Header

Secretary for Justice, Ms. Teresa Cheng, GBS, SC, JP

Biography

Ms. Teresa Cheng, SC, was appointed Secretary for Justice on January 6, 2018. She was a Senior Counsel in private practice before joining the Government. She is also a chartered engineer, chartered arbitrator and accredited mediator. She was frequently engaged as arbitrator or counsel in complex international commercial or investment disputes.

Ms. Cheng was one of the founders and Chairman of the Asian Academy of International Law. She is a Past Vice President of the International Council of Commercial Arbitration, Past Vice President of the ICC International Court of Arbitration and Past Chairperson of Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre. In 2008, she became the first Asian woman elected through a global election as President of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators. She served as Deputy Judge / Recorder in the Court of First Instance of the High Court of Hong Kong from 2011 to 2017. She is a member of the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes Panel of Arbitrators, and was a member of the World Bank's Sanctions Board.

Ms. Cheng is a Fellow of King's College in London, and was the Course Director of the International Arbitration and Dispute Settlement Course at the Law School of Tsinghua University in Beijing.

  Ms Teresa Cheng, GBS, SC, JP, Secretary for Justice
Ms Teresa Cheng
GBS, SC, JP
Secretary for Justice

The Role of the Secretary for Justice

The Secretary for Justice is appointed by the Central People's Government upon nomination by the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. The Secretary for Justice is the principal legal adviser to the Chief Executive, to the government and to individual government departments and agencies. The incumbent Secretary has been appointed to the Executive Council. In addition to his duties and responsibilities in relation to the conduct of criminal proceedings, the Secretary for Justice is the defendant in all civil actions brought against the government.

Before 1 July 1997, the post of Secretary for Justice was called Attorney General.

The Department of Justice is headed by the Secretary for Justice, who fulfils a wide range of duties. Chief among these is to act as the principal legal adviser to the Chief Executive, to the government and to individual government bureaus, departments and agencies. The Secretary for Justice is also a member of the Executive Council.

The decision to prosecute criminal offences is the sole responsibility of the Secretary for Justice who in this respect operates independently, free from any interference. The Secretary for Justice is also the defendant in all civil actions brought against the government and represents both the government and the public interest in the courts.

As guardian of the public interest in a wider sense, the Secretary for Justice may make application for judicial review to enforce public legal rights. The Secretary has a right to intervene in any case involving a matter of great public interest. The Secretary represents the public interest as counsel to tribunals of inquiry. The Secretary is the Protector of Charities and must be joined as a party in all actions to enforce charitable or public trusts. The Secretary for Justice also has a more general public interest role as amicus curiae (literally, friend of the court), the most important example of which is bringing alleged contempts of court to the notice of the courts.

Amongst many other functions, the Secretary for Justice is Chairman of the Law Reform Commission, Vice-Chairman of the Fight Crime Committee, and serves on the Chief Secretary for Administration's Policy Committee, the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission and the ICAC's Operations Review Committee.

Go to Top

 

Web Accessibility Conformance Statement

標題

律政司司長鄭若驊, GBS, SC, JP

履歷

鄭若驊資深大律師於2018年1月6日獲委任為律政司司長。加入政府前是私人執業資深大律師,具特許工程師及特許仲裁員資格,經常在複雜的國際商事及國際投資糾紛中獲委任為代理人或仲裁員。

鄭若驊是亞洲國際法律研究院創始成員及前任主席、國際商事仲裁會前任副主席、國際商會國際仲裁院前任副主席及香港國際仲裁中心前任主席。於二○○八年經全球選舉成為首位出任特許仲裁學會主席的亞洲女性,二○一一年至二○一七年擔任香港高等法院原訟庭暫委/特委法官。現為世界銀行國際投資爭端解決中心仲裁員,並曾任世界銀行制裁委員會成員。

鄭若驊是倫敦大學英皇學院院士及清華大學法學院國際仲裁與爭端解決前任專案主任。

  鄭若驊, GBS, SC, JP, Secretary for Justice
律政司司長
鄭若驊, GBS, SC, JP

律政司司長的角色

律政司司長經香港特別行政區行政長官提名,由中央人民政府委任,他是行政長官、政府、個別政府部門及機構的首要法律顧問。現任律政司司長也獲委任為行政會議議員。除了進行刑事訴訟外,律政司司長在所有控告政府的民事訴訟中,亦以被告人身份與訟。

律政司司長於1997年7月1日前稱律政司。

律政司司長是律政司的首長,職責繁重,既是行政長官、政府、政府各決策局、部門及機構的首席法律顧問,也是行政會議成員。

檢控刑事罪行與否,完全由律政司司長決定,律政司司長在這方面的工作完全獨立,不受任何干涉。在所有控告政府的民事訴訟中,律政司司長以被告人身分與訟,並在法庭上代表政府及公眾利益。

律政司司長有責任維護更廣義的公眾利益,他可申請司法覆核,以強制執行公法方面的權利,也有權介入涉及重大公眾利益的案件。在審裁研訊中,他代表公眾利益而以律師身分提供法律意見。律政司司長也是慈善事務的守護人,在所有為使慈善信託或公眾信託得以執行而進行的訴訟中,律政司司長必須為與訟一方。此外,為一般公眾利益,律政司司長有責任作為“法庭之友”(協助法庭解決問題的人),其中最重要的事例是把涉嫌藐視法庭的個案通知法院。

在眾多其他職能之中,律政司司長擔任法律改革委員會主席,以及撲滅罪行委員會副主席。他亦是政務司司長領導的政策委員會的成員,以及司法人員推薦委員會和廉政公署審查貪污舉報諮詢委員會的成員。

返回頁首

 

無障礙網頁守則