Government sets up Advisory Committee on Promotion of Arbitration

The Department of Justice (DoJ) today (December 18) announced the setting up of the Advisory Committee on Promotion of Arbitration to further promote Hong Kong as a leading centre for international arbitration services in the Asia-Pacific region.

The committee, chaired by the Secretary for Justice, includes representatives from the DoJ and the legal, arbitration and relevant sectors in Hong Kong. Overseas arbitration experts may also be appointed from time to time to assist in the work of the Advisory Committee either generally or on specific issues.

The committee will advise and assist the DoJ in respect of the promotion of arbitration in Hong Kong, including but not limited to:

(a) considering, advising on and co-ordinating ongoing and new initiatives and overall strategies for the promotion of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region's (HKSAR) arbitration services in and outside Hong Kong;

(b) serving as a forum for discussing such issues as may be raised by the legal and dispute resolution sectors concerning the promotion of the HKSAR as a leading centre for arbitration services in the Asia-Pacific region; and

(c) such matters as may be incidental to the matters stated in (a) and (b) above (including, but not limited to, the conduct of researches or studies relating to arbitration).

The membership of the committee is as follows:

Mr Rimsky Yuen, SC, Secretary for Justice (Chairman)
Ms Teresa Cheng, SC
Mr Samuel Wong
Mr Christopher To
Ms Kim Rooney
Mr Thomas So
Ms Shirley Yuen
Ms Jenny Koo
Mr Andrew Liao, SC
Mr Arthur Bowring
Dr Wang Wenying
Representatives of the DoJ

Ends/Thursday, December 18, 2014