Appointment to Law Reform Commission

The following is issued on behalf of the Law Reform Commission:

The Law Reform Commission (LRC) today (May 30) announced that Mrs Eleanor Ling has been reappointed by the Chief Executive as a member of the Commission for a second three-year term with effect from June 1, 2014.

First appointed to the Commission on June 1, 2011, Mrs Ling was a former Adviser to the Board of Jardine Matheson Limited. The LRC expresses its appreciation to Mrs Ling for her valuable contributions to the Commission over the past three years and believes that her expertise and extensive experience in business, as well as her distinguished record of public service, would continue to benefit the Commission in law reform.

With this latest appointment, the LRC now comprises the following members: Mr Justice Robert Tang Ching; Mr John Budge; Mr Anderson Chow, SC; Ms Christine Fang; Mr Eugene Fung, SC; Ms Angela Lee; Professor Lin Feng; Mrs Eleanor Ling; Mr Peter Rhodes; and Professor Michael Wilkinson.

The LRC is chaired by the Secretary for Justice, and the Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal and the Law Draftsman are ex-officio members.

Ends/Friday, May 30, 2014