New appointments to Law Reform Commission

The following is issued on behalf of the Law Reform Commission:

The Law Reform Commission (LRC) today (December 31) announced that Mr Robert Y H Pang, SC, Professor Michael Hor and Professor Christopher Gane have been appointed by the Chief Executive as new members of the Commission for three years with effect from January 1, 2015.

Mr Pang, who is also a member of the LRC's Third Party Funding for Arbitration Sub-committee, will replace former member Mr Anderson Chow, SC, who was appointed as a Judge of the Court of First Instance of the High Court with effect from August 1, 2014.

Professor Hor is Dean of the Faculty of Law of the University of Hong Kong, while Professor Gane is Dean of the Faculty of Law of the Chinese University of Hong Kong. They will replace Professor Michael Wilkinson and Professor Peter Rhodes following their completion of two three-year terms as LRC members.

The Secretary for Justice, Mr Rimsky Yuen, SC, who is also Chairman of the LRC, thanked Mr Chow, Professor Wilkinson and Professor Rhodes for their valuable contributions and advice to the LRC over the years.

In addition, Ms Angela Lee has been reappointed by the Chief Executive as a member of the Commission for a second three-year term with effect from January 1, 2015.

With these latest appointments, the Commission now comprises the following members:

Mr Rimsky Yuen, SC, Secretary for Justice (Chairman)
Mr Justice Robert Tang Ching
Mrs Eleanor Ling

Ms Angela Lee

Mr Eugene Fung, SC

Professor Lin Feng

Ms Christine Fang

Mr Robert Y H Pang, SC

Professor Michael Hor

Professor Christopher Gane

The Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal (ex-officio

member)

The Law Draftsman (ex-officio member)

Ends/Wednesday, December 31, 2014