The extensive use of technology in business transactions and expansion of e-commerce has sparked demands for legal services that are unrestricted by cultural, geographical and language boundaries over the years.

ODR is a process that utilises technologies in a full spectrum of alternative dispute resolution (ADR) services including negotiation, mediation, arbitration and others. It brings numerous benefits to the service user, such as enhancing access to justice by reducing costs for dispute resolution, saving time through simplified procedures, further upholding the neutrality of any third party mediator or arbitrator with no bias towards the ethnicity, gender, physical appearance of the parties in dispute. Various international and regional organisations, such as the UNCITRAL and the APEC, are taking active steps to promote and use ODR to provide a reliable and efficient platform to facilitate ADR.

To capitalise on the opportunities brought about by international and regional developments including the BRI and GBA Initiative, the Department supports and promotes the development of an online platform, the Electronic Business Related Arbitration and Mediation (eBRAM) Platform, which provides an efficient, cost-effective and secure platform for online deal-making and resolving disputes among parties in any part of the world by integrating state-of-the-art technology such as Blockchain, Smart Contract and Artificial Intelligence.

The development of eBRAM platform in Hong Kong will not only facilitate deal-making and dispute resolution for global business, investment and trade, but also provide a valuable opportunity for Hong Kong to showcase its excellent legal foundation, renowned legal and dispute resolution professionals, as well as LawTech development capacity in the Asia-Pacific region.

近年,科技在商业交易中的广泛应用和电子商贸的发展,促进了对不受文化、地域及语言限制的法律服务需求。

网上争议解决是运用科技提供全面的替代争议解决服务,包括谈判、调解、仲裁及其他服务。网上争议解决可为服务使用者带来许多好处,例如减少解决争议的费用,从而增加寻求公义的机会;简化程序使能节省时间;对争议方的种族、性别、外表不存偏见,进一步加强第三方调解员或仲裁员的中立性。贸法委及亚太经合组织等多个国际及区域组织正积极推广和使用网上争议解决服务,为利便替代争议解决服务提供可靠便捷的平台。

为把握包括“一带一路”及“大湾区倡议”在内的国际及区域发展带来的机遇,本司支持并推动筹建一邦国际网上仲调(eBRAM)平台,结合区块链、智能合约和人工智能等先进科技,提供便捷且具成本效益的安全平台,让身处全球任何角落的各方都可藉此透过网上促成交易和解决争议。

在香港筹建eBRAM平台,不但有助促成交易和解决争议,惠及全球商务、投资和贸易,也可为香港提供宝贵机会向亚太区展现其优良的法律根基、享负盛名的法律及争议解决专业人员,以及发展法律科技的实力。