Appointments to Law Reform Commission

The following is issued on behalf of the Law Reform Commission:

  The Law Reform Commission (LRC) today (February 28) announced that Professor Alexander Loke has been appointed by the Chief Executive as a new member of the LRC for three years with effect from March 1, 2023.

  Professor Loke, who currently teaches at the School of Law of City University of Hong Kong, will succeed Professor Tan Cheng-han, who has completed his three-year term as an LRC member. Specialising in the laws of contract, company and securities, Professor Loke was also the founding chief editor of the Asian Journal of Comparative Law. The LRC believes that his appointment will further strengthen the academic credentials of the Commission.

  In addition, Ms May Chan Suk-mei and Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff have been reappointed by the Chief Executive as members of the LRC for a second three-year term with effect from March 1, 2023.

  Ms Chan is a seasoned journalist who is now the Chairperson of the Executive Committee of the Journalism Education Foundation. Professor Wolff is the Dean of the Faculty of Law of the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Focusing on international and Chinese business law, he has practised and carried out research in multiple jurisdictions.

  Ms Chan and Professor Wolff were first appointed to the LRC on March 1, 2020. The LRC believes that Ms Chan's vast media experience and Professor Wolff's legal expertise will continue to stand the LRC in good stead in the area of law reform.

  The Secretary for Justice, Mr Paul Lam, SC, who is also the Chairman of the LRC, expressed his appreciation to Professor Tan, Ms Chan and Professor Wolff for their valuable contributions to the LRC's work over the past three years.

  With these latest appointments, the LRC comprises the following members:

Secretary for Justice (Chairman)
Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal (ex officio member)
Law Draftsman (ex officio member)
Mr Justice Johnson Lam Man-hon
Ms Winnie Tam Wan-chi, SC
Ms May Chan Suk-mei
Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff
Professor Fu Hualing
Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun
Mrs Janice Choi Kwan Wing-kum
Mr Chan Chak-ming
Mrs Margaret Leung Ko May-yee
Professor Alexander Loke

Ends/Tuesday, February 28, 2023