Appointments to Law Reform Commission

The following is issued on behalf of the Law Reform Commission:

The Law Reform Commission (LRC) today (December 31) announced that Professor Fu Hualing, Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun and Mrs Janice Choi Kwan Wingkum have been appointed by the Chief Executive as new members of the LRC for three years. The appointments of Professor Fu and Mr Hung will take effect on January 1, 2021, while Mrs Choi's appointment will commence on March 1, 2021.

Professor Fu is the Dean of Faculty of Law of the University of Hong Kong and his research interests include human rights and public law. The LRC believes that the expertise of the legal scholar will benefit the LRC in law reform.

Mr Hung was the President of the Law Society of Hong Kong from 2014 to 2016. Specialising in criminal law, he is a current member of the LRC Sub-committee on Causing or Allowing the Death of a Child or Vulnerable Adult. His professional standing and substantial expertise in criminal law will certainly be conducive to the LRC's future studies in this regard.

Mrs Choi is the Advisor and Legal Director of Sunwah Group and a current Standing Committee Member of the Chinese General Chamber of Commerce, Hong Kong. The LRC believes that Mrs Choi's legal background and extensive experience in the commercial sector will sustain the LRC's broad expertise in delivering effective law reform.

The Secretary for Justice, Ms Teresa Cheng, SC, who is also the Chairman of the LRC, expressed her heartfelt thanks to the outgoing members, namely Professor Michael Hor, Mr Robert Pang, SC, and Mr Allan Leung, for their valuable contributions and advice to the LRC during their two consecutive terms.

With these latest appointments, the LRC will comprise the following members:

The Secretary for Justice (Chairman)
The Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal (ex-officio member)
The Law Draftsman (ex-officio member)
Mr Justice Andrew Cheung Kui-nung

Ms Alexandra Lo

Ms Melissa Wu

Ms Winnie Tam, SC

Ms May Chan Suk-mei

Professor Tan Cheng-han

Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff

Professor Fu Hualing

Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun

Mrs Janice Choi Kwan Wing-kum

Ends/Thursday, December 31, 2020