Expand AllCollapse All

Mediation Ordinance (Cap. 620)

To implement the recommendations of the Working Group on Mediation headed by the Secretary for Justice, and following public consultation, the Mediation Ordinance was enacted in June 2012 and came into operation on 1 January 2013. The Mediation Ordinance provides a regulatory framework for the conduct of mediation in Hong Kong without hampering the flexibility of the mediation process.

The objects of the Mediation Ordinance are to promote, encourage and facilitate the resolution of disputes by mediation, and to protect the confidential nature of mediation communications (section 3).

For the purposes of the Mediation Ordinance, mediation is a structured process comprising one or more sessions in which one or more impartial individuals, without adjudicating a dispute or any aspect of it, assist the parties to a dispute to do any or all of the following including identifying the issues in dispute, exploring and generating options, communicating with one another and reaching an agreement regarding the resolution of the whole, or part, of the dispute (section 4).

Please click here to read the text of the Mediation Ordinance.

Apology Ordinance (CAP. 631)

After two rounds of public consultation in 2015 and 2016 (see consultation documents here), the Government introduced the Apology Bill into the Legislative Council in January 2017. The Apology Ordinance (Cap. 631) was enacted in July 2017 and came into operation on 1 December 2017.

The objective of the Apology Ordinance is to promote and encourage the making of apologies with a view to preventing the escalation of disputes and facilitating their amicable resolution.

For the purposes of the Apology Ordinance, an apology made by a person in connection with a matter means an expression of the person’s regret, sympathy or benevolence in connection with the matter, and includes an expression that the person is sorry about the matter. An apology may be oral, written or by conduct and includes any part of the expression that is an express or implied admission of that person’s fault or liability in connection with the matter or a statement of fact in connection with the matter (section 4).

The Apology Ordinance also provides that in most civil proceedings an apology does not constitute an express or implied admission of fault or liability and must not be taken into account in determining fault, liability or any other issue to the prejudice of the apology maker (section 7). Furthermore, an apology is generally not admissible as evidence for determining fault, liability or any other issue to the prejudice of the apology maker (section 8).

The Arbitration and Mediation Legislation (Third Party Funding) (Amendment) Ordinance 2017

The Arbitration and Mediation Legislation (Third Party Funding) (Amendment) Ordinance 2017 (Amendment Ordinance) was enacted on 14 June 2017 to clarify that third party funding of arbitration, mediation and related proceedings is permitted under Hong Kong law by amending the Arbitration Ordinance (Cap. 609) and the Mediation Ordinance (Cap. 620).

The proposed amendments were based on the recommendations made in the Report on Third Party Funding for Arbitration published by the Law Reform Commission of Hong Kong in October 2016 and the views of the Steering Committee on Mediation chaired by the Secretary for Justice. The Amendment Ordinance came into operation upon gazettal on June 23, 2017, except for section 3 which relate to the Arbitration Ordinance (New Arbitration Ordinance Provisions) and section 4 relating to the Mediation Ordinance (New Mediation Ordinance Provisions).

The Department of Justice launched a two-month public consultation on a draft code of practice on third party funding of arbitration and mediation on August 30, 2018. After due consideration of the comments received in the consultation, the Secretary for Justice, as the authorised body appointed under the Arbitration Ordinance, has decided to issue the Code of Practice for Third Party Funding of Arbitration and to appoint 1 February 2019 as the commencement date of the New Arbitration Ordinance Provisions.

The commencement of the New Mediation Ordinance Provisions will be deferred to a future date following further consultation with the mediation community and relevant stakeholders on certain issues concerning third party funding of mediation with a view to addressing them.

Steering Committee on Mediation

To further foster the development of mediation in Hong Kong, the Secretary for Justice has set up a Steering Committee on Mediation (Steering Committee) in 2012, comprising members from different sectors of the community including legal professionals, medical practitioners, academics, administrators and social workers. Please click here for the Terms of Reference and Membership of the Steering Committee.

The Steering Committee is assisted by the following Sub-committees/Committee:

  • Regulatory Framework and Accreditation Sub-committee
  • Public Education and Publicity Sub-committee
  • Special Committee on Evaluative Mediation
  • West Kowloon Mediation Centre Supervisory Committee

 Members of the 6th Term Steering Committee

Recent developments in relation to the work in promoting mediation by the Steering Committee include the "Mediate First" Pledge campaign, Mediation Week and Mediation Conference, the setting up of the West Kowloon Mediation Centre as well as the recent launch of social media platforms for promotion of mediation services. With a view to assisting the users who wishes to disclose or use mediation communication for research, evaluation or educational purposes to comply with section 8(2)(e) of the Mediation Ordinance, in 2016 the Steering Committee compiled the Guidelines for Disclosure of Mediation Communications for Research, Evaluation or Educational Purposes for reference purposes.

Prior to the setting up of the Steering Committee, the mapping out of plans for the development of mediation in Hong Kong was undertaken by the Working Group on Mediation set up in 2008 and the Mediation Task Force set up in 2010.

  1. Working Group on Mediation (the Working Group)
    In the Report of the Working Group on Mediation published in February 2010, there were 48 recommendations covering three important areas of regulatory framework, training and accreditation, and publicity and public education. Please click here for the Executive Summary. At the same time, the Working Group also promulgated the Hong Kong Mediation Code (the Code). The Code is intended to provide a common standard among mediators and to serve an important quality assurance function. Various mediation service providers have already adopted the Code.
  2. Mediation Task Force (the Task Force)
    In order to consider the recommendations of the Working Group which required further deliberations after taking into account the public feedback received and to implement those which received general support, the Secretary for Justice set up a Mediation Task Force in 2012. Please click here for the Membership and Terms of Reference of the Task Force. The Task Force was assisted in its work by three groups working specifically on the said three areas. The Task Force had, in collaboration with different bodies, implemented various initiatives, including the production of an Announcement of Public Interest which was broadcast in December 2011 and the holding of the "Mediate First" Conference on 11 and 12 May 2012.

Hong Kong Mediation Accreditation Association Limited

With the recommendation in the Report of the Working Group and the submissions received in the public consultation, and with the support of the Task Force, it was considered that the establishment of a non-statutory industry-led single accreditation body would be desirable and should be supported. The single accreditation body could assist in ensuring the quality of mediators, consistency of standards, education of the public about mediation and mediators, enhancing public confidence in mediation services, and maintaining the credibility of mediation.

As there are a number of mediation service providers in Hong Kong, local and overseas alike, it is important for the major service providers to work together on the formation of an accreditation body and to agree on mutually acceptable professional standards, including training standards.

This single accreditation body, by the name of Hong Kong Mediation Accreditation Association Limited (HKMAAL) was incorporated in the form of a company limited by guarantee on 28 August 2012 with the Hong Kong Bar Association, the Law Society of Hong Kong, the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre, and the Hong Kong Mediation Centre as the founder members.

Hong Kong, being a legal services hub in the Asia-Pacific region, is home to many prominent law-related organisations on mediation. Please visit the Hong Kong Legal Hub website for more information.

A "Mediate First" Pledge campaign was launched in May 2009 to encourage the use of mediation as the first step to resolve disputes. The “Mediate First” Pledge (the Pledge) is a non-legally binding commitment by pledgees to first explore the use of mediation to resolve disputes before resorting to other means of dispute resolution, such as court litigation. Over 600 companies and trade organizations have signed the pledge:
"Mediate First" Pledge for Companies/ Organisations/ Associations (online form)

Information about the Mediate First Pledge Logo & Star Logo Competition for Secondary School Students and the list of winners can be found here.

The first award presentation of Star Logo and Star Logo certificates to eligible MFP pledgees was held at the Mediate First Pledge Event 2019. The Event also marked the launch of three dedicated social media platforms, namely, Facebook, LinkedIn and Weibo, to connect directly with the public in promoting, among others, the Department of Justice’s mediation initiatives. More information about the biennial “Mediate First” Pledge event can be found here .

Mediate First

Logo Award Scheme

2019 Event with SJ addressing the audience

An investment Agreement was signed on 28 June 2017 under the framework of the Mainland and Hong Kong Closer Economic Partnership Arrangement (CEPA) between the HKSAR Government and the Ministry of Commerce (CEPA Investment Agreement) providing for promotion and protection of investments between the two places. The CEPA Investment Agreement provides a Mediation Mechanism for Investment Disputes for settlement of an investment dispute arising from an alleged breach of the substantive obligations of the Agreement by one side causing loss to an investor of the other side.

Under the Mediation Mechanism for Investment Disputes, Hong Kong and the Mainland respectively designated their own mediation institutions and mediators for the resolution of investment disputes and published the list of mediation institutions and mediators mutually agreed by both sides. The mutually agreed lists of mediation institutions and mediators of both sides were published on 14 December 2018.

With regard to mediators designated for Hong Kong, they are subject to a set of eligibility criteria which, among other things, requires them to possess necessary professional knowledge of international or cross-border trade and investment or relevant legal knowledge. The Department of Justice has also drafted a set of mediation rules for adoption by designated mediation institutions and mediators of the HKSAR.

The Mediation Mechanism for Investment Disputes will help advance the wider use of mediation in resolving cross-border disputes.

The Department of Justice has co-organised the Investment Law and Investor-State Mediator Training Course, the first investment law-cum-investment mediation training course in Asia, together with the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes and the Asian Academy of International Law, in October 2018.

With the conclusion of the investment agreement under the framework of the CEPA on June 28, 2017, which provides mediation as a means of dispute resolution, the training course is one of the Department of Justice's initiatives towards developing Hong Kong into an international investment law and international investment dispute resolution skills training base. The goal is to build up a team of investment mediators in Asia to handle international investment disputes. The week-long training course attracted enthusiastic responses. Some 50 participants from around the world, including government officials from Mainland China, ASEAN countries, the Middle East, Africa, South America and Hong Kong, as well as local and overseas legal and mediation practitioners, gathered for this Asia premiere of intellectual and professional exchange in these subject areas.

Further rounds of such training will be organised by the Department of Justice

photograph of the training 2018

The West Kowloon Mediation Centre (WKMC), a unique facility dedicated to mediation, had its opening on 8 November 2018 with a Pilot Mediation Scheme launched at the same time. The significant project marks the Government's commitment to promote the use of mediation and to enhance public awareness of its benefits. The Pilot Mediation Scheme is operated at the WKMC by the Joint Mediation Helpline Office, an independent co-ordinator appointed by the Government, to provide mediation services to litigants of Small Claims Tribunal cases that are suitable for mediation and other suitable cases.

West Kowloon Mediation Centre

The ICC International Commercial Mediation Competition - Hong Kong was co-organised by the Department of Justice with the International Chambers of Commerce – Hong Kong in October 2018. It was a mediation competition focusing on mediation advocacy skills in international commercial mediation opened to both local and overseas university students. Professional mediators were invited to serve as voluntary judges or mediators in the competition. The winning team was sponsored to participate in the ICC International Commercial Mediation Competition in Paris. This served as an excellent opportunity to educate Hong Kong’s next generation on the benefits of mediation as well as raising Hong Kong’s status as the leading centre for international legal and dispute resolution services in the Asia-Pacific Region.

The Department of Justice will continue to co-organise this competition.

 ICC International Commercial Mediation Competition – Hong Kong 2018-1

 ICC International Commercial Mediation Competition – Hong Kong 2018-2

 ICC International Commercial Mediation Competition – Hong Kong 2018-3

全部展开全部折叠

《调解条例》(第620章)

就落实由律政司司长领导的调解工作小组报告中的建议,及咨询公众後,《调解条例》(第620章)在2012年6月制定,并于2013年1月1日起实施。《调解条例》在不防碍调解程序灵活性的前提下,为在香港进行调解订立规管框架。

订立《调解条例》是旨在提倡、鼓励和促进以调解方式解决争议,及使调解通信得以保密(第3条)。

就《调解条例》而言,调解是由一个或多于一个分节构成的有组织程序,在该等分节中,由一名或多于一名不偏不倚的人在不对该项争议或其任何部分作出判决的情况下,协助争议各方作出下述任何或所有事宜,包括找出争议点探求和拟订解决方案,互相沟通,就解决争议的全部或部分,达成协议(第4条)。

请按此处参阅《调解条例》的文本。

《道歉条例》(第631章)

经过2015及2016年的两轮公众咨询後(请按此处参阅《咨询文件》),政府于2017年1月将《道歉条例草案》引入立法会。《道歉条例》(第631章)(请按此处参阅)于2017年7月制定并于2017年12月1日生效。

《道歉条例》的目的是提倡和鼓励作出道歉,以期防止争端恶化,和促进和睦排解争端。

就《道歉条例》而言,某人就某事宜作出的道歉,是指该人就该事宜表达歉意、遗撼、同情或善意,并包括该人就该事宜表达抱歉。道歉可属口头或书面形式,亦可藉行为作出,并包括以明示或默示的方式作出,承认该人在上述事宜方面的过失或法律责任的表达的任何部分;或与上述事宜相关的事实陈述(第4条)。

《道歉条例》亦订明在大部分民事法律程序中,道歉并不构成以明示或默示的方式承认过失或法律责任,以及在裁断过失、法律责任或任何其他争议事项时,道歉不得列为不利于道歉者的考虑因素 (第7条)。此外,道歉者作出的道歉的证据,一般不得为裁断过失、法律责任或任何其他争议事项,而接纳为不利于道歉者的证据 (第8条)。

2017 年 仲裁及调 解法例 (第三者资助) (修订)条例

修订《仲裁条例》(第609章)和《调解条例》(第620章)的《2017年仲裁及调解法例(第三者资助)(修订)条例》(“《修订条例》”)在2017年6月14日获通过,以厘清香港法律准许第三者资助仲裁、调解及相关法律程序。

建议修订是根据香港法律改革委员会于2016年1 0月发表的《第三方资助仲裁》报告书内的建议及由律政司司长主持的调解督导委员会的意见而提出的。《修订条例》在 2017年6月23日刊宪後实施(与《仲裁条例》相关的第3条(《仲裁条例》新订条文)及关乎《调解条例》的第 4 条( 《调解条 例》新订条文 )除外)。

2018年8月30日,律政司就《第三者资助仲裁及调解实务守则》的拟稿展开为期两个月的公众咨询。在充分考虑咨询期间收到的意见後,律政司司长以《仲裁条例》获委任为获授权机构的身分,决定发出《第三者资助仲裁实务守则》,并指定2019年2月1日为《仲裁条例》新订条文的实施日期。

《调解条例》新订条文的实施日期,将押後至律政司继续咨询调解业界及相关持份者以期解决有关第三者资助调解的若干问题後决定。

调解督导委员会

为就提倡和促进调解在香港的发展提供意见,律政司司长于2012年成立了调解督导委员会(督导委员会) ,成员来自社会不同界别,包括法律专业人士、医生、学者、行政管理人员及社工。请按此处参阅督导委员会的职权范围及成员名单。

督导委员会由以下的委员会/小组支援:

  • 规管架构及评审资格小组委员会
  • 公众教育及宣传小组委员会
  • 评估式调解特别委员会
  • 西九龙调解中心管理小组

第六届委员会

督导委员会近年在调解推广工作包括“调解为先” 承诺书运动, 调解周及调解会议, 成立西九龙调解中心以及推广调解服务的措施的社交媒体平台启用。督导委员会于2016年汇编了《为研究,评估或教育目的而披露调解通讯的准则》,以便有意根据《调解条例》第8(2)(e)条为研究、评估或教育目的而披露或使用调解通讯的用户作为参考。

督导委员会成立之前,探讨如何在香港推广调解的工作先后由在2008年成立的调解工作小组及2010年成立的调解专责小组负责。

  1. 调解工作小组(工作小组)
    调解工作小组于2010年2月发表了调解工作小组报告 ,当中提出了48项建议,函盖3个主要范畴,分别为规管框架、资格评审和培训及公众教育及宣传。 请按此处参阅报告摘要。 工作小组同时亦颁布了《香港调解守则》。 该守则旨在为调解员订立通用标准,并具有确保调解服务质素的重要作用。现巳有多个调解服务提供者采用该守则。
  2. 调解专责小组(专责小组)
    2012年,因应公众就工作小组建议所提出的意见,研究当中须予进一步考虑的建议,并落实已得到广泛支持的建议,律政司成立了调解专责小组。请按此处参阅专责小组的成员名单及职权范围。 专责小组由3个组支援,分别专责处理规管框架资格评审和培训及公众教育及宣传的工作。 专责小组与不同机构合作,推行了多个计划,包括在2011年12月推出的宣传短片,及在2012年5月11及12日举办“调解为先”研讨会。

香港调解资历评审协会有限公司

根据工作小组在报告中建议,以及在公众咨询中所接获的意见书,和专责小组的支持,认为成立一个由业界主导的非法定单一资格评审组织,是可取的及应该支持的。成立一个单一资格评审组织有助确保调解员的质素、使评审标准一致、向市民灌输有关调解服务和调解员的知识、加强市民对调解服务的信心,以及维持调解的可信性。

鉴于香港有多个本地及海外的调解服务提供者,由这些主要的服务提供者携手合作,成立一个资格评审组织,并议定共同接受的专业标准(包括培训标准),至为重要。

该单一资格评审组织为香港调解资历评审协会有限公司(简称调评会)于2012年8月28日以担保有限公司的形式注册,创会成员包括香港大律师公会、香港律师会、香港国际仲裁中心及香港和解中心。

香港作为亚太区法律服务枢钮,是很多重要的与调解有关的法律相关组织的根据地。有关资料请浏览香港法律服务专页。

“调解为先”承诺书运动在2009年5月展开,提倡先采用调解来解决争议。“调解为先”承诺书(承诺书)不具法律约束力,承诺人承诺先探索采用调解解决争议,然后才尝试其他争议解决方法或在法庭进行诉讼。当前共有超过600间公司及行业机构签署了承诺书:-
调解为先承诺书(由公司/行业组织/联会签署)文本

有关”调解为先”承诺书中学生徽号及星徽设计比赛及优胜者名单,请按此处

在2019年“调解为先”承诺书活动上,大会首次向合资格的“调解为先”承诺人颁发星徽和星徽证书。此外,大会亦举行了社交媒体平台专页啓用仪式,标志律政司开通脸书LinkedIn微博专页,与市民直接沟通,包括宣传律政司在推广调解服务方面的措施。有关两年一度的 “调解为先”承诺书活动,请按此处

调解

“调解为先”承诺书及“ 调解为先”承诺书星徽奖励计划

2019 Event with SJ addressing the audience

2017年6月28日,香港特区政府与国家商务部在《内地与香港关于建立更紧密经贸关系的安排》的框架下签署投资协议(“《协议》”),以促进和保护两地之间的投资。《协议》订明投资争端调解机制,处理一方投资者指称另一方因违反《协议》中实体性义务而导致其蒙受损失的投资争端。

根据投资争端调解机制,香港和内地各自指定负责解决投资争端的调解机构及调解员,并公布经双方共同认可的调解机构及调解员名单。有关名单已在2018年12月14日公布。

至于香港指定的调解员,他们须符合一套资格准则,当中的规定包括他们须具备国际或跨境贸易及投资方面的必要专业知识或相关法律知识。律政司亦已拟备一套调解规则,供香港特区指定的调解机构及调解员采用。

投资争端调解机制将有助推动更广泛使用调解以解决跨境争端。

律政司与国际投资争端解决中心及亚洲国际法律研究院于2018年10月合办亚洲首届“投资法暨国际投资争端调解技巧培训课程”。

在《内地与香港关于建立更紧密经贸关系的安排》下于2017年6月28日签订的投资协议,订定调解为解决争议的途径。上述培训课程是律政司的其中一项主导项目,目的是将香港发展成为国际投资法及国际投资争端调解技巧培训基地,为亚洲区建构处理国际投资争端的调解员团队。 为期一周的培训课程反应热烈,吸引来自世界各地约五十位参与者,包括中国内地、东南亚国家联盟成员国、中东、非洲、南美和香港的政府官员、以及本地和海外的法律及调解从业员等,首度在亚洲共聚一堂,作专业交流。

律政司会继续举办此培训课程。

2018培训课程相片

为调解而设的专有设施西九龙调解中心于2018年11月8日举行开幕典礼,调解先导计划亦同步正式启动,标志着政府致力推广调解服务,加强公众对调解的认识。调解先导计划由政府委任的独立统筹机构联合调解专线办事处负责,于西九龙调解中心运作,为适合调解的小额钱债审裁处案件及其他合适案件的争议各方提供调解服务。

西九龙调解中心

律政司于2018年10月与国际商会-香港区会合办了国际商事调解比赛香港(“比赛”)。是项调解比赛侧重于国际商事调解中的调解谈判技巧,是开放给本地及海外大学生参加。专业的调解员受邀担任比赛的志愿评审员或调解员。在比赛中胜出的队伍获赞助到巴黎参加在当地举行的国际商会国际商事调解比赛。是项比赛不单能教导香港的下一代了解调解所带来的好处,亦能提升香港作为亚太区主要国际法律及争议解决中心的地位。

律政司会继续协办是项调解比赛。

 国际商事调解比赛香港2018-1

国际商事调解比赛香港2018-2

国际商事调解比赛香港2018-3