Government appoints members to Advisory Committee on Promotion of Arbitration

The Department of Justice (DoJ) today (March 27) announced that members have been appointed to a new term of three years of the Advisory Committee on Promotion of Arbitration.

The Committee, chaired by the Secretary for Justice, includes representatives from the DoJ and members of the legal, arbitration and relevant sectors in Hong Kong.

The Committee advises and assists the DoJ in respect of the promotion of arbitration in Hong Kong, including but not limited to:

- (a) considering, advising on and co-ordinating ongoing and new initiatives and overall strategies for the promotion of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR)'s arbitration services in and outside Hong Kong;
- (b) serving as a forum for discussing such issues as may be raised by the legal and dispute resolution sectors concerning the promotion of the HKSAR as a leading centre for arbitration services in the Asia-Pacific region; and
- (c) such matters as may be incidental to the matters stated in (a) and (b) above (including, but not limited to, the conduct of research or studies relating to arbitration).

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Ms Teresa Cheng, SC, Secretary for Justice (Chairperson)

Mr Nicholas Chan

Mr Justin D'Agostino

Ms Jenny Koo

Mr Adrian Lai

Mr Andrew Liao, SC

Mr Danny Mok

Ms Sylvia Siu

Mr Ronald Sum

Ms Mary Thomson

Dr Wang Wenying

Dr William Wong, SC

Ms Shirley Yuen

Mr Steven Yip

Representatives of the DoJ

Ends/Tuesday, March 27, 2018