Appointment to Law Reform Commission

The following is issued on behalf of the Law Reform Commission:

The Law Reform Commission (LRC) today (March 22) announced that Ms Melissa Wu has been appointed by the Chief Executive as a new member of the LRC.

Ms Wu, who has substantial experience in providing audit services to multinational companies and listed clients in Hong Kong and the Mainland, replaces Ms Angela Lee following Ms Lee's completion of two three-year terms as an LRC member. The Commission believes that the expertise and extensive experience of Ms Wu in providing audit services, as well as her diverse experience of public service, would benefit the LRC in law reform. The appointment is for three years with effect from March 15, 2018.

The Commission also thanks Ms Lee for her valuable contribution and advice to the LRC over the years.

With this latest appointment, the LRC now comprises the following members:

Secretary for Justice (Chairman) Mr Justice Robert Tang Kwok-ching Mr Eugene Fung, SC Professor Lin Feng Ms Christine Fang Mr Robert Y H Pang, SC Professor Michael Hor Professor Christopher Gane Mr Allan Leung Ms Alexandra Lo Ms Melissa Wu The Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal (ex-officio member) The Law Draftsman (ex-officio member)

Ends/Thursday, March 22, 2018