Header

UN Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG)

Introduction

  1. Welcome to the Department of Justice’s webpage for the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (“CISG”).
  2. The CISG is a treaty which provides a set of uniform rules governing the formation, performance and remedies for breach of contracts for the international sale of goods within its scope. Its purpose is to provide a modern, uniform and fair regime for contracts for the international sale of goods, and through which to contribute to introducing certainty in commercial exchanges and decreasing transaction costs[1]. In particular, the Convention applies to contracts for sale of goods between parties whose places of business are in different Contracting States, subject to the right of the parties to opt out in whole or part of the Convention. The CISG has been adopted by over 90 Contracting States from diverse legal traditions and levels of economic development, which together represent over two-thirds of the global economy[2].
  3. As explained in the briefing to the LegCo Panel on Administration of Justice and Legal Services in May 2019[3], with the number of Contracting States to the CISG growing, there are views in favour of extending the application of the CISG to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (“Hong Kong”) for reasons that such application could potentially facilitate trade growth, prevent businesses from being subject to unfamiliar foreign laws when entering into cross-boundary transactions, improve Hong Kong’s competence in resolving CISG disputes and hence enhance Hong Kong’s status as an international trade and dispute resolution hub.
  4. For the purposes of gathering and understanding the views of a full range of interested stakeholders in this regard (including the business and legal sectors), the Department of Justice issued on 2 March 2020 a public consultation paper titled “Proposed Application of the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region”, with a bilingual executive summary. We welcome views from the public on or before 30 September 2020[*].
  5. On this webpage you will find the full set of the consultation documents and information related to the proposed application of the CISG to Hong Kong, as well as information and resources related to the CISG (including its relevance to and impact on international trade law rules).
  6. We hope that you find the information and resources on this webpage helpful.

[*] The consultation period has been extended to 30 September 2020 (from 31 May 2020 as stated in the printed/pdf versions of the consultation documents).




Consultation Paper and Related Documents


Press Release (PDF)

Executive Summary (PDF) (MS Word)

Consultation Paper

Administration’s paper for the Legislative Council Panel on Administration of Justice and Legal Services on “Consultation on the Proposed Application of the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region” (May 2019)

PowerPoint slides for the Briefing “The CISG in Hong Kong – What good is it for my business?” conducted by the International Law Division of the Department of Justice in January 2020

FAQs (PDF)




Useful Information and Resources


Text of the CISG with Explanatory Note

Status of the CISG

CISG page of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL)

Case Law on UNCITRAL Texts (CLOUT)

CLOUT Digest (most updated 2016 Edition)

CISG Lecture I: Purposes, Background, History, Nature, Scope and Application, Mr. Harry M. Flechtner (32 minutes)

CISG Lecture II: Issues Covered and Key Substantive Provisions, Mr. Harry M. Flechtner (34 minutes)

Sale of Goods Ordinance (Chapter 26, Laws of Hong Kong)

Electronic Transactions Ordinance (Chapter 553, Laws of Hong Kong)




Go to Top

标题

联合国国际货物销售合同公约

引言

  1. 《销售公约》是一项订明统一规则的条约,规管该公约范围内的国际货物销售合同的成立丶履行及违约时的补救办法。该公约旨在为国际货物销售提供一个现代丶统一丶公正的制度,并藉此使商业交易具有确定性及降低交易成本。[1]具体而言,该公约适用於营业地在不同国家的当事人之间所订立的货物销售合同,但相关的当事人有选择完全或部分不适用该公约的权利。《销售公约》已获超过90个缔约国采纳,而这些缔约国来自不同的法律传统,经济发展水平不一,共占全球经济总值逾三分之二。[2]
  2. 正如在2019年5月时向立法会司法及法律事务委员会作简介时所指,随着《销售公约》的缔约国不断增加,有意见主张将《销售公约》适用於香港特别行政区(「香港」),理由是这可能会推动贸易增长,避免企业在从事跨境交易时受不熟悉的外地法律规限,提高香港解决《销售公约》争议的能力,及至巩固香港作为国际贸易及争议解决枢纽的地位。[3]
  3. 为搜集及广泛了解各界持份者(包括法律界和商界)就有关事项的意见,律政司於2020年3月2日发表了题为《〈联合国国际货物销售合同公约〉适用於香港特别行政区建议》的谘询文件,并提供双语的摘要。我们欢迎公众在2020年9月30日或之前发表意见[*]
  4. 在本网页上,你可以找到整套关於建议《销售公约》适用於香港的谘询文件及资讯,亦可找到有关《销售公约》的资讯及资源(包括《销售公约》与国际贸易法规则的相关之处,以及《销售公约》对有关规则的影响)。
  5. 我们希望本网页的资讯和资源对大家有帮助。

[*] 谘询期已由谘询文件的印刷版/ pdf 版中所述的 2020年5月31日延长至 2020年9月30日。




谘询文件及相关的文件


新闻稿  (PDF)

谘询文件摘要 (PDF) (MS Word)

谘询文件  [英文]

政府当局向立法会司法及法律事务委员会提交有关"《联合国国际货物销售合同公约》建议适用於香港特别行政区的谘询"的文件 [2019年5月]

律政司国际法律科於2020年1月举行的简介会 “《销售公约》适用於香港 — 对我的业务有甚麽好处?”投影片

常见问题 (PDF)




有用资讯及资源


《销售公约》条文及说明 [简体中文]

《销售公约》状况 [简体中文]

联合国国际贸易法委员会(“贸法委”)《销售公约》网页 [简体中文]

贸法委法律文本的案例 [简体中文]

贸法委关於《联合国国际货物销售合同公约》判例法摘要汇编(2016年版) [简体中文]

Harry M. Flechtner先生《销售公约》视频讲座第一章: “目的丶背景丶历史丶性质丶适用范围及应用” [英文]

Harry M. Flechtner先生《销售公约》视频讲座第二章: “涵盖事宜及主要条文” [英文]

《货品售卖条例》(香港法例第26章)

《电子交易条例》(香港法例第553章)




返回页首