Appointments to Committee on Provision of Space in the Legal Hub

     The Department of Justice (DoJ) announced today (December 1) re-appointments to the Committee on Provision of Space in the Legal Hub for 13 months from December 1, 2019 to December 31, 2020.

     Pursuant to the policy objective of enhancing Hong Kong's status as an international legal and dispute resolution centre in the Asia Pacific region, the Government has committed to provide certain space in the West Wing of the former Central Government Offices (CGO) and the former French Mission Building to law-related organisations. Together with the DoJ's offices in the Main Wing, East Wing and part of the West Wing of the former CGO, the area is intended to form a Legal Hub at the heart of Hong Kong.

     The Committee, chaired by the Secretary for Justice, was set up in December 2014 to consider the arrangements in relation to the provision of space in the Legal Hub and to accordingly advise the Secretary for Justice on other implementation details.

     The Committee comprises non-official members from the legal, business and other relevant sectors, as well as representatives from relevant Government departments. Taking into account the progress of the Legal Hub project, members of the Committee are re-appointed for 13 months to continue to advise on the project's development. The membership of the Committee is as follows (with effect from December 1, 2019):

Ms Teresa Cheng, SC, Secretary for Justice (Chairman)
Mr Chan Chak-ming
Mr Stephen Lai Yuk-fai
Dr Eddy Li Sau-hung
Mr Stephen Liang
Ms Kim M Rooney
Representatives of the Chief Secretary for Administration's Office, the Architectural Services Department and the DoJ

Ends/Sunday, December 1, 2019