Relevant sectors in Hong Kong can make contributions to the development of legal framework which align with international standard and uphold the rule of law in regions under BRI and GBA. With its rich experience in training, the legal and dispute resolution services sector contributes to the development of Hong Kong as the capacity building centre for BRI and GBA.

The Department has been proactively organising and supporting a number of training and capacity-building programmes to strengthen Hong Kong’s status as a regional and international centre for legal and dispute resolution services.

In addition to capacity building programs and events responding to specific needs at particular times, we often organise and support training courses on a regular basis, such as co-organising the biennial UNCITRAL Asia-Pacific Judicial Summit with UNCITRAL, supporting the Asian Academy of International Law (“AAIL”) to undertake part of the “China-Asian-African Legal Consultative Organization Exchange and Research Program on International Law”, co-organising the Investment Law and Investor-State Mediator Training Course in Asia with the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes under the World Bank Group and the AAIL. We will also organise international law programs regularly with the Hague Academy of International Law and AAIL starting from 2020. We will continue to look for collaboration with reputable international organisations and professional bodies to advance our capacity building initiatives.

Furthermore, in order to foster the developments of the legal professions, the legal and dispute resolution services sector from Hong Kong has launched commercial, trade, financial, and other exchanges, with counterparts under BRI and GBA. For example, the Department, the State-owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission of the State Council (SASAC) and the Ministry of Commerce of the PRC have set up a regular communication platform to facilitate communication. We have also concluded a framework arrangement for legal exchange and mutual learning with the High People’s Court of the Guangdong Province, under which a series of activities involving judges, legal officials and legal practitioners from the GBA have been undertaken. The Department continues to proactively liaise and consult with a view to establishing an exchange platform for the legal and business sectors in Hong Kong, the Mainland and other jurisdictions, which will facilitate commercial, trade, financial and other exchanges.

For a list of past and future events relevant to the above, please refer to https://www.legalhub.gov.hk/eng/events.html.

在“一带一路”沿线地区及大湾区建立与国际接轨的法律及法治制度过程中,香港业界可发挥推动作用。香港法律及争议解决服务机构具备丰富的培训经验,将有助香港建设为“一带一路”及大湾区的能力建设中心。

律政司一直积极举办和支持多项培训及能力建设计划,以加强香港作为亚太区以至国际法律及争议解决服务中心的地位。

除了按特定需要在特定时间举办和支持能力建设计划及活动,我们经常定期举办和支持培训课程,例如与联合国国际贸易法委员会(贸法委)合办两年一度的贸法委亚太司法高峰会、支持亚洲国际法律研究院承办“中国—亚非法协国际法交流与研究项目”、在亚洲与世界银行集团国际投资争端解决中心和亚洲国际法律研究院合办投资法暨国际投资争端调解技巧培训课程。由2020年起,我们也会与海牙国际法学院和亚洲国际法律研究院定期举办国际法课程。我们会继续寻求与著名国际组织和专业机构协作,以推展能力建设措施。

此外,为促进法律专业发展,香港法律及争议解决服务界已与“一带一路”及大湾区的同业展开商贸、金融和其他方面的交流。举例来说,律政司、国务院国有资产监督管理委员会和国家商务部设立了定期交流平台,以促进沟通。我们与广东省高级人民法院也签订了法律交流与互鉴的框架安排。根据该安排,一系列活动已顺利举行,参加者包括来自大湾区的法官、法律官员和法律执业者。律政司会继续积极与本港、内地和其他司法管辖区的法律界和商界联系和磋商,以期为他们建立平台,利便商贸、金融和其他方面的交流。

与上文相关的过往及日后活动表列于 https://www.legalhub.gov.hk/chi/events.html