Prosecutions Division


The Prosecutions Division is the largest in the department, with around 120 lawyers. The role of the division is to prosecute trials and appeals on behalf of the HKSAR, to provide legal advice to law enforcement agencies upon their investigations, and generally to exercise on behalf of the Secretary for Justice the discretion whether or not to bring criminal proceedings in the HKSAR. In addition, counsel in the division provide advice and assistance to Government bureaus and departments in relation to any criminal law aspects of proposed legislation.


The prosecution of offences


The Director of Public Prosecutions, Grenville Cross, SC, delivers a speech at the Conference Dinner of the 12th Annual Conference and General Meeting of the International Association of Prosecutors (September 2007).
A criminal case may be prosecuted in the Magistrates Court (for relatively minor offences) or in the District Court or the Court of First Instance where the offence is more serious. The decision whether or not to prosecute, and on what charges, is taken by the Secretary for Justice or by counsel acting on behalf of the Secretary in the Prosecutions Division. The Secretary is ultimately responsible for all prosecution decisions. In the decision-making process, the prosecution policy guidelines, which were first published in 1993 and updated in 1998 and 2002, are applied.

The majority of prosecutions in the magistrates courts are conducted by public prosecutors, called Court Prosecutors. They are appointed by the Secretary for Justice under section 13 of the Magistrates Ordinance (Cap 227) and have rights of audience in the magistrates courts. Every Court Prosecutor attends an initial nine-month training course run by counsel in the Department of Justice before starting work. Throughout their careers thereafter as Court Prosecutors, they will participate in a programme of continuing legal education.

Counsel in the Prosecutions Division will sometimes prosecute in the magistrates courts, particularly in cases of significance or where complex points of law are expected to arise. Counsel in the division handle almost all appeals, the majority of prosecutions in the Court of First Instance, and a considerable number of cases in the District Court. Counsel from the private bar and solicitors in private practice are regularly employed to prosecute on behalf of the division (referred to as a counsel or solicitor "on fiat").

Before a case goes to trial, there is considerable work to be done by counsel in the division in marshalling and evaluating the evidence and carrying out any necessary legal research. While some counsel in the division specialise in presenting cases at trial, or on appeal, other counsel appear in court less often and instead specialise in the vital work of preparing cases for trial in either the District Court or the Court of First Instance.




Commercial Crime

Formed in 1984, the Commercial Crime Unit advises the Commercial Crime Bureau of the Hong Kong Police on combating syndicated and complex fraud. The unit also assists the Independent Commission Against Corruption in its investigations into private and public sector corruption, and conducts its prosecutions. Cases conducted by the unit typically concern frauds which involve losses of at least $5 million, or which require expert advice in light of their sophistication. The unit contributes much to the reputation which Hong Kong enjoys as a safe business environment which is intolerant of corruption.


Computer crime

The internet is widely used in Hong Kong and criminal activities involving the use of a computer have risen in recent years. Computer and internet crimes embrace a variety of offences. These include fraud, "phishing", pornography, criminal damage, access to a computer with dishonest intent and copyright infringement. Technology crimes frequently disregard national boundaries.

While law enforcement agencies are responsible for the investigation of such crimes, prosecutors in the Department of Justice provide the legal back-up required for the enforcement of the law in this area.


The Director of Public Prosecutions, Grenville Cross, SC, speaks at the 3rd China-ASEAN Prosecutors-General Conference in Indonesia (July 2006).
To make a reality of the commitment to take firm action on this front, a Prosecutions Division counsel was designated as Prosecution Policy Co-ordinator on Computer Crime in 1999 to head a team of specially trained specialist counsel. The team is responsible for the provision of expert legal advice on technology crime and for the conduct of related prosecutions. It also co-ordinates legal action in the HKSAR and promotes co-operation at the international level.







Copyright crime

A Prosecutions Division counsel was designated as Prosecution Policy Co-ordinator on Intellectual Property in 1998. His team of specialist counsel advises the Customs and Excise Department on cases of copyright infringement and false trade descriptions, and conducts the prosecutions which result. The division has enhanced the capacity of its existing specialist team to prosecute intellectual property cases through redeployment and training, and through liaison with prosecutors from other jurisdictions.


Obscene Articles and Child Pornography

The Prevention of Child Pornography Ordinance (Cap 579) was enacted in December 2003, and gave effect to the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child. A Prosecution Policy Co-ordinator was subsequently appointed to handle cases arising from this Ordinance and the Control of Obscene and Indecent Articles Ordinance, as well as to advise the Television and Entertainment Licensing Authority on the status of objectionable material and to conduct proceedings before the Obscene Articles Tribunal. Since 2004, priority has been given to the effective application of Hong Kong's new anti-child pornography legislation, and the promotion of public understanding of its ambit.


A bilingual prosecution system


The Director of Public Prosecutions, Grenville Cross, SC (left), meets Ronald J Tenpas (middle), Associate Deputy Attorney General and Robert E Coughlin (right), Deputy Chief of Staff, Criminal Division of the United States Department of Justice (May 2006).
Until 1997, all proceedings in the High Court (now the Court of First Instance) were conducted in English. Following necessary amendments to the Jury Ordinance (Cap 3), on 29 July 1997 the Court of First Instance heard the first criminal case conducted in Chinese. Since then, an increasing number of trials have been conducted in Chinese where it is agreed that this is the most convenient language for all concerned. In the magistrates court, the majority of cases are now dealt with in Chinese, while a significant number of criminal appeals have also been heard in Chinese in the Court of First Instance and the Court of Appeal.

With the aim of achieving a fully bilingual prosecution system, the division's Bilingual Court Documents Unit arranges for the translation of court documents into Chinese. This ensures that all criminal cases can be heard in either English or Chinese. Bilingual charge sheets, advising the defendant of the precise charges against him, have been provided for all criminal cases heard in the District Court since 1 August 1995. Bilingual indictments have been provided in respect of all criminal cases brought before the Court of First Instance since 2 November 1995. Bilingual summaries of facts (which describe how the particular offences were committed) are now available for all trials which are listed to be heard in Chinese in the District Court. Whenever cases are heard in Chinese in the District Court or the Court of First Instance, the unit provides Chinese versions of all court documents, including immunities, admitted facts and notices to the defence. For appeals in Chinese to the higher courts, court documents in Chinese are filed. The unit also translates important judgments.




Appeals

The division's Appeals Sub-division has responsibility for all appeals and reviews of sentence. Counsel conduct, prepare and advise on appeals from all trial courts to the Court of Appeal and the Court of Final Appeal. Applications to the Court of Appeal to review sentences are usually only made by the Secretary for Justice once it is apparent that the sentence is wrong in principle or manifestly inadequate, or contrary to law. The review procedure also gives the Court of Appeal the opportunity to establish or amend sentencing tariffs or guidelines for certain offences, thus promoting uniformity and continuity in sentencing and assisting the lower courts.


Significant initiatives and reforms in 2006 and 2007

Criminal justice initiatives

Throughout 2006 and 2007, the division sought to enhance the quality of criminal justice available to the community, and prosecutorial techniques were kept under review. Specific criminal justice initiatives pursued by the division included:

the compilation of a criminal appeals manual

the finalisation of procedures for the disclosure of unused material by law enforcement personnel

the drafting of a manual of specimen charges to promote consistency in offence formulation

the implementation of measures to fast-track cases involving vulnerable witnesses.

The division supported the work of the Law Reform Commission by joining a number of its sub-committees dealing with criminal law issues. These included:

the review of common law and statute law governing sexual and related offences

the consideration of the rule against double jeopardy

the examination of the criminal liability of parents or carers for causing or allowing the death of a child or vulnerable adult

the use of hearsay evidence in criminal proceedings.




Alex Lee Wan-tang, Senior Assistant Director of Public Prosecutions, Prosecutions Division
Alex Lee graduated from the University of Hong Kong in 1991 and joined the department as a trainee solicitor. He qualified as a solicitor in 1993 and was appointed as a Crown Counsel in the Prosecutions Division, initially in the High Court Trial Preparation Unit handling general criminal cases. As Alex's career progressed, his work became more specialised, and he joined the Commercial Crime Unit in 1996. Alex continued to hone his court room skills by attending the Middle Temple Advocacy course in London in 1998, and in 2000 he switched from the solicitors' branch of the profession when he was admitted as a barrister.

Over the years, Alex developed a keen interest in combating corruption and, since his promotion to Deputy Principal Government Counsel in 2005, he has headed the specialist team of seven prosecutors which advises the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) on its investigations into private sector corruption.

Alex has prosecuted ICAC cases in courts at all levels, and in 2006 he made a report to the inaugural conference of the International Association of Anti-Corruption Authorities (IAACA), in Beijing. Alex says, "ICAC cases are challenging, and I personally find it most fulfilling to be able to apply the expertise I have developed in the department to combat corruption in our society."


Isaac Tam Sze-lok, Senior Government Counsel, Prosecutions Division
After Isaac Tam graduated from the University of Hong Kong in 1991, he worked as a trainee solicitor in a private law firm before joining the department as a prosecutor in 1994. He is now a Senior Government Counsel, and Deputy Section Head of one of the three Court Specialists Sections. Isaac's work involves the conduct of jury trials in the Court of First Instance, and also other sensitive and high-profile cases.

As a member of the Director's Advisory Group (DAG), Isaac participates in advising on policy and other issues affecting the division. He is also an editor of the prosecutors' regular newsletter, the Prosecutions Division Quarterly. Isaac is an enthusiastic participant in the weekly social dance, tai chi and qigong classes organised by the department's staff club.

Away from the office, Isaac is a part-time teacher of law students at his alma mater. He also provides voluntary tuition to disadvantaged children, and supports the teaching mission of the Agency for Volunteer Service, which promotes primary education in the remote mountainous regions of mainland China. "I think that education is a good way of preventing crime," says Isaac. "I see private teaching as an important complement to my work as a public prosecutor."


Lily You Siao-ping, Senior Court Prosecutor I, Prosecutions Division
Lily You graduated from the Baptist College with a Diploma of Arts in 1984, and obtained her Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Wolverhampton in 1996. She joined the department in 1984 as a Court Prosecutor. She was promoted to Senior Court Prosecutor II in 1991, and further promoted to Senior Court Prosecutor I in 1997.

Lily's current posting is at Kwun Tong Magistrates Court, where she supervises a team of Court Prosecutors and clerical staff. Lily has prosecuted all types of cases during her career, and is now involved in administration. She regularly gives lectures to the police on the preparation of cases and the giving of evidence. In 2007 Lily participated in the 12th Annual Conference and General Meeting of the International Association of Prosecutors.

"I take great pride in working as a prosecutor," says Lily. "My career has enabled me to contribute to the continued successful operation of the criminal justice system in Hong Kong."


Leung Chi-wai, Senior Law Clerk I, Prosecutions Division
Leung Chi-wai began his career in the government in 1974 as a Clerical Assistant with the Judiciary, subsequently joining the then Legal Department as a law clerk in 1984. He has enjoyed a varied career as a para-legal in the Prosecutions Division, and in 2000 was promoted to Senior Law Clerk I. Until 2005, Chi-wai headed the Prosecutions Registry, which provides support to prosecutors in trials, appeals and case preparation. Since 2005, he has headed the Briefing Out and Court Duties Section, which oversees the briefing out of cases to private lawyers, and handles costs and fixed penalty cases.

Chi-wai obtained a Diploma in Chinese Law from the University of East Asia in 1989, and then graduated in law from the University of Wolverhampton in 1996. He was admitted as a barrister in 1998, and obtained an LLM degree from the University of London in 2002.

"My experience in the department and my studies have expanded my horizons and given me a keen insight into the importance of my work in contributing to the successful operation of the system of public prosecutions," says Chi-wai. "I am proud of having served in this department for 23 years."

刑事检控科


刑事检控科是律政司内编制最大的科别,有大约120名律师。刑事检控科负责在审讯中代表香港特区进行检控和处理上诉,向执法机关提供有关调查工作的法律指引,并且通常代表律政司司长行使酌情权,决定是否在香港特区展开刑事法律程序。此外,科内律师也向政府各决策局和部门,就立法建议中涉及刑事法律的范畴提供意见和协助。


检控罪行


刑事检控专员江乐士资深大律师在第十二届国际检察官联合会年会暨会员大会的晚宴上致辞(2007年9月)。
刑事案件可在裁判法院(较轻微的案件)、区域法院或原讼法庭(较严重的案件)审理。是否提出检控和以什么罪名提控的决定,由律政司司长或由刑事检控科的律师代表律政司司长作出,而司长则为所有检控决定负上最终责任。作出决定时,律师会依据于1993年首次发表并于1998年及2002年更新的刑事检控政策指引行事。

裁判法院的检控工作大部分都是由称为法庭检控主任的公职检控人员负责。法庭检控主任由律政司司长根据《裁判官条例》(第227章)第13条委任,有权在裁判法院出庭发言。每名法庭检控主任都会参加为期9个月、由司内律师讲授的入职培训课程,然后才正式展开工作。其后,法庭检控主任会于在职期间参加持续法律进修课程。

刑事检控科的律师有时会在裁判法院进行检控,尤其是重要案件或涉及复杂法律观点的案件。刑事检控科的律师处理几乎所有上诉案件、大部分原讼法庭的检控工作,以及相当数目的区域法院案件。私人执业大律师和律师经常受聘代表该科执行检控工作(称为外判大律师或外判律师)。

案件审讯前,刑事检控科的律师需要处理大量工作,包括整理和评估证据,并进行所需的法律研究。科内部分律师专责在审讯中或上诉时出庭讼辩,部分律师则较少出庭而专注于另一重要工作,就是准备由区域法院或原讼法庭审讯的案件。




商业罪案

商业罪案组在1984年成立,负责就打击集团式和复杂的诈骗案向香港警务处商业罪案调查科提供法律指引。该组亦协助廉政公署调查公营和私营机构的贪污案件,并进行有关的检控工作。该组处理的案件,主要是损失达500万元以上的诈骗案,或因犯罪手法精密而须寻求专家意见的诈骗案。香港的营商环境以安全、廉洁见称,商业罪案组实在功不可没。


电脑罪行


刑事检控专员江乐士资深大律师在印尼举行的第三届中国与东盟成员国总检察长会议上发言(2006年7月)。
在香港,互联网广为使用,涉及使用电脑的犯罪活动近年有所增加。电脑及互联网的罪行五花八门,包括诈骗、以仿冒网站套取资料、色情网页、刑事毁坏、怀有不诚实意图而取用电脑及侵犯版权等。科技罪行通常不受国界限制。

执法机关负责调查这类罪行,而律政司的检控人员则为这方面的执法工作提供所需的法律指引。

为实践坚决对付电脑罪行的承诺,刑事检控科于1999年委派一名科内律师为电脑罪行检控政策协调员,率领一组曾接受过专门训练的专责律师,负责就科技罪行方面的事宜提供专门法律指引,以及进行有关的检控工作。这小组也协调香港特区内有关电脑罪行的法律行动,并推动国际间的合作。




版权罪行

刑事检控科于1998年委派一名科内律师为知识产权检控政策协调员,率领一个专责律师小组,就侵犯版权和虚假商品说明的案件向香港海关提供法律指引,并进行相关的检控行动。刑事检控科已透过重新调配人手、培训和联系其他司法管辖区的检控人员等措施,加强现有专责小组检控知识产权案件的能力。


淫亵及儿童色情物品

《防止儿童色情物品条例》(第579章)于2003年12月制定,履行《联合国儿童权利公约》的规定。刑事检控科随后委任一名检控政策协调员,处理涉及《防止儿童色情物品条例》及《淫亵及不雅物品管制条例》的案件,就物品是否属于不良类别向影视及娱乐事务管理处提供法律指引,并到淫亵物品审裁处进行诉讼。自2004年以来,检控政策协调员致力于有效地施行香港新订立的防止儿童色情物品法例,并加强公众对该法例涵盖范围的认识。


双语检控制度


刑事检控专员江乐士资深大律师(左)与美国司法部刑事局助理副检察长Ronald J Tenpas (中)和副人事主管Robert E Coughlin (右)会面(2006年5月)。
1997年之前,所有高等法院(现称原讼法庭)的法律程序都以英文进行。当局对《陪审团条例》(第3章)作出所需修订后,原讼法庭在1997年7月29日首次以中文聆讯刑事案件。自此,经案中各方同意中文为最方便的语言而以中文审讯的案件,数目日益增加。目前,裁判法院大部分刑事案件都以中文聆讯,由原讼法庭和上诉法庭审理的刑事上诉案件中,也有相当数目以中文聆讯。

为了建立全面的双语检控制度,刑事检控科辖下的双语法庭文件小组把法庭文件翻译成中文,确保所有刑事案件都可以用英文或中文进行聆讯。自1995年8月1日起,所有在区域法院审讯的刑事案件,都备有双语控罪书,告诉被告人被控的确实罪名。自1995年11月2日起,所有提交原讼法庭审理的刑事案件也备有双语公诉书。凡在区域法院排期以中文审讯的案件,一律备有说明犯案经过的双语案情撮要。如果区域法院或原讼法庭以中文聆讯案件,该组也会提供所有法庭文件的中文文本,包括免予起诉书、承认事实陈述书和致辩方的通知书。至于在较高级法院用中文聆讯的上诉案件,则会有中文的法庭文件送交存档。此外,该组也会翻译重要的判词。




上诉

刑事检控科上诉分科负责处理所有上诉和复核刑罚的案件。分科内的律师,负责办理和准备就各级审讯法院的裁决而向上诉法庭或终审法院提出的上诉案件,并且就这些案件提供法律指引。律政司司长通常只有在认为某项刑罚显然原则上错误或明显过轻或抵触法律的情况下,才会向上诉法庭申请复核刑罚。复核程序让上诉法庭有机会为某些罪行订定或修订量刑准则或指引,促使判刑统一连贯,对较低级法院有所帮助。


2006及2007年的重要新猷与变革

刑事司法措施

在2006及2007年,刑事检控科致力提高为社会大众提供的刑事司法服务质素,并经常检讨检控技巧。该科所推行的具体刑事司法措施包括:

编制《刑事上诉手册》

审定有关执法人员须披露未经采用案件材料的程序

草拟罪行详情范本手册,以加强检控人员拟定控罪的一致性

推行措施,尽速处理涉及易受伤害证人的案件。

该科支持法律改革委员会的工作,加入该委员会辖下专责处理刑事法律事宜的小组委员会,包括:

检讨适用于性罪行及相关罪行的普通法及成文法

研究防止一罪两审的规则

研究父母或照顾者引致或容许儿童或易受伤害成年人死亡所须负上的刑事责任

在刑事法律程序中使用传闻证据。




李运腾 刑事检控科高级助理刑事检控专员
李先生1991年毕业于香港大学,随即加入当时的律政署担任见习律师。李先生1993年取得律师资格后,获聘为检察官,在刑事检控科工作,最初在高等法院案件筹备组处理一般刑事案件。随着李先生的事业发展,他从事较为专门化的工作,他在1996年加入商业罪案组工作。为了继续磨练讼辩技巧,李先生在1998年参与伦敦中殿大律师学院讼辩课程。他在2000年取得大律师资格,其专业也由律师转为大律师。

多年来,李先生致力于打击贪污的工作,自2005年擢升为副首席政府律师以来,他率领一个由七名检控人员组成的专责小组,就廉政公署调查私营机构的贪污案件,向该署提供法律指引。

李先生曾在各级法院处理廉政公署案件的检控工作,并于2006年在北京举行的国际反贪局联合会首次会议上作出汇报。李先生表示:「廉政公署案件极富挑战性,能把我在律政司累积到的专业知识,用于打击社会的贪污,令我很有满足感。


谭思乐 刑事检控科高级政府律师
谭先生于1991年在香港大学毕业后,在一家私人律师行实习。他在1994年加入当时的律政署,担任检控人员,现为高级政府律师。律政司的刑事检控科设有三个重案检控组,谭先生是其中一组的副主管,工作包括在原讼法庭有陪审团的审讯中进行检控,以及检控其他敏感和备受关注的案件。

谭先生是刑事检控专员谘询小组的成员,就政策及影响该科的其他事宜提供意见。他也担任检控人员的定期通讯《刑事检控科季刊》的编辑,并经常参与由律政司职员联谊会每周举办的社交舞、太极和气功班的活动。

谭先生工余返回母校教导法律学生,并且义务为贫困儿童补习。他大力支持义务工作发展局的教育任务,到中国内地偏远山区推广小学教育。谭先生说:「我认为教育是防止罪案的良方妙药。我觉得在工余执教鞭,与我身为刑事检控人员的工作,相辅相成。


邱小平 刑事检控科高级一等法庭检控主任
邱女士于1984年在香港浸会学院毕业,取得文学文凭,并在1996年取得霍尔普敦法学士学位。她在1984年加入当时的律政署,担任法庭检控主任。她在1991年晋升为高级二等法庭检控主任,在1997年再晋升为高级一等法庭检控主任。

邱女士现时在观塘裁判法院工作,负责督导一支法庭检控主任和文书人员队伍。邱女士出任法庭检控主任以来,曾检控各类案件,现时则参与行政工作。她定期向警务人员讲授如何筹备案件和提出证据,并在2007年参加第十二届国际检察官联合会年会暨会员大会。

邱女士说:「我以身为检控人员为荣。我从事这个职业,能够为香港刑事司法制度的持续有效运作出一分力。


梁志伟 刑事检控科高级一等律政书记
梁先生于1974年加入政府,最初在司法机构担任助理文员,后来于1984年加入当时的律政署,担任律政书记。他在刑事检控科担任法律辅助人员期间,曾担任不同的工作。他于2000年晋升为高级一等律政书记。直至2005年,梁志伟是刑事检控总务室的主管,负责为检控人员在审讯、上诉及案件筹备方面提供支援。自2005年以来,他担任案件外判及法庭职务组的主管,负责统筹把案件外判予私人执业律师的工作,以及处理有关讼费及定额罚款的个案。

梁先生于1989年取得东亚大学中国法律文凭,其后于1996年获霍尔普敦大学颁授法律学位。他于1998年获认许为大律师,并于2002年取得伦敦大学法学硕士学位。

梁先生说:「我在这个部门的工作经验,以及持续进修所学到的知识,扩阔了我的视野,令我更加明白我的工作对刑事检控制度的有效运作,如何重要。能够在这个部门服务23年,我感到十分自豪。