1. CEPA

Following the signing of the main text of the Mainland and Hong Kong Closer Economic Partnership Arrangement ("CEPA") on 29 June 2003, the Government of HKSAR and the Central People's Government ("CPG") signed the six Annexes to CEPA on 29 September 2003. Please click here for the full text of Mainland's commitments on legal services under Annex 4 of CEPA which came into effect since 1 January 2004.

Please click here for the qualifying criteria of "Hong Kong law firm" under Annex 5 of CEPA.

2. Supplement to CEPA

Please click here for the full text of Mainland's commitments on legal services under Supplement to CEPA which was signed on 27 October 2004 and came into effect since 1 January 2005.

3. Supplement II to CEPA

Please click here for the full text of Mainland's commitments on legal services under Supplement II to CEPA which was signed on 18 October 2005 and came into effect since 1 January 2006.

4. Supplement III to CEPA

Please click here for the full text of Mainland's commitments on legal services under Supplement III to CEPA which was signed on 27 June 2006 and came into effect since 1 January 2007.

5. Supplement IV to CEPA

Please click here for the full text of Mainland's commitments on legal services under Supplement IV to CEPA which was signed on 29 June 2007 and came into effect on 1 January 2008.

6. Supplement VI to CEPA

Please click here for the full text of Mainland's commitments on legal services under Supplement VI to CEPA which was signed on 9 May 2009 and came into effect on 1 October 2009.

7. Supplement VIII to CEPA

Please click here for the full text of Mainland's commitments on legal services under Supplement VIII to CEPA which was signed on 13 December 2011 and came into effect on 1 April 2012.

8. Supplement IX to CEPA

Please click here for the full text of Mainland's commitments on legal services under Supplement IX to CEPA which was signed on 29 June 2012 and came into effect on 1 January 2013.

9. Supplement X to CEPA

Please click here for the full text of Mainland's commitments on legal services under Supplement X to CEPA which was signed on 29 August 2013 and came into effect on 1 January 2014.

Remarks : There are no commitments on legal services under Supplement V and VII to CEPA

10. Agreement between the Mainland and Hong Kong on Achieving Basic Liberalization of Trade in Services in Guangdong

Please click here for the full text of Mainland's commitments on legal services under the Agreement between the Mainland and Hong Kong on Achieving Basic Liberalization of Trade in Services in Guangdong which was signed on 18 December 2014 and came into effect on 1 March 2015.

11. Agreement on Trade in Services

Please click here for the full text of Mainland's commitments on legal services under the Agreement on Trade in Services which was signed on 27 November 2015 and came into effect on 1 June 2016.

12. Investment Agreement

Please click here for the full text of the Investment Agreement which was signed on 28 June 2017 and came into effect on 1 January 2018. The Investment Agreement covers admission of investments for non-services sector.

13. Agreement on Economic and Technical Cooperation

Please click here for the full text of the Agreement on Economic and Technical Cooperation which was signed on 28 June 2017 and came into effect on the same date. The Agreement contains provisions on cooperation in legal services.

14. Amendment to paragraph (3) of Article 6 of Annex 3 to the Agreement on Trade in Services

Please click here for the amendment to paragraph (3) of Article 6 of Annex 3 to the Agreement on Trade in Services regarding the removal of attestation requirement for identification documents of Hong Kong permanent residents applying for Mainland legal professional qualifications. The amendment came into effect on 1 July 2017.

15. Amendment to Table 1 of Annex 1 to the Agreement on Trade in Services

Please click here for the amendment to Table 1 of Annex 1 to the Agreement on Trade in Services. Starting from 1 March 2019, the geographical scope of setting up of partnership associations by Hong Kong and Mainland law firms has been expanded from Guangzhou Municipality, Shenzhen Municipality and Zhuhai Municipality to the entire Mainland.

16. Agreement Concerning Amendment to the Agreement on Trade in Services

The Amendment Agreement, which was signed on 21 November 2019, updates the commitments on liberalisation and facilitation of trade in services under the Agreement on Trade in Services. Major new liberalisation measures on legal services include (1) removing the restriction on the minimum capital input ratio of the Hong Kong side for partnership associations set up by Hong Kong and Mainland law firms in the entire Mainland; (2) allowing Hong Kong legal practitioners to be employed as legal consultants by not more than 3 Mainland law firms simultaneously, and to replace the relevant approval requirements with filing procedures; and (3) allowing Hong Kong legal practitioners to obtain practice qualification in the Greater Bay Area by passing a special examination and to engage in matters on specific areas of Mainland law. The amendments will be implemented on 1 June 2020.

Please click here for Mainland’s commitments on legal services as stated in Table 1 and Table 2 of Annex 1 to the Amended Agreement on Trade in Services.



Please click Frequently Asked Questions for frequently asked questions on legal services.

More information on CEPA is available on the Trade and Industry Departments CEPA page.

For details on the laws and regulations promulgated by the Mainland relating to the implementation of the Mainland's commitments under CEPA, please refer to the webpage of the the Trade and Industry Department (in Chinese only).

The National Unified Legal Professional Qualification Examination (National Legal Qualification Examination, formerly known as the National Judicial Examination)

As from 1 January 2004, Hong Kong permanent residents of Chinese citizenship are allowed under CEPA to sit the National Judicial Examination (NJE, predecessor of the National Legal Qualification Examination) and to acquire the Mainland legal professional qualification. The first NJE participated by Hong Kong candidates took place in Shenzhen in September 2004. Since 2005, Hong Kong has become an examination centre for the conduct of the NJE. In addition to sitting the NJE in the Mainland, candidates from Hong Kong, as well as those from the Mainland and Taiwan, can apply to sit the examination in Hong Kong.

Starting from 2018, the National Legal Qualification Examination replaced the NJE. According to the Implementation Measures for the National Unified Legal Professional Qualification Examination, candidates from Hong Kong, as well as those from the Mainland and Taiwan, can still apply to sit the examination and take it in Hong Kong.

Internship in Mainland law firms in Hong Kong and shortened internship for experienced lawyers

From 1 January 2007 onwards, Hong Kong residents who have acquired Mainland lawyer qualifications or legal professional qualifications are allowed to undertake internship in a branch office of a Mainland law firm set up in Hong Kong.

Starting from 1 October 2009, Hong Kong legal practitioners who have at least 5 years' experience in legal practice and who have passed the NJE (now replaced by the National Legal Qualification Examination) are allowed to undergo the intensive training offered by lawyers associations in the Mainland that lasts for at least 1 month. Upon completion of the training and passing the assessment, they can apply to practise as lawyers in the Mainland.

1. 《安排》

中央人民政府与香港特别行政区政府于2003年6月29日签署《内地与香港关于建立更紧密经贸关系的安排》(《安排》),并于9月29日签署六份附件。请按此处阅览根据《安排》附件4内地有关法律服务的承诺。有关承诺在2004年1月1日起实施。

请按此处阅览根据《安排》附件5“香港律师事务所”的界定标准。

2. 《安排》补充协议

2004年10月27日,中央人民政府与香港特区政府签订《安排》补充协议,请按此处 阅览根据该补充协议内地有关法律服务的承诺。有关承诺在2005年1月1日起实施。

3. 《安排》补充协议二

2005年10月18日,中央人民政府与香港特区政府签订《安排》补充协议二,请按此处阅览根据该补充协议内地有关法律服务的承诺。有关承诺在2006年1月1日起实施。

4. 《安排》补充协议三

2006年6月27日,中央人民政府与香港特区政府签订《安排》补充协议三,请按此处阅览根据该补充协议内地有关法律服务的承诺。有关承诺在2007年1月1日起实施。

5. 《安排》补充协议四

2007年6月29日,中央人民政府与香港特区政府签订《安排》补充协议四,请按此处 阅览根据该补充协议内地有关法律服务的承诺。有关承诺在2008年1月1日起实施。

6. 《安排》补充协议六

2009年5月9日,中央人民政府与香港特区政府签订《安排》补充协议六,请按此处 阅览根据该补充协议内地有关法律服务的承诺。有关承诺在2009年10月1日起实施。

7. 《安排》补充协议八

2011年12月13日,中央人民政府与香港特区政府签订《安排》补充协议八,请按此处 阅览根据该补充协议内地有关法律服务的承诺。有关承诺在2012年4月1日起实施。

8. 《安排》补充协议九

2012年6月29日,中央人民政府与香港特区政府签订《安排》补充协议九,请按此处阅览根据该补充协议内地有关法律服务的承诺。有关承诺在2013年1月1日起实施。

9. 《安排》补充协议十

2013年8月29日,中央人民政府与香港特区政府签订《安排》补充协议十,请按此处阅览根据该补充协议内地有关法律服务的承诺。有关承诺在2014年1月1日起实施。

注:《安排》补充协议五及七内并无有关法律服务的承诺。

10.《关于内地在广东与香港基本实现服务贸易自由化的协议》

2014年12月18日,中央人民政府与香港特区政府签订《关于内地在广东与香港基本实现服务贸易自由化的协议》,请按此处阅览根据该协议内地有关法律服务的承诺。有关承诺在2015年3月1日起实施。

11.《服务贸易协议》

2015年11月27日,中央人民政府与香港特区政府签订《服务贸易协议》,请按此处阅览根据该协议内地有关法律服务的承诺。有关承诺在2016年6月1日起实施。

12. 《投资协议》

2017年6月28日,中央人民政府与香港特区政府签订《投资协议》,该协议函盖非服务业的投资准入承诺,请按此处阅览该协议文本。该协议在2018年1月1日起实施。

13. 《经济技术合作协议》

2017年6月28日,中央人民政府与香港特区政府签订《经济技术合作协议》,该协议包含法律服务的合作。请按此处阅览该协议文本。该协议在2017年6月28日起实施。

14. 《服务贸易协议》附件3的修订

自2017年7月1日起,内地取消对申请内地法律职业资格的香港永久性居民身分证明复印件的公证要求。请按此处阅览已修订的《服务贸易协议》附件3第六条第(三)款。

15. 《服务贸易协议》附件1表1的修订

自2019年3月1日起,内地与香港合伙联营律师事务所的设立范围由广州市、深圳市及珠海市扩展至内地全境。请按此处阅览已修订的《服务贸易协议》附件1表1。

16. 《服务贸易协议》的修订协议

于2019年11月21日签署的修订协议更新在《服务贸易协议》下关于开放和便利服务贸易的承诺。新增的主要法律服务开放措施包括(1) 取消香港与内地律师事务所在内地全境设立的合伙联营中香港律师事务所的最低出资比例限制; (2) 允许香港法律执业者同时受聘于不多于3个内地律师事务所担任法律顾问,并取消有关审批要求,改为备案管理; 以及 (3) 允许香港法律执业者通过特定考试取得大湾区执业资质,从事一定范围内的内地法律事务。相关修订将于2020年6月1日起实施。

请按此处阅览已修订的《服务贸易协议》附件1表1及表2所载的内地在法律服务方面的承诺。



就《安排》下法律服务业的常见问题,请按常见问题

进一步资料请阅览工业贸易署有关《安排》的网页

有关内地就落实《安排》中有关承诺的法律法规,请阅览工业贸易署的网页

国家统一法律职业资格考试 (前称国家司法考试)

自2004年1月1日起,香港永久性居民中的中国公民获准根据《内地与香港更紧密经贸关系安排》参加国家司法考试 (即国家统一法律职业资格考试前称),藉此取得内地法律职业资格。香港考生参与的首届国家司法考试于2004年9月在深圳举行。香港自2005年起成为举行国家司法考试的其中一个试场,除可在内地应试外,香港以及内地和台湾考生,可以申请在港应试。

自2018年起,国家统一法律职业资格考试取代国家司法考试。香港以及内地和台湾考生可根据《国家统一法律职业资格考试实施办法》参加考试及申请在港应试。

关于设在香港的内地律师事务所进行实习及缩短有经验律师的实习时间

由2007年1月1日开始,取得内地律师资格或法律职业资格的香港居民,可以在内地律师事务所设在香港的分所进行实习。

自2009年10月1日,具有5年或以上执业经验并通过内地司法考试(现被国家统一法律职业资格考试取代)的香港法律执业者可以參加内地律师协会组织的不少于1个月的集中培训,经培训考核合格后,可申请内地律师执业。