女士 (3918 4774)

國際法律科由條約法律組和司法互助組組成。該科負責三項主要工作:向政府提供有關國際公法的法律意見,負責國際協議的談判工作或派出法律專業人員在談判中提供意見,以及處理香港特區與其他司法管轄區之間的司法合作請求。

提供意見

條約法律組提供法律意見的範圍包括:國際貿易法、特權及豁免、民用航空及海事、國際勞工公約、人權、環境及衞生、互免簽證和外層空間等。此外,該組就不同範疇的合作協議和安排的草擬和解釋事宜提供法律意見。有關範疇包括海關及警方合作,以至文化及教育合作。司法互助組就國際刑法和刑事事宜國際司法合作的各方面,提供法律意見。此外,國際法律科就制定法例以便在香港特區實施國際協議,提供法律意見。這些協議的主題包括聯合國安全理事會決議案、海事、環境保護、移交逃犯和刑事事宜司法互助。


談判



雙邊協議


國際法律科的律師代表香港特區與其他國家就移交逃犯、刑事事宜司法互助及移交被判刑人士的協議進行談判。香港特區在這三方面已簽署超過60項協議。

除了進行談判之外,國際法律科的律師也會出任香港特區代表團的成員,在雙邊談判中提供法律支援。談判的事項包括民用航空運輸、避免雙重徵稅、海關合作、自由貿易協定、促進和保護投資的協議,以及互免簽證協議。目前,香港特區已簽署超過180項此等雙邊協議。

刑事事宜司法互助

這方面的協議規定締約雙方須就罪行的調查及檢控事宜,以及與刑事事宜有關的法律程序,向對方提供協助。協助方式包括取證、執行搜查和檢取的請求、出示文件、限制和沒收犯罪得益、移交人員以提供協助,以及送達法律程序文件。

移交逃犯

移交逃犯協議的締約雙方,承諾在符合某些條件下,向對方移交被控犯了嚴重罪行或被定罪後潛逃的人,但構成罪行的行為,必須是根據締約雙方的法律同屬刑事罪行。這些協議可避免香港特區成為外地罪犯的避難所,也有助把逃往海外的罪犯遣送回港。

移交被判刑人士

這方面的協議可讓在香港特區服監禁刑期的外國人返回原國,在沒有文化和語言障礙以及可以得到家人支持的環境下,繼續服刑直至刑期屆滿。同樣,在外地司法管轄區被判在當地服監禁刑期的香港人也可以返回香港特區,在熟悉的環境下繼續服刑直至刑期屆滿,藉此提高他們改過自新的機會。

民用航空運輸

民用航空運輸協議為香港特區與其雙邊夥伴之間的定期航班服務訂定框架。這些協議的談判是以平等交換航空交通權為基礎的。當局也與有關國家就民航過境協議進行談判。香港特區與其他司法管轄區已簽署超過70項民用航空運輸協議。

避免雙重徵稅

這方面的協議及安排,為避免對從事跨境經濟活動人士雙重徵稅而作出規定。有關協定及安排適用於特定收入(例如從國際空運及海運中賺取的收入),或訂明全面的避免雙重徵稅規定。香港特區已簽署超過40項全面的避免雙重徵稅協定,以及有關航運和民用航空運輸收入的協議,並與若干司法管轄區就訂立全面協議大體上取得共識。

促進和保護投資

促進和保護投資協議為締約雙方創造有利的投資條件,讓雙方的投資者在對方境內作出更大的投資。這些協定訂明締約雙方的投資同獲公正和公平對待,不會受到歧視,也訂明由戰爭或其他武裝衝突、革命、國家緊急狀態或騷亂所引致的損失以及被徵用的投資項目會獲得賠償。目前,香港特區與其他司法管轄區已簽署約有20項促進和保護投資協定。

互免簽證

這些協議及安排令香港特區與其他司法管轄區可以相互豁免簽證規定,方便人們往來,對商人及旅客尤其重要。現時,這類讓香港特區護照持有人以落地簽證或免簽證進入其他司法管轄區的協議及安排已達約160項。

多邊協定

國際法律科的律師參與由國際組織舉辦的國際會議及外交會議。他們可以“中國香港”代表團成員的身分出席會議,例如出席世界貿易組織會議(香港特區是該組織的成員);他們也可以中華人民共和國代表團成員的身分出席會議,例如出席只限以國家為單位參加的海牙國際私法會議或國際民用航空組織的會議。

這些國際和外交會議往往討論多邊協議的草擬及訂立事宜,或實施協議引起的事宜。目前適用於香港特區的多邊條約超過260項。


提供協助的請求

司法互助組代表香港特區履行為刑事事宜司法合作而設的中心機關的職責。該組負責協調和處理香港特區提出和接獲的移交逃犯及司法互助請求,並就香港特區提出和接獲的移交被判刑人士的申請,向政府提供法律意見。該組也根據《證據條例》(第8章)處理海外法院或審裁處提出的請求。該組也按照在海牙簽訂的《國際擄拐兒童民事方面公約》及本港的《擄拐和管養兒童條例》(第512章)的有關規定,擔任香港特區的中樞當局,處理向締約國提出和從締約國接獲的交還兒童申請和探視兒童申請。

有關尋求香港特區就刑事事宜的協助,請參閱刑事事宜相互法律協助條例(香港法例第525章)下提出申請指引[只有英文]和香港特別行政區資產追回指引 [只有英文]


其他工作

打擊清洗黑錢財務行動特別組織

香港特區是該組織的正式成員,以“中國香港”名義參與該組織的事務。司法互助組就與此相關的事宜,向財政司司長及保安局局長提供法律支援。司法互助組的律師出席該組織的國際會議及參與專家工作小組,並在該組織成員相互評估反清洗黑錢和打擊恐怖份子籌資活動措施的實施情況時,擔任專家法律評估人員。

國際研討會

國際法律科的律師定期出席其他政府及國際組織舉辦的地區及國際研討會(如海牙國際私法會議),並在會上發言,這有助保持香港特區的國際形象。此外,他們經常為本地及海外執法機關舉行有關司法互助事宜的簡介會,並就刑事事宜的國際合作(如追討資產和其他形式的司法互助),發表文章。

返回頁首