Appointment to Law Reform Commission

The following is issued on behalf of the Law Reform Commission:

The Law Reform Commission (LRC) today (December 31) announced that Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi, SC, has been appointed by the Chief Executive as a new member of the LRC for three years with effect from January 1, 2019.

Ms Tam, who is a senior counsel with broad experience in commercial (especially intellectual property) litigation, will replace Mr Eugene Fung, SC, following his completion of two three-year terms as an LRC member. The LRC believes that the substantial expertise and experience of Ms Tam in the legal sector, as well as her diverse experience of public service, would benefit the LRC in law reform.

The Secretary for Justice, Ms Teresa Cheng, SC, who is also Chairman of the LRC, thanked Mr Fung for his valuable contribution and advice to the LRC over the years.

With this latest appointment, the LRC will comprise the following members:

Secretary for Justice (Chairman)
Professor Lin Feng
Ms Christine Fang
Mr Robert Y H Pang, SC
Professor Michael Hor
Professor Christopher Gane
Mr Allan Leung
Ms Alexandra Lo
Ms Melissa Wu
Mr Justice Andrew Cheung Kui-nung
Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi, SC
The Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal (ex-officio member)
The Law Draftsman (ex-officio member)

Ends/Monday, December 31, 2018