The following is issued on behalf of the Law Reform Commission:

The Law Reform Commission (LRC) today (February 27) announced that Mr Allan Leung has been appointed by the Chief Executive as a new member of the Commission for three years with effect from March 1, 2015.

Mr Leung, who is a partner in the solicitors' firm of Hogan Lovells, will replace former member Mr John Budge following his completion of two three-year terms as an LRC member.

The Secretary for Justice, Mr Rimsky Yuen, SC, who is also Chairman of the LRC, thanked Mr Budge for his valuable contribution and advice to the LRC over the years.

With this latest appointment, the Commission now comprises the following members:

Mr Rimsky Yuen, SC, Secretary for Justice (Chairman) Mr Justice Robert Tang Ching Mrs Eleanor Ling Ms Angela Lee Mr Eugene Fung, SC Professor Lin Feng Ms Christine Fang Mr Robert Y H Pang, SC Professor Michael Hor Professor Christopher Gane Mr Allan Leung The Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal (ex-officio member) The Law Draftsman (ex-officio member)

Ends/Friday, February 27, 2015