One of the Department’s key policy objectives is to position Hong Kong as the leading centre for international legal and dispute resolution services in the Asia-Pacific Region.

Taking into account the prevailing situation, locally and internationally, in which the Hong Kong legal and dispute resolution services providers operate and the need for Hong Kong to capitalise on the opportunities offered under the Belt and Road Initiative (“BRI”) and the “Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area” (“GBA”) Plan, the Inclusive Dispute Avoidance and Resolution Office (“IDAR Office”) was established in January 2019 under the Secretary for Justice’s direct steer to step up our efforts in enhancing our reputation in the international legal, dispute resolution and business arenas. We will continue to proactively support and develop Hong Kong in becoming a leading service centre for deal-making and resolving investment and commercial disputes relating to BRI and GBA.

A number of work and projects have been undertaken to advance the above objectives. For instance, we have been pursuing to conclude cooperation or partnership arrangements with other jurisdictions and international organisations. Furthermore, we have been organising, supporting or encouraging a number of important international events and activities in Hong Kong. At the same time, we have been striving to raise the international profile of Hong Kong in deal-making and dispute resolution through capacity building and promotional activities overseas. We have also been actively participating in and organising other activities and events in the Mainland, Asia and Europe, often in collaboration with international organisations, the legal and dispute resolution profession and other stakeholders.

Furthermore, we also promote the development of LawTech, including the creation of an efficient, cost-effective and secure online platform for the resolution of disputes as well as an interface for cross-border deal-making between enterprises.

In addition to the above, from the second quarter of 2020 onwards, a number of local, regional and international law-related organisations are gradually moving in the West Wing of Justice Place and the former French Mission Building. Alongside offices of the Department of Justice in the Main Wing, the East Wing and part of the West Wing of the Justice Place, the entire area forms a Legal Hub underpinning Hong Kong’s status as a leading centre for dispute resolution and legal services in the Asia-Pacific Region.

We will continue to strengthen our legal infrastructure as well as legal cooperation with the Mainland, while boosting cooperation with international organisations in capacity building work. We will also actively promote Hong Kong’s international legal and dispute resolution services overseas and in the Mainland, so as to consolidate Hong Kong’s position as a legal platform for deal making and dispute resolution (including mediation, arbitration, litigation and online dispute resolution).

Social media platforms were launched in May 2019 to provide the public with up-to-date news on dispute resolution in Hong Kong:

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/dojhk.idar/

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/mediatefirst/

Weibo: https://www.weibo.com/7075497363/

律政司的主要政策方針之一是致力把香港定位為亞太區主要國際法律及爭議解決服務中心。

因應本港法律及爭議解決服務提供者現時在本地和國際的營運環境,以及香港需要把握“一帶一路”及“粵港澳大灣區”建設所帶來的機遇,本司在2019年1月成立直接隸屬律政司司長的普惠避免及解決爭議辦公室(普惠辦公室),專責加緊提升香港在國際法律、爭議解決及商貿等領域的聲譽。我們會繼續積極支持並著手發展香港成為主要的促成交易暨“一帶一路”及“粵港澳大灣區”投資和商業爭議解決服務中心。

為達致上述目標,我們已推展多項工作和計劃,例如一直與其他司法管轄區和國際組織商議簽訂合作或夥伴安排。此外,我們在香港舉辦過不少重要的國際盛事和活動,並支持或鼓勵在香港舉行該等盛事和活動。與此同時,我們一直在海外舉辦能力建設和推廣活動,致力提升香港在促成交易和解決爭議方面的國際形象。我們也一直經常與國際組織、法律及爭議解決業界和其他持分者合作,在內地、亞洲及歐洲積極參與和舉辦其他盛事和活動。

另外,我們也推展法律科技,包括建立便捷安全又具成本效益的網上爭議解決平台,以及創建促成企業跨境交易的界面。

除此之外,多個本地、區域和國際法律相關機構由 2020年第二季起陸續遷入律政中心西座及前法國外方傳道會大樓。該地段也有律政司辦公室設在律政中心中座、東座和西座部分地方,整個範圍形成法律樞紐,可鞏固香港作為亞太區主要爭議解決及法律服務中心的地位。我們會繼續強化法律基建及與內地的法律合作,同時加強與國際組織在能力建設方面的合作,並且會積極在海外和內地推廣香港的國際法律及爭議解決服務,鞏固香港作為促成交易及解決爭議法律平台(包括調解、仲裁、訴訟及網上爭議解決)的定位。

我們在2019年5月推出社交媒體平台,向公眾提供香港爭議解決事宜的最新消息:

Facebook專頁:https://www.facebook.com/dojhk.idar/

LinkedIn:https://www.linkedin.com/company/mediatefirst/

微博:https://www.weibo.com/7075497363/