5/F, Main Wing, Justice Place, 18 Lower Albert Road, Central, Hong Kong
Enquiries : 3918 4099
Fax : 3918 4119
Print Chart

Organisation chart of the Secretary for Justice's Office. Secretary for Justice, Ms Teresa Cheng, GBM, GBS, SC, JP (3918 4111). Law Reform Commission Secretariat, Secretary, Law Reform Commission, Mr Wesley Wong, SC, JP (3918 4001).Inclusive Dispute Avoidance and Resolution Office, Commissioner, Dr James Ding (3918 4788). Rule of Law Unit. Administrative Assistant to SJ, Ms Christie Kwong (3918 4117).Press Secretary to SJ, Mr Mackenzie Mak (3918 4128). Public Relations & Information Unit.

Secretary for Justice's Office

(a) Inclusive Dispute Avoidance and Resolution Office

The Inclusive Dispute Avoidance and Resolution Office provides support to the Secretary for Justice in planning and taking forward initiatives and programmes which contribute to the enhancement of Hong Kong’s role as an ideal hub for deal making and a leading centre for international legal and dispute resolution services in the Asia-Pacific region and beyond. The Office also promotes rule of law and inclusive development by facilitating access to justice. The Office is supported by the Arbitration Team and the Mediation Team of the Civil Division, and the International Organisation and Legal Cooperation Team of the International Law Division.

(b) Law Reform Commission Secretariat

The primary role of the Law Reform Commission Secretariat is to provide secretariat support to the Commission and its expert sub-committees. Apart from providing general secretariat services, counsel in the Secretariat also carry out extensive local and international legal research and legal writing required to support members of the Commission and its sub-committees. The Secretariat also conduct public consultations on the published consultation papers and some promotional activities, including the annual Law Reform Essay Competition.

(c) Information and Public Relations

The department considers that part of its role is to promote understanding in the community of Hong Kong's legal system. To that end, the Public Relations and Information Unit of the Secretary for Justice's Office provides information to the public and the media about the work of the department through press releases, press conferences, and arranging for counsel to give media interviews and participate in TV and radio public affairs programmes. Arrangements are also made for counsel to contribute articles to newspapers on a variety of law-related issues. The unit also co-ordinates the preparation of educational materials and publications to introduce aspects of Hong Kong's legal system and foster commitment to the rule of law.

(d) Administrative and Executive Support

The Secretary for Justice's Office provides administrative support to the Secretary for Justice and assists the Secretary in all matters related to the Executive and Legislative Councils. The Office would ensure that the Secretary is fully briefed on the issues which arise, assist in the analysis of those issues, and help to prepare speeches and responses.