Introduction

  1. Welcome to the Department of Justice’s webpage for the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (“CISG”).
  2. The CISG is an important and widely adopted commercial law treaty which provides a uniform text of law for international sales of goods within its scope. Its purpose is to provide a modern, uniform and fair regime for contracts for the international sale of goods, thereby introducing certainty in commercial exchanges and decreasing transaction costs. There are currently over 90 Contracting States to the CISG from different legal traditions and at various levels of economic development, which represent over two-thirds of the global economy.

Sale of Goods (United Nations Convention) Ordinance (“Ordinance”)

  1. The Government conducted a public consultation on the application of the CISG to the Hong Kong SAR during the period from March to September 2020 (“Consultation”). In summary, there is general support among the respondents to the Consultation for the proposed application. The outcome of the Consultation is detailed in the Government’s submission to the Legislative Council Panel on Administration of Justice and Legal Services in March 2021.
  2. Taking into account the outcome of the Consultation, the Sale of Goods (United Nations Convention) Bill (“Bill”), which aims to implement the CISG in the Hong Kong SAR, was introduced into the Legislative Council (“LegCo”) on 14 July 2021. The Bill was passed by LegCo on 29 September 2021 and the Ordinance will come into operation on a day to be appointed by the Secretary for Justice by notice published in the Gazette.
  3. Pursuant to the relevant process under Article 153 of the Basic Law, as well as the requisite declaration and notification on 4 May 2022 by the Central People’s Government to the Secretary-General of the United Nations (as depositary for the CISG) for applying the CISG (without China’s reservation in respect of Article 1(1)(b) under Article 95 of the CISG) to the HKSAR, the Convention (without China’s said reservation) will apply to the HKSAR with effect from 1 December 2022, and the Ordinance will come into operation on the same date.
  4. On this webpage you will find useful documents, information and resources related to the Consultation, the Ordinance and its legislative history, as well as the CISG and its implementation in the Hong Kong SAR upon the Ordinance coming into operation.
  5. We hope that you find the information and resources on this webpage helpful.

FAQs

Consultation and related documents

The Ordinance and its legislative history

CISG: Treaty text, status and cases

Useful information and resources about the CISG

Other useful materials

Multimedia

引言

  1. 欢迎浏览律政司关於《联合国国际货物销售合同公约》(《销售公约》)的网页。
  2. 《销售公约》是一项广受采纳的重要商业法条约,就该公约范围内的国际货物销售,提供了一部统一法。 该公约旨在为国际货物销售合同提供一个现代丶统一及公平的制度,从而为商业交易带来确定性及降低交易成本。《销售公约》现时共有超过90个缔约国。 这些缔约国来自不同的法律传统,经济发展水平不一,占全球经济总值逾三分之二 。

《货物销售 ( 联合国公约 ) 条例》(《条例》)

  1. 特区政府於2020年3月至9月期间就《销售公约》适用於香港特区进行公众谘询 (谘询) 。 总括而言,谘询回应者普遍支持适用公约的建议。 谘询结果详载於特区政府在2021年3月提交予立法会司法及法律事务委员会的文件
  2. 考虑到谘询结果,特区政府於2021年7月14日向立法会提交《货物销售 ( 联合国公约 ) 条例草案》(《条例草案》) ,其目的是在香港特区实施《销售公约》。 《条例草案》於2021年9月29日获立法会通过,《条例》将会自律政司司长以宪报公告指定的日期起实施。
  3. 按照《基本法》第153条的相关程序,并经中央人民政府於2022年5月4日向联合国秘书长 (作为《销售公约》保管人) 就《销售公约》(不连同中国根据《销售公约》第95条对第1(1)(b)条作出的保留)适用於香港特区作出必要的声明和通知,公约 (不连同中国上述保留) 将於2022年12月1日起适用於香港特区,而《条例》亦会於同日生效。
  4. 在本网页上,你可以找到关於谘询丶《条例》和其立法历史,以及《销售公约》和 (在《条例》实施後) 其在香港特区实施的有用文件丶资讯及资源。
  5. 我们希望本网页的资讯和资源对大家有帮助。

常见问题

谘询及相关的文件

《条例》和其立法历史

《销售公约》: 公约条文丶状况丶案例

有用资讯及资源

其他有用资料

多媒体