The Law Reform Commission today (December 31) announced the appointment of a new member to the Commission. Mr Godfrey Lam, SC, has been appointed for a term of three years with effect from tomorrow (January 1). He is currently a member of the Commission's Charities Sub-committee and replaces Mr Benjamin Yu, SC, who retires after completing two three-year terms as a commission member.

With this latest appointment, the Law Reform Commission now consists of the following members: Mr John Budge; Mr Justice Chan, PJ; Mrs Pamela Chan; Mr Godfrey Lam, SC; Professor Felice Lieh-Mak; Mr Peter Rhodes; Mr Paul Shieh, SC; Professor Michael Wilkinson and Ms Anna Wu. The Secretary for Justice chairs the Commission and the Chief Justice and the Law Draftsman are ex officio members.

Ends/Thursday, December 31, 2009