COVID-19

  1. In view of the current coronavirus epidemic, what regulations have been put in place pursuant to the Prevention and Control of Disease Ordinance (Chapter 599 of the Laws of Hong Kong)?

    The regulations put in place mainly include:

    1. Compulsory quarantine arrangement of persons arriving at Hong Kong from the Mainland, Macao or Taiwan and have stayed in a specified place (including the Mainland) during the relevant period – Compulsory Quarantine of Certain Persons Arriving at Hong Kong Regulation (Chapter 599C of the Laws of Hong Kong)
    2. Empowering authorised officers to require a person to disclose any information relevant to the handling of the epidemic – Prevention and Control of Disease (Disclosure of Information) Regulation (Chapter 599D of the Laws of Hong Kong)
    3. Compulsory quarantine of persons arriving at Hong Kong from a specified place outside China and have stayed in a specified place outside China during the relevant period before the date of arrival – Compulsory Quarantine of Persons Arriving at Hong Kong from Foreign Places Regulation (Chapter 599E of the Laws of Hong Kong)
    4. Imposing restrictions and requirements for a period specified by the Secretary for Food and Health, in relation to the mode of operation of any catering business and scheduled premises or any business or activity carried on at such premises, including restricting the opening hours, closing the premises, limiting capacity and imposing other social distancing measures – Prevention and Control of Disease (Requirements and Directions) (Business and Premises) Regulation (Chapter 599F of the Laws of Hong Kong)
    5. Prohibition on group gatherings of more than 4 persons in any public places and to provide certain exemption conditions for exempted group gatherings – Prevention and Control of Disease(Prohibition on Group Gathering) Regulation (Chapter 599G of the Laws of Hong Kong)
    6. Imposition of regulatory measures in relation to cross-boundary conveyances (any aircraft and vessel) arriving at Hong Kong from specified places and the relevant travellers on those conveyances having stayed at a specified place during the relevant period (e.g. visitors, air crew or sea crew) – Prevention and Control of Disease (Regulation of Cross-boundary Conveyances and Travellers) Regulation (Chapter 599H of the Laws of Hong Kong)
    7. Requiring all persons to wear a mask at all times on a public transport carrier, in an MTR paid area, or a specified public place – Prevention and Control of Disease (Wearing of Mask) Regulation (Chapter 599I of the Laws of Hong Kong)
    8. Requiring specified categories or description of persons to undergo COVID-19 testing; empowering specified medical practitioners to require symptomatic patients to undergo COVID-19 testing and subjecting certain premises to certain restrictions and persons therein to compulsory testing and restrictions on movement until the COVID-19 testing result is ascertained, etc – Prevention and Control of Disease (Compulsory Testing for Certain Persons) Regulation (Chapter 599J of the Laws of Hong Kong)
    9. Empowering the Secretary for Food and Health to authorise and allow, having regard to the expert advice of the Advisory Panel and having considered the safety, efficacy and quality of the vaccine, the specified use of a COVID-19 vaccine in Hong Kong under emergency situation provided that the vaccine has been approved by a regulatory authority in a place outside Hong Kong that performs the function of approving pharmaceutical products for use, including for emergency use – Prevention and Control of Disease (Use of Vaccines) Regulation (Chapter 599K of the Laws of Hong Kong)
  2. Under what circumstances a person will commit an offence in respect of a prohibited group gathering?

    1. Participates in the group gathering of more than 4 persons in (a) a public place other than Cap. 599F premises, and (b) at any Cap. 599F premises in relation to which a relevant requirement or restriction is not complied with.
    2. Organises such group gathering.
    3. Owns, controls or operates the venue at which the gathering takes place and knowingly allows such group gathering to take place.
  3. What is a group gathering?

    Group gathering generally means a group of people who gather for a common purpose. However, whether a particular gathering is a group gathering depends on the actual circumstances of the case, such as whether the gathering is organised beforehand, whether the participants are present for a common purpose, whether there is any interaction between the participants, whether the gathering only lasts for a very short period of time and whether the participants are doing the same thing. The above matters are non-exhaustive and will not be taken on its own as a ground for concluding whether there is a group gathering.

  4. What is a "public place"?

    Pursuant to regulation 2 of Cap. 599G, public place is referred to a place that members of the public or a section of the public may or are allowed access from time to time, whether by payment or otherwise. If private premises, such as food premises, bars and cinemas, permit access by the public from time to time, such private premises would fall under the definition of public places.

  5. Under the prohibition on group gathering, will convening an annual general meeting (AGM) or extraordinary general meeting (EGM) of shareholders contravene the regulation?

    Pursuant to Cap. 599G, if the business meeting:

    (a) must be held within a specified period in order to comply with (i) any Ordinance, such as the Companies Ordinance (Chapter 622 of the Laws of Hong Kong) which requires the AGM to be held within a specified period; or (ii) other regulatory instrument that governs the operation of the body or its business, such as an EGM, or

    (b) is a shareholders' meeting of a listed company;

    such meeting would be an exempted gathering provided certain conditions are complied with (i.e. no food or drink is served and the maximum number of participants does not exceed certain percentage of the normal capacity of the premises, which depends on the number of participants having received the 1st dose of COVID-19 vaccine).

  6. Who can be exempted from or are not subject to the compulsory quarantine arrangement?

    The quarantine requirement is not applicable to persons who, after having arrived in Hong Kong, do not pass through the immigration control and persons who are exempted by the Chief Secretary for Administration. Further, pursuant to sections 12 and 12A of Cap. 599C, the Secretary for Food and Health has specified the Mainland (excluding places in the Mainland which are designated as "medium-risk" and "high-risk" as set out on the list published by the Department of Health on the Return2hk Scheme thematic website) and Macao as Category 2 specified places in China to launch the Return2hk Travel Scheme with effect from November 23, 2020, and further extend to other Mainland provinces and municipalities on April 26, 2021. Under the Return2hk Scheme, Hong Kong residents may be exempted from the 14-day compulsory quarantine requirement when they return to Hong Kong if they fulfil the specified conditions, including (but not limited to) not having been to places other than Hong Kong, the Mainland (excluding places in the Mainland which are designated as "medium-risk" and "high-risk") or Macao in the past 14 days (not including the period of which the person has been undergoing compulsory quarantine in the Mainland or Macao) and having obtained an entry quota and proof of a valid negative COVID-19 nucleic acid test result.

    Under section 4 of Cap. 599C, the Chief Secretary for Administration may exempt certain persons whose entry into Hong Kong from the Mainland, Macao or Taiwan satisfies the following specific criteria:

    1. necessary for the supply of goods or services required for the normal operation of Hong Kong or the daily needs of the people in Hong Kong;
    2. necessary for governmental operation;
    3. necessary for the protection of the safety or health of the people of Hong Kong or the handling of public health emergency;
    4. necessary for the person's or persons' receiving or providing nursery, kindergarten, primary or secondary education at any school in Hong Kong (Remarks 1);
    5. necessary for the safe travelling of any persons for the purpose in (v); or
    6. because of the exceptional circumstances of the case, otherwise serves the public interest of Hong Kong.

    Remarks 1: School registered under the Education Ordinance (Chapter 279 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

    Pursuant to section 4 of Cap. 599E, the Chief Secretary for Administration may also exempt certain persons whose entry into Hong Kong from other places satisfies the specific criteria (i), (ii), (iii) or (vi) above.

  7. Are those who cannot meet the above specific criteria not eligible for exemption from the compulsory quarantine arrangement, if it is necessary for them to enter or return to Hong Kong?

    If the travelling to Hong Kong is necessary for purposes relating to manufacturing operations, business activities or the provision of professional services (Remarks 2) in the interest of Hong Kong's economic development, the Chief Secretary for Administration may designate those persons or category of persons for purpose of exempting from quarantine arrangement on a case-by-case basis under section 4 of Cap. 599C and 599E.

    Remarks 2: For example, legal practitioners, arbitrators, mediators, accountants and auditors.


  8. The measures introduced by the Government are implemented with a view to minimising risks of disease infection and spreading in local community by social distancing. Therefore, we have to work together to achieve this goal.

    Disclaimer: The above information is for reference only. Any contents do not and should not be taken to constitute legal advice.

新型冠狀病毒

  1. 就今次疫情,政府根據《預防及控制疾病條例》(香港法例第599章)訂立了甚麼規例?

    主要包括以下規例:

    1. 對由內地、澳門或台灣的地區抵港,並在有關期間曾逗留指明地區(包括內地)的人士,實施不同的強制檢疫安排。 – 《若干到港人士強制檢疫規例》香港法例第599C章
    2. 賦權相關人員可要求任何人士披露與處理疫情有關的資料 – 《預防及控制疾病(披露資料)規例》香港法例第599D章
    3. 對由中國以外的地區到達香港,並在抵港前的有關期間曾逗留在中國以外的指明地區的人士,實施不同的強制檢疫安排。 – 《外國地區到港人士強制檢疫規例》香港法例第599E章
    4. 在食物及衞生局局長指明的期間,對餐飲業務及指定處所的運作模式或在該處所進行的任何活動(或經營的業務)施加限制或規定,包括限制其營業時段、要求關閉該業務的處所、限制可容納的人數及其他保持社交距離的措施 – 《預防及控制疾病(規定及指示)(業務及處所)規例》香港法例第599F章
    5. 限制4人以上在公眾地方進行的羣組聚集及就該等豁免羣組聚集訂定某些豁免條件 – 《預防及控制疾病(禁止羣組聚集)規例》香港法例第599G章
    6. 對由指明地區到港的跨境交通工具(任何飛機或船隻)及登上該跨境交通工具並在指明期間曾在指明地區停留的到港者(如旅客、機組人員或海員),施加規管措施 – 《預防及控制疾病(規管跨境交通工具及到港者)規例》香港法例第599H章
    7. 規定任何人在公共交通工具上、在港鐵已付車費區域,或在指明公眾地方時,須一直佩戴口罩 – 《預防及控制疾病(佩戴口罩)規例》香港法例第599I章
    8. 強制屬某類別或描述的指明人士接受2019冠狀病毒病的檢測,賦權指明的醫生可要求有2019冠狀病毒病症狀的病人接受檢測以及限制若干處所並對其內的人士施加強制檢測、限制移動直至該檢測結果獲確定等規定 – 《預防及控制疾病(對若干人士強制檢測)規例》香港法例第599J章
    9. 賦權食物及衞生局局長,在顧及獨立顧問專家委員會的專業意見下及考慮疫苗的安全性、效能及質素後,認可及準許獲本港以外藥物規管機構核准使用(包括緊急使用)的新冠疫苗,在香港作緊急指明用途 – 《預防及控制疾病(使用疫苗)規例》香港法例第599K章
  2. 在甚麼情況會觸犯「限聚令」?

    1. 在《第599F章》處所以外的公眾地方及在不符合就《第599F章》處所進行的羣組聚集的相關要求或限制下,參與4人以上的羣組聚集的人。
    2. 組織該羣組聚集的人。
    3. 擁有、控制或營運進行該聚集的場所並明知而容許該羣組聚集進行的人。
  3. 何謂羣組聚集?

    羣組聚集的一般涵義是指一羣人為共同目的而聚集。但是否屬羣組聚集仍要視乎實際情況,例如聚集是否事先組織、聚集人是否為共同目的而聚集、聚集的人士彼此間有否互動、聚集是否只瞬間出現及聚集人是否在做同樣的事情等。上述事項並非全部,亦不能就個別事項作為判斷是否存在羣體聚集。

  4. 何謂公眾地方?

    根據《第599G章》第2條,公眾地方是指公眾人士或部分公眾人士可以不時在繳費或不繳費下進入的地方。即使是私人處所,如果公眾人士可以不時進入,例如食肆、酒吧及戲院等,就會符合公眾地方的定義。

  5. 就「限聚令」而言,召開股東周年大會或股東特別大會會否觸犯法例?

    根據香港法例《第599G章》,若會議︰

    (a)須在指明期間內舉行,以遵守(i)任何條例,例如《公司條例》(香港法例第622章)規定舉行時間的股東周年大會;或(ii)符合規管該團體的運作或事務的其他規管性質文書,例如股東特別大會,或

    (b)是上市公司的股東會議,

    該會議在符合某些條件下可獲豁免(即會議上不供應食物或飲品及參與人數不多於召開會議場地通常容納量的指定百分比,而該百分比取決於已完成接種第一劑2019冠狀病毒病疫苗的參與人數)。

  6. 甚麼人士來港可以豁免或不適用於強制檢疫?

    強制檢疫規定不適用於在到達香港後沒有通過出入境檢查關卡的人士及獲政務司司長豁免的人士。另外,食物及衞生局局長按《第599C章》第12及12A條,自2020年11月23日起,將內地(不包括衞生署載列於回港易計劃的專題網站的名單上任何屬「中風險」或「高風險」的內地地區)及澳門指明為第2類指明中國地區,推出回港易計劃,並自2021年4月26日起擴展至內地其他省市。在該計劃下,香港居民如符合某些指明條件,包括(但不限於)在過去14天不曾到過香港、內地(不包括任何位於內地屬「中風險」或「高風險」的地區)和澳門以外的地方,並取得入境名額及有效的2019冠狀病毒病核酸檢測陰性結果證明,可在返港後獲豁免14天強制檢疫的要求。

    根據《第599C章》第4條,政務司司長可對若干符合以下特定條件並從內地、澳門或台灣來港的人士作出豁免:

    1. 對供應香港正常運作,日常生活所需的物品或服務屬必要的人士;
    2. 對政府事務運作屬必要的人士;
    3. 對保障香港的人的安全或健康或對應付公共衞生緊急事態屬必要的人士;
    4. 對在香港的學校(註1)接受或提供幼兒、幼稚園、小學或中學教育屬必要的人士;
    5. 為(iv)的目的而安全進行行程屬必要的人士;或
    6. 鑑於有關個案的情況極其特殊,故此在其他方面符合香港的公眾利益。

    註1:根據《教育條例》(香港法例第279章)註冊的學校。

    而根據《第599E章》第4條,政務司司長亦可對符合以上(i)、(ii)、(iii)或(vi)特定條件從其他地方來港的人士作出豁免。

  7. 如有必要來港或回港,但不符合上述特定條件的人士,是否一定不獲豁免強制檢疫?

    如有關人士的行程目的,對關乎符合香港經濟發展利益的生產作業、業務活動或提供專業服務(註2)屬必要,根據《第599C》第4條及《599E章》第4條,政務司司長亦可按個別情況指定某人或某類別人士並對其作出豁免強制檢疫的要求。

    註2:例如法律執業者、仲裁人、調解員、會計師及核數師。


政府推出這些措施,是希望減少社交接觸,從而減低病毒在社區傳播的風險,因此我們必須同心協力,一起去達致這個目標。

聲明:以上資料僅供參考,當中所載的資訊不構成法律意見亦不應用作法律意見。