"Training Scheme in Common Law for Mainland Legal Officials" ("the Scheme")

  1. The Scheme was first implemented in 1999 to provide Mainland officials with the opportunity to study common law and to get familiarised with the legal system in Hong Kong. Participants include officials from ministries, offices and commissions of the Central Government as well as officials from the provincial or municipal governments.
  2. Since 2005, the Department of Justice (DoJ) has been sponsoring about 10 Mainland officials each year to attend the Master of Common Law programme (MCL programme) at the University of Hong Kong under the Scheme.
  3. After completion of the MCL programme, the participants would undergo summer attachment to the DoJ, other government law departments and/or public organizations before returning to their home organs.
  4. The Scheme was further developed in 2008 wherein the DoJ made arrangements for about 10 Mainland officials each year to undertake the Master of Laws (LLM) in Common Law programme at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Officials attending this programme will also be placed in government organs or law firms for short term attachments after completion of the academic programme.
  5. The Mainland officials must meet the entry requirements of either the MCL programme or the LLM in Common Law programme set by the respective Universities in order to be eligible to participate in the Scheme.
  6. The Scheme will be of long-term benefit to the implementation of “One Country, Two Systems” and is welcome by the Mainland organs and officials concerned.
  7. As at August 2017, 258 Mainland officials have participated the Scheme.

Short term attachment programme

  1. Under the Co-operation Agreements entered into by the DoJ and the relevant Mainland justice authorities, both sides agree to provide training opportunities to legal officials of the other side to encourage officials to attain a better understanding of the respective legal systems of the place of attachment.
  2. From 2005 onward, the DoJ regularly arranges a batch of Mainland officials (consisting of about 6 to 12) from various Justice Departments / Bureaux to come to Hong Kong for a programme of about 2 weeks. The officials will be briefed on the roles and functions of the DoJ. Visits will be paid to other government departments and public organisations such as the Legal Aid Department, Correctional Services Department, ICAC, LegCo as well as the legal professional bodies for familiarization with their work. Up to September 2017, a total of 91 Mainland officials have joined this programme.
  3. Reciprocal arrangements have been made for DoJ counsel to be placed on a similar short term attachment to various Justice Departments / Bureaux for greater understanding of the Mainland legal system. Up to September 2017, a total of 42 DoJ counsel have joined this programme.

“普通法训练计划”(“训练计划”)

  1. 律政司自1999年起举办“训练计划”,希望内地官员能透过参与“训练计划”,加深对普通法系及特区法律制度的认识。参与“训练计划”的官员来自中央各部委,亦有部分官员来自不同省、市的单位。
  2. 自2005年起,律政司每年会赞助不超过10名内地官员参与“训练计划”,修读由香港大学法律学院开办的“普通法硕士课程”。
  3. 课程结束后,律政司会安排学员往律政司以及其他政府法律部门或公共机构进行暑期实习。
  4. 除了安排内地官员修读港大法律学院的“普通法硕士课程”外,自2008年起,律政司亦安排内地官员来港修读由香港中文大学法律学院开办的“普通法法学硕士课程”。课程结束后,学员亦会被安排往有关政府部门或律师事务所实习。
  5. 内地官员必须符合有关大学所订的报读“普通法硕士课程”或“普通法法学硕士课程”的入学资格,才可参与“训练计划”。
  6. “训练计划”对实践“一国两制”有长远裨益,受到内地相关机构及官员的欢迎。
  7. 截至 2017年8月,已有 258名内地人员参与“训练计划”。

短期培训

  1. 按律政司与内地有关司法部门签订合作协议的内容,双方同意加强政府法律人员的培训,以加深两地人员对对方法律制度的认识。
  2. 自2005年起,律政司定期安排每批约六至十二位来自内地司法局/厅的官员来港参与为期约两周的培训。期间,律政司会向有关官员介绍本司的工作,并安排他们往访不同的政府部门,包括法律援助署、惩教署、廉政公署及公营机构,如立法会和法律专业团体,以加深认识该等部门的工作。直至 2017年9月,内地共有91名官员参与此培训。
  3. 律政司的律师亦会到内地的司法部门参与短期实习,加深认识内地法制的发展。直至 2017年9月,司内有42名律师曾参与有关实习。