Introduction

  1. Welcome to the Department of Justice’s webpage for HCCH Judgments and Jurisdiction Projects.
  2. HCCH is an intergovernmental organization, the purpose of which is “to work for the progressive unification of the rules of private international law”. The Hong Kong SAR currently applies eight conventions on private international law which were negotiated under the Hague Conference. HCCH established its Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific in the Hong Kong SAR on 13 December 2012.
  3. The Judgments Project refers to HCCH’s work since 1992 on two key aspects on private international law in cross-border litigation in civil and commercial matters: the international jurisdiction of courts and the recognition and enforcement of their judgments abroad. Since 1998, counsel of the Department of Justice, as part of the Chinese delegation, have been actively participating in the Judgments Project.
  4. The Judgments Project has so far led to the conclusion of the Convention of 30 June 2005 on Choice of Court Agreements (Choice of Court Convention) and the Convention of 2 July 2019 on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Judgments in Civil or Commercial Matters (Judgments Convention). With the successful conclusion of the 2019 Judgments Convention, the focus of the normative work of the HCCH in the area of civil and commercial law has now turned again to the question of jurisdiction under HCCH’s Jurisdiction Project: eg on which grounds can a State exercise jurisdiction in civil and commercial matters.
  5. The Choice of Court Convention aims at ensuring the effectiveness of choice of court agreements between parties to international commercial transactions, thereby promoting greater legal certainty for cross-border business and facilitating international trade and investment. The Convention is currently in force with 32 contracting parties, including the European Union and its 27 member states, United Kingdom, Mexico, Montenegro and Singapore. China signed the Choice of Court Convention on 12 September 2017, pending ratification before it enters into force in China.
  6. As regards the Judgments Convention, it seeks to extend the benefits of access to justice, and reduced costs and risks of cross-border dealings, to a broader range of cases than those covered by the Choice of Court of Convention. It is designed to provide an efficient system for recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments in civil and commercial matters, thereby increasing legal certainty and predictability that is important in international legal matters especially in international trade and investment. The Judgments Convention is not yet in force.
  7. Before the conclusion of the Judgments Convention in July 2019, two Informal Working Groups meetings of the Judgments Project took place in Hong Kong in February 2019 to discuss some of the outstanding issues. To promote and celebrate the successful conclusion of the Judgments Convention, the Department of Justice and HCCH, with the support of the Asian Academy of International Law, organized the inaugural global conference titled “2019 HCCH Judgments Convention: Global Enforcement of Civil and Commercial Judgments” in Hong Kong on 9 September 2019.
  8. The Hong Kong SAR Government is studying the applicability of the Choice of Court Convention and the Judgments Convention to the Hong Kong SAR. We shall also continue to participate as part of the Chinese delegation in the Jurisdiction Project.
  9. We hope that you will find the information and resources related to the HCCH Judgments and Jurisdiction Projects on this webpage useful.

The 2005 HCCH Choice of Court Agreements Convention

The 2019 HCCH Judgments Convention

Treaties & Law Unit
International Law Division
August 2020

简介

  1. 欢迎浏览律政司的海牙国际私法会议(海牙会议)判决及管辖权项目网页。
  2. 海牙会议是政府间组织,按其宗旨“致力於国际私法规则的逐步统一”。目前,共有九项海牙会议公约适用於香港特区。海牙会议於2012年12月13日在香港特区设立亚太区域办事处。
  3. 判决项目指海牙会议自1992年以来在民商事跨境诉讼所涉及的两项主要国际私法范畴的工作,即法院的国际管辖权,以及外地判决的承认与执行。自1998年起,律政司律师以中国代表团成员身分积极参与判决项目。
  4. 迄今,判决项目已促成《选择法院协议公约》(《选择法院公约》)於2005年6月30日缔结,以及《承认与执行外国民商事判决公约》(《判决公约》)於2019年7月2日缔结。海牙会议在2019年顺利缔结《判决公约》後,其制订民商事法规范的工作重点现已转向,并再次集中於海牙会议管辖权项目下的管辖权问题,即如一国可基於何等因由就民商事行使管辖权。
  5. 《选择法院公约》旨在确保国际商业交易各方之间的选择法院协议具有效力,从而令有关跨境业务的法律更为明确和促进国际贸易与投资。该公约目前在32个缔约方生效,其中包括欧洲联盟及其27个成员国丶英国丶墨西哥丶黑山和新加坡。中国於2017年9月12日签署《选择法院公约》,待确认後该公约将在中国生效。
  6. 《判决公约》旨在拓展诉诸司法寻求公义的途径,将之延伸至较《选择法院公约》更广阔的案件范围,以及减低跨境交易的成本和风险。订立该公约的目的,在於提供有效率的制度以承认与执行外国民商事判决,从而令有关法律更为明确和可预测。这点对於国际法律事宜至为重要,尤以国际贸易及投资为然。《判决公约》目前尚未生效。
  7. 《判决公约》在2019年7月缔结前,判决项目两个非正式工作组於2019年2月在香港举行会议,讨论部分待议事项。《判决公约》缔结後,律政司和海牙会议在亚洲国际法律研究院的支持下,於2019年9月9日在香港举行以“2019年海牙会议判决公约:环球执行民商事判决”为题的全球首次国际研讨会,以资庆祝并公告周知。
  8. 香港特区政府现正研究《选择法院公约》及《判决公约》适港事宜。我们也会继续以中国代表团成员身分参与管辖权项目。
  9. 我们希望本网页内有关海牙会议判决及管辖权项目的资讯和资源对大家有帮助。

《2005年海牙选择法院协议公约》

《2019年海牙判决公约》

国际法律科
条约法律组
2020年8月