Appointments to Law Reform Commission

  The following is issued on behalf of the Law Reform Commission:

  The Law Reform Commission (LRC) today (April 29) announced that Mr Chan Chak-ming and Mrs Margaret Leung Ko May-yee have been appointed by the Chief Executive as new members of the LRC for three years with effect from May 1, 2021.

  Mr Chan has been the Vice-President of the Law Society of Hong Kong since 2018. He is also a current member of the LRC Sub-committee on Outcome Related Fee Structures for Arbitration. The LRC believes that his professional standing and experience in the legal field will further strengthen the LRC's role in proposing law reforms.

  Mrs Leung is the former Global Co-Head, Commercial Banking, HSBC Group, and the former Vice-Chairman and Chief Executive of Hang Seng Bank Limited. Her strong business acumen and abundant public service experience will surely provide valuable insights into the LRC's work.

  The Secretary for Justice, Ms Teresa Cheng, SC, who is also the Chairman of the LRC, expressed her heartfelt thanks to the outgoing members, namely Ms Alexandra Lo and Ms Melissa Wu, for their valuable contributions and advice to the LRC over the past few years.

  With these latest appointments, the LRC will comprise the following members:

The Secretary for Justice (Chairman)
The Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal (ex-officio member)
The Law Draftsman (ex-officio member)
Ms Winnie Tam, SC
Ms May Chan Suk-mei
Professor Tan Cheng-han
Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff
Professor Fu Hualing
Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun
Mrs Janice Choi Kwan Wing-kum
Mr Chan Chak-ming
Mrs Margaret Leung Ko May-yee

Ends/Thursday, April 29, 2021