Appointments to Committee on Provision of Space in the Legal Hub

The Department of Justice (DoJ) announced today (December 1) appointments and re-appointments to the Committee on Provision of Space in the Legal Hub for a term of three years with effect from December 1, 2016.

Pursuant to the policy objective of enhancing Hong Kong's status as an international legal and dispute resolution centre in the Asia Pacific region, the Government will provide certain space in the West Wing of the former Central Government Offices (CGO) and the former French Mission Building (FMB) to law-related organisations. Together with the DoJ's offices in the Main Wing, East Wing and part of West Wing of the former CGO, the area is intended to form a legal hub at the heart of Hong Kong.

The Committee, chaired by the Secretary for Justice, was set up in December 2014 to consider the arrangements in relation to the provision of space in the legal hub and to accordingly advise the Secretary for Justice on matters including –

- (a) selection of law-related organisations to be housed in the West Wing of the former CGO and the former FMB, based on assessment of the relative merits of prospective organisations;
- (b) allocation of office space to the selected organisations based on the relevant factors for consideration;
- (c) determination of rental charges for the selected organisations;
- (d) determination of the appropriate terms and conditions of tenancy to be offered to selected organisations; and
- (e) review of the procedural mechanism from time to

time.

The Committee comprises non-official members from the legal, business and other relevant sectors, as well as representatives from relevant Government departments. The membership of the Committee is as follows (with effect from December 1, 2016):

Mr Rimsky Yuen, SC, Secretary for Justice (Chairman)
Mr Chan Chak-ming
Sr Stephen Lai Yuk-fai
Dr Eddy Li Sau-hung, BBS, JP
Mr Stephen Liang
Ms Kim M Rooney
Representatives of the Home Affairs Bureau, Architectural
Services Department and Department of Justice