Appointment to Law Reform Commission

The following is issued on behalf of the Law Reform Commission:

The Law Reform Commission today (February 27) announced that Ms Christine Fang has been reappointed by the Chief Executive as a member of the Commission for a second three-year term with effect from March 1, 2017.

First appointed to the Commission on March 1, 2014, Ms Fang was the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Council of Social Service from 2001 to 2013, and the Secretary General of the Hong Kong Red Cross from 1993 to 2001. The Commission believes that the expertise and extensive experience of Ms Fang in social work, as well as her distinguished record of public service, would continue to benefit the Commission in law reform. The Commission expressed its appreciation to Ms Fang for her valuable contributions to the Commission's work over the past three years.

With this latest reappointment, the Law Reform Commission now comprises the following members:

The Secretary for Justice (Chairman)
Mr Justice Robert Tang Ching
Mrs Eleanor Ling
Ms Angela Lee
Mr Eugene Fung, SC
Professor Lin Feng
Ms Christine Fang
Mr Robert Y H Pang, SC
Professor Michael Hor
Professor Christopher Gane
Mr Allan Leung
The Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal (ex-officio member)
The Law Draftsman (ex-officio member)

Ends/Monday, Feb 27, 2017