Vision 2030 for Rule of Law

Background

In 2015, all members of the United Nations have adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (the Agenda), a blueprint to achieve a better and more sustainable future for all. The 17 goals under the Agenda are interconnected, with the rule of law being a pillar for its successful implementation. Goal 16 aims to promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels.

Against the above background, DoJ has decided to formulate a new initiative, Vision 2030 for Rule of Law (Vision 2030). This initiative seeks to promote the proper understanding and recognition of the rule of law by studying its various elements through research, stakeholders’ collaboration and capacity building, thereby contributing to the sustainable development of inclusive and fair societies at both the local and international levels.

For more details about the work undertaken under Vision 2030, please visit Vision 2030’s website.

High Level Policy Support

In the 2019 Policy Address (Supplement), the Chief Executive supported the launch of Vision 2030, a visionary initiative which spans over ten years for the promotion and education of the rule of law. At the ceremonial opening of the Legal Year on 13 January 2020, the Secretary for Justice announced that DoJ will launch a ten-year project entitled “Vision 2030 for Rule of Law”. In the 2020-21 Budget, the Financial Secretary also earmarked about HK$450 million for DoJ to implement Vision 2030, which is a ten-year initiative intended to cover the necessary human resources and other operational expenses.

Task Force on Vision 2030 for Rule of Law

A Task Force on Vision 2030 (“Task Force”) with memberships of local and international renowned experts has been set up to advise the Government on its proposal to achieving the intended policy objective.

On 26 May 2022, the “Vision 2030 Task Force Report” was officially launched during the Vision 2030 for Rule of Law International Symposium.

Roadmap of Vision 2030 for Rule of Law

Vison 2030 comprises short, medium and long term targets.
Subject to the steer of the Task Force, short term targets of Vision 2030 include:-

  1. strengthening the community’s understanding and practice of the rule of law through promotion, education and capacity building;
  2. conducting research and collating relevant data relevant to rule of law;
  3. fostering collaboration with local and international stakeholders and co-organising events to promote and advance the rule of law; and
  4. keeping abreast of international and regional development in the rule of law.

Collaboration with the Chinese Institute of Hong Kong in Rule of Law Research

To take forward Vision 2030, on 11 May 2022, a framework arrangement for collaboration was signed between the DoJ and the Chinese Institute of Hong Kong, being authorised by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS). Under the arrangement, both sides will strive to strengthen, encourage and promote exchanges and co-operation in the area of rule of law research. The Chinese Institute of Hong Kong will also conduct dedicated studies on issues related to the rule of law and the building of a rule of law database with objective data. Under the co-ordination of the DoJ and the Chinese Institute of Hong Kong, the CASS may collaborate with relevant experts in areas such as academic research. The conclusion of the framework arrangement will be conducive to understanding the practice of rule of law based on analysis of objective data.

“愿景2030 — 聚焦法治”

简介

2015年,联合国全体成员国通过《2030年可持续发展议程》(《议程》),为全球创造更美好和更可持续的未来勾划蓝图。该17项目标互有关连,而法治是成功落实目标的重要支柱。当中的目标16旨在创建和平与包容的社会以促进可持续发展;让所有人都有平等诉诸司法的机会;以及在各层面建立有效、负责任和包容的机构。

基于上述背景,律政司决定订立一项新计划,即“愿景2030 — 聚焦法治”(“愿景2030”计划)。这项措施旨在透过研究、持份者互相合作和能力建设探讨法治的各个元素,推广对法治的正确理解和认识,从而在本地以至国际层面促进共融和公平社会的可持续发展。

有关“愿景2030”的工作,详情请浏览“愿景2030”网页

高层次政策支持

在2019年《施政报告附篇》中,行政长官支持律政司推出跨越十年具前瞻性的“愿景2030”计划,为法治进行推广和教育的工作。在2020年1月13日举行的法律年度开啓典礼上,律政司司长宣布律政司将会推出名为“愿景2030 — 聚焦法治”的十年计划。在2020-21年度《政府财政预算案》中,财政司司长也预留约4.5亿港元供律政司推行为期十年的“愿景2030”计划,以应付计划所需的人力资源及其他运作开支。

“愿景2030 — 聚焦法治”专责小组

我们已成立由本地及国际知名专家组成的“愿景2030 — 聚焦法治”专责小组,就如何实现预期政策目标向政府提出建议。请按此查看专责小组的成员名单。

《「愿景2030 — 聚焦法治 」专责小组报告》 于2022年5月26日的「愿景2030聚焦法治国际论坛」上正式推出。

“愿景2030 — 聚焦法治”的路线图

“愿景2030 — 聚焦法治”设有短、中、长期目标。
视乎专责小组的意见和建议,我们的短期目标包括:

  1. 通过推广、教育及能力建设,加深社会对法治的认识及实践;
  2. 进行有关法治的研究和整理相关数据;
  3. 加强与本地及国际持份者协作,合办活动以推广和促进法治;以及
  4. 跟上国际及区域的法治发展。

与香港中国学术研究院就法治研究上的交流和合作

为推进“愿景2030”计划,律政司与香港中国学术研究院,经中国社会科学院(社科院)的同意下,于2022年5月11日签署了法治研究交流和合作的框架安排。在框架安排下,双方将加强、鼓励和推动法治研究领域的交流与合作。香港中国学术研究院将就法治及推进客观法治资料数据库的建立开展专门研究。社科院可在律政司和香港中国学术研究院的协调下与相关人才开展学术科研等方面的合作。今次签署的交流和合作框架安排,将有助我们以客观分析数据为基础了解法治实践的情况。