Article by SJ: Vision 2030 for Rule of Law
(Article published in the China Law magazine 2020 No. 3)

Foreword – Rule of Law is a key to global and national developments

  In 2015, all members of the United Nations have adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (the Agenda), which points out the direction for the world to achieve a better and more sustainable future. The 17 goals under the Agenda were adopted by all Member States of the United Nations in 2015 to address global challenges, including poverty, inequality, climate change, environmental degradation, peace and justice etc.; while partners in the world were requested to participate in the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), strengthening global, regional and national co-operation. The 17 goals are interconnected, with the rule of law being a pillar for its successful implementation. In particular, Target 16.3 under Goal 16 seeks to promote the rule of law at the national and international levels, and ensure equal access to justice for all.

2.  The national policy of China also emphasises governing the nation in accordance with the law and the comprehensive implementation and promotion of the rule of law and anti-corruption. As President Xi Jinping stressed, "the experiences drawn from reform and opening up over the past 40 years have shown that reform and development can't be carried out without the rule of law, the further reform and opening-up goes, the more important the rule of law becomes."[1] President Xi Jinping further opined that efforts have to be made in order to strengthen the legal system, in order to create a stable and legalistic environment for implementing further reforms.

3.  At the same time, as the Belt and Road Initiative continues to develop, there are increasing demands for the enactment of relevant legal and regulatory frameworks. In particular, it is crucial for countries alongside the Belt and Road to have a high standard of administration of the rule of law and an efficient government free of corruption.

4.  In the Statement of the Co-Chairs of the Forum on the Belt and Road Legal Co-operation 2018, legal co-operation was specifically mentioned as an indispensable field of and link for international co-operation under the Belt and Road Initiative, which should be developed on the basis of the principle of "extensive consultation, joint contribution and shared benefits". In his congratulatory letter to the opening of the China Forum on International Legal Co-operation (2019), President Xi Jinping remarked that "jointly building the Belt and Road Initiative requires legal guarantees. China is ready to work with other countries to create a sound legal environment, establish a set of global economic and trade rules that is fair, reasonable and transparent and promote high-quality development of the Belt and Road Initiative to better benefit people from various countries."[2] In the Chairs’ Statement of the said Forum, it was also reiterated that "legal co-operation is an indispensable and important part of the Belt and Road co-operation, and rule of law is an indispensable and important foundation and guarantee for the Belt and Road Initiative. … It is recommended that all participating parties further enhance co-operation with international and regional organizations in related fields and intensify multi-level, multi-channel and comprehensive legal co-operation, in order to lay a solid legal foundation for the Belt and Road Initiative."[3] The call for legal co-operation under the Belt and Road Initiative fully echoes the relevant aspects of SDGs relating to the rule of law.

Vision 2030

5.  In this connection, in support of the SDGs of the United Nations, the relevant national development on the rule of law, and the all-round legal co-operation under the Belt and Road Initiative; as well as to reinforce the societal recognition and implementation of the rule of law in Hong Kong SAR, to foster the sustainable implementation of the principle of "One Country, Two Systems" and to ensure the long-term prosperity and stability of Hong Kong SAR, the Department of Justice (DoJ) has launched a ten-year visionary initiative, Vision 2030 for Rule of Law (Vision 2030). This initiative seeks to promote the proper understanding and recognition of the rule of law by studying its various elements through research, stakeholders’ collaboration and capacity building, thereby contributing to the sustainable development of inclusive and fair societies at both the domestic and international levels.

6.  High level policy support from the Hong Kong SAR Government had been given to Vision 2030. In the 2019 Policy Address (Supplement), the Chief Executive supports the launch of Vision 2030, a visionary initiative which spans over ten years for the promotion and education of the rule of law. In the 2020-21 Budget, the Financial Secretary has also earmarked about HK$450 million for DoJ to implement Vision 2030, which is a ten-year initiative intended to cover the necessary human resources and other operational expenses.

7.  Concrete tasks under Vision 2030 will include:

(a)  Facilitating inclusive stakeholders’ collaboration;
(b)  Encouraging academic and professional exchange and research;
(c)  Enhancing capacity building and dissemination of proper information; and
(d)  Organizing promotional activities and contributing to building a strong rule of law community within this region and beyond.

8.  Vision 2030 comprises short, medium and long term targets. As the first step, a Task Force on Vision 2030 (Task Force) with memberships of local and international renowned experts, has been set up to advise the Government on its proposal to achieving the intended policy objective. The first meeting of the Task Force has already been conducted on 12 June of this year via video-conferencing, attended by more than 10 Members from Asia, Africa, Europe and America.

9.  At this juncture, our short term targets includes, (1) strengthening the community’s understanding and practice of the rule of law through promotion, education and capacity building; (2) conducting research and collating relevant data relevant to rule of law; (3) fostering collaboration with local and international stakeholders and to co-organise events to promote and advance the rule of law; and (4) keeping abreast of international and regional development in the rule of law.

(1) Strengthening the community’s understanding and practice of the rule of law through promotion, education and capacity building

10.  Hong Kong SAR takes pride in having a strong rule of law and an independent judiciary, under the principle of "One Country, Two Systems". At the same time, rule of law commands a high respect in the society of Hong Kong SAR, while her legal system and the degree of rule of law are highly regarded internationally and recognised by international indices. Yet, from the great concept to its implementation, the "One Country, Two Systems" principle did face several challenges. However, as stated by President Xi Jinping, ‘The vitality and strength of "one country, two systems" will fully show as long as there is a firm belief in the principle and earnest practice of it.’[4] Amongst other comments, one commentator opined that the current society of Hong Kong SAR lacks education on the rule of law and urged the need to strengthen education on the rule of law, and suggested that all stakeholders should reflect on the situation and engage in meaningful dialogues.

11.  In this connection, under Vision 2030, there are plans to roll out public education projects for various levels through more localised projects and targeted promotion for various sectors, including (1) general public; (2) schools; (3) districts and local community; and (4) professional and the legal community.

(2) conducting research and collating relevant data relevant to rule of law

12.  The elements of the rule of law are plentiful and whilst they are generally recognised internationally, the assessment of it can be a subject of scholarly debate, whether subjective perception or objective data or perhaps a mixture of both. It is necessary to identify indicators and then the factors that best reflect how they are to be assessed. Often, the indicators chosen and the variety in the sources of the data (e.g. perception-based general public surveys, selective expert polls and legislative reviews) differ across various international ranking reports on rule of law. Currently, objective data relating to the rule of law in Hong Kong SAR is largely scattered and fragmented. The data relating to the rule of law in the Hong Kong SAR is largely scattered in various departments in the form of statistics, figures and other form of information. For instance, the judiciary maintains statistics on its caseload and case disposal, as well as court related mediation statistics (including civil matters, family proceedings and building management cases). Collating the relevant data and setting up a dedicated database would assist in assessing rule of law and facilitating research and capacity building for the future in this region and beyond.

13.  In the long run, based on the data collected, in-depth and focused analysis of the use of these data to formulate an objective methodology for assessing the practice of rule of law is expected to be conducted. The collection of such data and the use of such methodology may then be shared with other jurisdictions (especially those located alongside the Belt and Road) with a view to jointly promoting the rule of law. In so doing, this will facilitate Hong Kong SAR’s comprehensive participation and support in the Belt and Road Initiative.

(3) fostering collaboration with local and international stakeholders

14.  The implementation of the Belt and Road Initiative and achievement of the SDGs are closely linked to multilateralism, collaboration and the development and understanding of the rule of law, whilst taking into account the culture and characteristics of the states. In the context of multilateralism in economic development, one specific element of rule of law, anti-corruption, is pivotal. The DoJ is collaborating with our Independent Commission Against Corruption to share experiences and exchange views on the practice of anti-corruption measures and the rule of law with other jurisdictions. We aim to organise workshops and forums to provide a platform for discussion and sharing so that good practices may be developed that takes into account the specific cultures of each jurisdiction whilst keeping the fundamentals, the common denominators, in the elements of the rule of law.

(4) keeping abreast of international and regional development in the rule of law

15.  DoJ will be organising a number of events during the Hong Kong Legal Week in November 2020 (Legal Week), including the inaugural Rule of Law Congress (Congress), which will feature the official launch of the Vision 2030. The Congress is expected to attract international and local participants, including government officials, professionals, experts and other stakeholders, to share their experiences in advancing the rule of law and encourage academic exchanges for capacity building on the different aspects of rule of law for the region and beyond.

16.  Furthermore, DoJ will jointly organise with the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP), the 4th North East Asia Multi-stakeholders Forum on Sustainable Development (SDG Forum) during the Legal Week. This is the first time the SDG Forum is hosted by Hong Kong, China as an associate member of ESCAP. It is expected that the Forum will discuss Goal 16 of the Agenda and general issues on rule of law.

Way Forward

17.  As a ten-year initiative, the various short term targets of Vision 2030 are expected to be further developed and evolved on the advice of the Task Force and through exchanges with the community and stakeholders. By identifying the underlying issues, building up our expertise, enhancing capacity building, and strengthening collaboration with local and international stakeholders, we are hopeful that the general public of the Hong Kong SAR will have a proper understanding of the rule of law and its implementation. Through in-depth researches and analysis on rule of law under Vision 2030, it is believed that Hong Kong SAR can be better equipped to share her relevant experiences in upholding the rule of law with other jurisdictions, especially those alongside the Belt and Road.  It is expected that Hong Kong SAR can work together with these jurisdictions to further develop the rule of law and its practice, and for Hong Kong SAR to better demonstrate her unique role in the Belt and Road Initiative.

18.  Indeed, as President Xi Jinping remarked, "the comprehensive implementation and promotion of governing the nation in accordance with the law resembles systems engineering, which is also a widespread and profound revolution in governance."[5] Our nation is now pushing ahead with law based administration on all fronts, with efforts made to ensure that the principle of rule of law is enshrined in every aspects of governance, government and society, and to achieve proper enactment of legislation, enforcement of the law, fair administration of justice and law abiding citizens etc. As a special administrative region of China under the principle of "One Country, Two Systems", Hong Kong SAR has maintained her judicial independence and a mature and stable legal system. Through the implementation of various tasks under Vision 2030, it is strongly believed that Hong Kong SAR can better assist our nation in her further refinement in the administration of the rule of law and the legal system.

19.  To conclude, as an international city with a strong rule of law tradition, solid infrastructure and a pool of talents, it is hoped that through Vision 2030, Hong Kong SAR can contribute to the nation’s implementation of the SDGs, especially Goal 16 --- "Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels".

[1] "Xi urges improvements to rule of law", Ministry of Justice of the People’s Republic of China http://en.moj.gov.cn/2019-02/27/c_387859.htm

[2] "Director-General of the Department of Treaty and Law of the Foreign Ministry Jia Guide Attends the 2019 China Forum on International Legal Cooperation", 2019/11/13, MFA News, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People’s Republic of China https://www.fmprc.gov.cn/mfa_eng/wjbxw/t1716050.shtml

[3] Chairs’ Statement of the China Forum on International Legal Cooperation (Guangzhou, China, November 11, 2019), China Law Society https://www.chinalaw.org.cn/portal/article/index/id/27162.html

[4] 习近平在庆祝澳门回归祖国20周年大会上的讲话要点(双语), China Daily https://language.chinadaily.com.cn/a/201912/20/WS5dfc5f88a310cf3e3557f889.html

[5] See original text in Chinese: "深入推进全面依法治国", 新華網 http://www.xinhuanet.com/politics/2019-10/24/c_1125145272.htm

“願景2030 — 聚焦法治”
(原文載於《中國法律》雜誌 2020年第三期)

引言 — 法治對全球及國家發展至爲關鍵

  2015年,聯合國全體成員國通過《2030年可持續發展議程》(《議程》),為全球創造更美好和更可持續的未來指明了方向。聯合國全體成員國在2015年通過《議程》下的17項目標,以應對全球面對的挑戰,包括貧窮、不平等、氣候變化、環境惡化、和平及司法公正等;並要求全球夥伴共同參與各可持續發展目標的實施,在全球、區域、國家以及地方層面不斷加強國際合作,落實行動。《議程》的17項目標互有關連,而法治是成功落實目標的重要支柱,尤其是目標16下的具體目標16.3 旨在國家和國際層面促進法治,確保所有人都有平等訴諸司法的機會。

2.  國家政策也提出了依法治國、建設法治中國的要求,並堅定落實促進法治反腐。國家主席習近平強調:「總結改革開放40年的經驗,做好改革發展穩定各項工作離不開法治,改革開放越深入越要強調法治」。國家主席習近平並提到要完善法治建設規劃及加強涉外法治建設等措施,為推進改革發展穩定工作營造良好法治環境。

3.  同時,隨著"一帶一路"倡議的深入開展,對法制規則等建設的需求也日益突顯,沿線國家的法治水準及廉潔高效尤其關鍵。

4.  2018年 "一帶一路"法治合作國際論壇共同主席聲明中特別提到法治合作是"一帶一路"國際合作中不可或缺的一個重要領域和環節,應在"共商、共建、共享"原則的基礎上開展。國家主席習近平亦於致信祝賀中國法治國際論壇(2019)開幕時指出:「推動共建"一帶一路",需要法治進行保障。中國願同各國一道,營造良好法治環境,構建公正、合理、透明的國際經貿規則體系,推動共建"一帶一路"高質量發展,更好造福各國人民」。該論壇主席聲明亦重申法治合作是"一帶一路"國際合作中不可或缺的重要內容,法治是共建"一帶一路"不可或缺的重要基礎和保障;並建議"一帶一路"參與方進一步加強與國際和地區組織在相關領域的合作,進一步開展多層次、多管道、全方位的法治合作,為"一帶一路"建設夯實法治之基。 "一帶一路"法治上的深化合作完全呼應了《議程》中與法治相關的範疇。

"願景2030 — 聚焦法治"

5.  因此,為配合聯合國可持續發展目標、國家就法治的相關建設及 "一帶一路"倡議下全方位的法治合作;並同時鞏固香港特區社會對法治的認識及實踐,推動"一國兩制"原則在香港特區行穩致遠,確保香港特區長治久安,維護香港特區長期繁榮穩定;律政司啟動一個歷時10年的"願景2030 — 聚焦法治" 計劃 ("願景2030"計劃)。此計劃旨在透過研究、與不同的持份者協作和能力建設探討法治的各個元素,推廣社會大衆對法治的正確理解和認識,從而在本地以至國際層面促進可持續發展的共融和公平社會。

6.  "願景2030"計劃獲得香港特區政府的高層次政策支持。在2019年《施政報告附篇》中,行政長官支持律政司推出跨越十年具前瞻性的"願景2030"計劃,為法治進行推廣和教育的工作。而在2020-21年度《政府財政預算案》中,財政司司長也預留約5億港元供律政司推行為期十年的"願景2030"計劃,以應付計劃所需的人力資源及其他運作開支。

7.  "願景2030" 計劃的具體工作包括:

(i) 促進共融持份者的協作;
(ii) 鼓勵學術及專業交流與研究;
(iii) 加強能力建設和發放正確資訊;及
(iv) 舉辦推廣活動,協助鞏固區內外的法治社會。

8.  "願景2030" 計劃設有短、中、長期目標。作爲計劃的第一步,律政司已成立由本地及國際知名專家組成的"願景2030"專責小組,就如何實現預期政策目標向香港特區政府建言獻策。專責小組的首次會議已於本年6月12日以視像會議形式舉行,有十多位來自亞洲、非洲、歐洲和美洲的專家出席。

9.  現階段來説,"願景2030"計劃的短期目標主要包括:(1)通過推廣、教育及能力建設,加深社會對法治的認識及實踐;(2)進行有關法治的研究和整理相關數據;(3)加強與本地及國際持份者協作,合辦活動以推廣和促進法治;以及(4)跟上國際及區域的法治發展。

(1)通過推廣、教育及能力建設,加深對法治的認識及實踐

10.  香港特區擁有"一國兩制"這一最大的優勢。在"一國兩制"原則下,香港特區保持了司法獨立及成熟穩健的司法制度。同時,香港特區社會高度尊重法治,其法律制度及法治水準亦廣受國際及多項國際指標的認同。誠然,"一國兩制"原則由偉大構想至其落實以來,亦遇到了不少挑戰。國家主席習近平指出:「只要對‘一國兩制’堅信而篤行,‘一國兩制’的生命力和優越性就會充分顯現出來」。其中,有論者認爲目前香港特區社會上缺乏針對普羅大衆的法治教育,並建議有關方面加強社會上正確的法治教育及與相關持份者開展合作。

11.  有見及此,"願景2030"計劃將透過不同切合本地情況的項目及針對不同界別的推廣接觸公眾,推動普羅大衆正確認識法治及其相關概念。"願景2030"計劃將會針對各階層,包括(1)普羅大衆;(2)學校;(3)地區活動;及(4)專業及法律界,推出更聚焦性的公衆教育活動。

(2)進行有關法治的研究和整理相關數據

12.  "法治"的組成具備眾多元素,雖然這些元素大多為國際社會所認可,但如何評估這些元素向來是一個學術辯論議題,評估方式可以以主觀觀感或是以客觀數據為本,亦可包含兩者。就此而言,我們有需要把相關指標及能充分評估該等指標的因素找出。一眾國際法治評級報告所選用的指標及數據來源(例如以觀感為本的一般民意調查、特選專家調查及法例檢討)往往有所不同。目前,有關香港特區的法治的客觀數據大多零散不全。有關實踐法治的數據、其統計數字及資料均由不同部門備存,例如,司法機構備存其案件量和結案數目的統計數字,以及與法庭有關的調解的統計數字(包括民事及家事訴訟,以及建築物管理案件)。整理相關數據和建立專項數據庫將有助對實踐法治的評估,以及利便日後在區內外進行相關研究和能力建設。

13.  長遠而言,律政司希望根據收集到的數據,進行深入和集中的分析,以製定客觀的方法來評估法治的實踐。律政司並期望跟其它(特別是位處"一帶一路"沿綫的)司法管轄區分享相關經驗,以期共同促進法治,支持香港特區全面參與和助力"一帶一路"建設。

(3)加強與本地及國際持份者協作,合辦活動以推廣和促進法治

14.  "一帶一路"倡議及《議程》的落實離不開多邊主義、相互合作以及對法治的發展及理解,並同時需要兼顧不同國家自身的文化及特質。在經濟發展上體現多邊主義,反貪腐為其中一項關鍵的法治元素。律政司正與香港的廉政公署商討協作,在其它司法管轄區分享有關反貪腐及法治方面的經驗及就此開展交流。律政司計劃籌辦相關論壇和工作坊,以提供一個討論及分享的平臺,推進制定能夠反映每個司法管轄區自身特定文化,而又兼顧一些基本法治標準的最佳做法。

(4)跟上國際及區域的法治發展

15.  律政司將於2020年11月舉行香港法律周期間舉辦多項活動,包括舉辦首屆法治論壇,並於其中正式啓動"願景2030"計劃。我們預計法治論壇將吸引國際、內地及本地政府官員、專業人士、專家及不同持份者參加,並分享他們促進法治的經驗,亦能夠使香港特區的相關持份者跟上國際及區域的法治發展。我們同時期望法治論壇能夠鼓勵區內外學術交流,發揮能力建設作用。

16.  此外,律政司將會於2020年的香港法律周期間與聯合國亞洲及太平洋經濟社會委員會合辦第四屆可持續發展目標東北亞夥伴關係論壇(可持續發展目標論壇)。這是中國香港首次以聯合國亞洲及太平洋經濟社會委員會的準成員身分主辦可持續發展目標論壇。預計論壇的討論事項將包括《議程》目標16及其它法治相關議題。

結語 — 展望未來

17.  作爲一項十年計劃,"願景2030" 計劃的各項短期工作目標預期會因應專責小組的建議及與不同持份者的交流得以進一步完善。透過找出根本問題、建立專門知識、提升能力建設和加強與本地和國際持份者的協作,我們希望促進香港特區的普羅大衆對法治的正確認識和實踐。透過"願景2030" 計劃進行有關法治的深入研究,香港特區能夠更好地跟世界各地、特別是和"一帶一路"沿綫的司法管轄區分享法治建設的相關經驗,以期共同促進法治的進一步發展和實踐;讓香港特區在"一帶一路"倡議中更好發揮其獨特的角色。

18.  正如國家主席習近平指出:「全面推進依法治國是一個系統工程,是國家治理領域一場廣泛而深刻的革命」。國家現正深入推進全面依法治國,努力實現國家各項工作法治化,並堅持推進法治國家、法治政府、法治社會一體建設,實現科學立法、嚴格執法、公正司法、全民守法,等等。香港特區作爲在"一國兩制"下的特別行政區,保持了司法獨立及享有成熟穩健的司法制度,透過落實"願景2030" 計劃下的不同工作,我們深信能讓香港特區更好助力國家法治建設。

19.  最後,作為一個有著悠久法治傳統、優良基建以及人才匯聚的國際城市,香港特區希望透過"願景2030" 計劃為國家推進《議程》,特別是為目標16作出貢獻 - "創建和平、包容的社會以促進可持續發展,讓所有人都能訴諸司法,在各級建立有效、負責和包容的機構"。