To better cope with the challenges and to harness the additional opportunities offered by the Belt and Road Initiative and the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area Plan, the Inclusive Dispute Avoidance and Resolution Office (IDAR Office) was established within the Department, which works directly under the steer of the Secretary for Justice, on 2 January 2019.

The IDAR Office’s objective is to facilitate access to justice and provide equal opportunities for people from all walks of life and for all sectors of the economy without boundary, advancing Goal 16 of the United Nations 2030 Sustainable Development Goals in this region and beyond. Goal 16 emphasises the promotion of peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, the provision of access to justice for all and the building of effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels.

The IDAR Office’s work includes pursuing and concluding cooperation or partnership arrangements in relation to international arbitration and mediation matters with other jurisdictions and international organisations. It also organises, supports or encourages a number of important international events and activities in Hong Kong, as well as raises the international profile of Hong Kong in deal making and dispute resolution through capacity building and promotional activities overseas. For more details about the past and upcoming key legal and dispute resolution events in Hong Kong, please visit the Legal Hub’s website.

Supported by the Mediation Team of the Civil Division, the Arbitration Unit of the Legal Policy Division and the International Organisation and Legal Cooperation Team of the International Law Division, the IDAR Office strengthens the coordination of mediation and arbitration works in the Department, liaises with the relevant international, regional and local bodies, and serves the relevant steering committees relating to dispute avoidance and resolution services.

為了更有效應對挑戰,把握“一帶一路”及“粵港澳大灣區”建設規劃所帶來的額外機遇,律政司在2019年1月2日成立直接隸屬律政司司長的普惠避免及解決爭議辦公室(辦公室)。

辦公室的目標,是無分界限地為各界人士和各行各業提供平等機會,利便他們尋求司法公正,從而在區內外推展“聯合國2030年可持續發展目標”中的目標16。目標16着眼於創建和平與普惠包容的社會以促進可持續發展;讓所有人都能尋求司法公正;以及在各層面建立有效、負責任和普惠包容的機構。

辦公室的工作包括就國際仲裁及調解事宜與其他司法管轄區和國際組織磋商和簽訂合作或伙伴安排,亦會在香港舉辦多項重要國際盛事和活動,並支持或鼓勵該等盛事和活動在香港舉行,以及在海外舉辦能力建設和推廣活動,以提升香港在促成交易和解決爭議方面的國際形象。有關香港過往和最新的法律及爭議解決重點活動,詳情請瀏覽法律樞紐網頁

辦公室由憲制及政策事務科中國法律組、民事法律科仲裁小組和調解小組,以及國際法律科條約法律組國際組織及法律合作小組提供支援,負責加強協調司內的調解及仲裁工作,與相關國際、區域及本地組織聯繫,並向與避免和解決爭議相關的督導委員會提供服務。