Access to Court

Litigation is a legal process by which the disputes between the parties to the litigation are adjudicated by a judge/judicial officer sitting in a court or tribunal. The rights of access to the courts and to seek judicial remedies are fundamental rights enjoyed by Hong Kong people and are protected under the Basic Law and the Hong Kong Bill of Rights Ordinance (Chapter 383).

Civil Proceedings

Civil proceedings may be instituted by any persons against an individual, a corporation or the government on private law grounds. Civil proceedings may also be instituted to challenge the constitutionality of a piece of legislation or any statutory provision or the legality of any act, decision or policy of the government by way of judicial review on public law grounds.

The legal system in Hong Kong is based on common law. The litigation process is generally an adversarial one during which opposing parties act as adversaries seeking to convince the Court or tribunal that their version of events or their legal submissions should prevail over those of the other side.

Private law applies to civil proceedings instituted against an individual, a corporation or the government in matters concerning rights under the law of contract, tort, property, etc. Private law remedies generally available include:

Public law regulates, among others, the relationships between the government (including public authorities) and individuals. By judicial review proceedings, the Court of First Instance may review the exercise of any public decision-making power or any refusal to exercise such power. Generally speaking, judicial review is concerned with the legality rather than the merits of the impugned decision and the Court will not substitute its opinion.

There are three traditional grounds for judicial review; namely, (a) illegality; (b) irrationality; and (c) procedural impropriety.

If an applicant succeeds in his application for judicial review, the Court has the discretionary power to grant a form of final relief appropriate to the circumstances, including an order of mandamus (to perform an act), prohibition or certiorari (to bring up and quash a decision), an injunction, a declaration (as to legal rights) or an award of damages, as the case may be.

This Department published “The Judge Over Your Shoulder – A Guide to Judicial Review for Administrators” (3rd Edition) in May 2019. It serves as a general reference for understanding judicial review proceedings. Please click here.

Civil procedures are mostly governed by legislation including the High Court Ordinance and Rules of the High Court (Chapter 4 and 4A), and the District Court Ordinance and Rules of the District Court (Chapter 336 and 336H). Substantial amendments thereto came into force in 2009, implementing the recommendations set out in the final report of the Chief Justice’s working party on civil justice reform (2004), which were made after lengthy and detailed consideration and wide consultation of stakeholders.

The underlying objectives of the Court Rules, as amended, are to increase the cost-effectiveness of court practices and procedures, to ensure expeditious case disposal, to promote a sense of reasonable proportion and procedural economy in the conduct of proceedings, and to facilitate settlement of disputes, etc. The Courts are obliged to manage cases actively. Active judicial case management includes:

Concerning reciprocal enforcement of judgments between the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and other jurisdictions, please click here.

Court Decisions

The Courts follow the doctrine of precedents by which a lower Court is bound to follow the ratio decidendi (i.e. the legal precept applied by the Court in resolving the issues before the Court) of a judgment by a superior Court. Court decisions become part of the common law of Hong Kong. Upon the resumption of the exercise of sovereignty over Hong Kong by the People’s Republic of China in 1997, the source of common law available to Hong Kong is no longer limited to English Court decisions or common law as the Basic Law provides that Hong Kong Courts may refer to precedents of other common law jurisdictions. Subject to Court’s directions or orders otherwise, Court decisions are generally made public and accessible online via the Judiciary’s website at https://www.judiciary.hk/en/judgments_legal_reference/judgments.html. In addition, this Department has made available in this website “Notable Judicial Judgments for the Past 12 Months” and “Summaries of Notable Judgments” for easy reference. Please click here.

Appellate Structure

Subject to relevant law and procedures, appeals from decisions of the Court of First Instance in civil proceedings can be brought to the Court of Appeal and, subject to leave, the Court of Final Appeal, which is the apex of the Court system. The Court of Final Appeal is vested with the “power of final adjudication” by Article 82 of the Basic Law. For an overview of the Court of Final Appeal, how cases come before it, its distinctive Court procedures, or a brief history of the Court of Final Appeal building, please click on the following link: https://www.hkcfa.hk/en/home/index.html.

Statutory Boards and Tribunals

In addition to the Court system in Hong Kong, a number of boards and tribunals are set up under various statutes to provide redress on areas affecting the livelihood or businesses of individuals/corporations, for instance, licensing matters, tax appeals and town planning issues. These boards and tribunals operate under the relevant governing legislative provisions which also provide for the specific rules and procedures. These bodies may be constituted by members drawn from the community as opposed to professional judges, and serve to resolve issues in an expeditious and less expensive manner. Examples are: Administrative Appeals Board, Municipal Services Appeal Board, the Appeal Tribunal (Buildings Ordinance), etc.

Availability of Legal Aid

In line with the public policy to ensure access to justice, the Legal Aid Department provides legal aid to any person who has reasonable grounds for pursuing or defending a legal action but would otherwise be prevented from doing so because of a lack of means. Generally speaking, legal aid is available in both civil and criminal proceedings subject to a means and merits test and except for certain excluded proceedings. Eligible persons are provided with legal aid either free or, depending on their financial circumstances, upon payment of a graduated contribution. For details, please visit the website of the Legal Aid Department by clicking on the following link: https://www.lad.gov.hk/index.html.

Other Legal Assistance Schemes in Hong Kong

Government Initiatives

Private Sector Initiatives

向法院提起诉讼

诉讼是指法官/司法人员在法庭或审裁处开庭审理与讼各方之间争议的法律程序。香港人享有向法院提起诉讼及寻求司法补救的基本权利,该等权利受到《基本法》和《香港人权法案条例》(第383章)保障。

民事法律程序

任何人可根据私法,针对个人、法团或政府提出民事法律程序。民事法律程序也包括,就某条法例或任何法例条文是否合宪,或者政府的任何行为、决定或政策是否合法,根据公法提出司法复核。

香港的法律制度以普通法为基础。诉讼程序一般采取对辩形式,由与讼各方对辩,寻求说服法庭或审裁处信纳己方而非另一方提出的案情版本或法律陈词。

私法适用于就关乎在合约法、侵权法、财产法等之下权利的事宜向个人、法团或政府提出的民事法律程序。可寻求的私法补救一般包括:

公法规管的范围函盖政府(包括公共主管当局)与个人之间的关系。原讼法庭可在司法复核法律程序中复核任何行使或拒绝行使公共决策权力的决定。一般来说,司法复核着眼于被质疑决定的合法性而非其是非曲直,法庭也不会以其意见取代作出决定者的意见。

传统上,提出司法复核理由有三,即(a)不合法;(b)不合理;及(c)程序不当。

如申请人成功申请司法复核,法庭有酌情权视乎情况批予合适形式的最终济助,包括履行义务令(履行义务)、禁止令或移审令(提出及撤销某项决定)、强制令、声明(关于法律权利)或给予损害赔偿。

律政司在2019年5月发布《司法复核概论—给政府机关行政人员的指南》(第三版),提供有助了解司法复核法律程序的参考资料,请按此连结

民事程序主要受法例规管,包括《高等法院条例》及《高等法院规则》(第4及4A章)和《区域法院条例》及《区域法院规则》(第336及336H章)。上述法例的重大修订在2009年生效,旨在实施终审法院首席法官辖下民事司法制度改革工作小组最后报告书(2004年)载列的建议。该等建议经过长时间仔细考虑,并广泛咨询持份者。

《高等法院规则》及《区域法院规则》经修订後,其基本目标为提高法庭常规及程序的成本效益、确保案件尽速处理、提倡在进行法律程序中举措与案情相称及程序精简的意识,以及利便解决争议等。法院有责任积极管理案件。积极的司法案件管理包括:

关於香港特别行政区与其他司法管辖区的相互执行判决事宜,请按此处

法院裁决

法院遵循判例原则,意思是下级法院须遵从上级法院判决的判案理由(ratio decidendi,即法院在解决席前问题时所应用的法律准则)。法院裁决成为香港普通法的一部分。自从中华人民共和国在1997年对香港恢复行使主权後,由于《基本法》订明香港法院可参考其他普通法适用地区的司法判例,故此可供香港采用的普通法来源不再局限于英国法院裁决或普通法。除非法院另有指示或命令,其裁决一般对外公开,并可透过司法机构网站在网上查阅,请按此连结。此外,律政司也在本网站提供“过去12个月的重要判决”和“选定的重要判决摘要”以便参考,请按此连结

上诉机制

按照相关法律及程序,原讼法庭在民事法律程序中所作的决定可上诉至上诉法庭,以及如获批许可,可上诉至作为整个法院制度最高级别的终审法院。终审法院根据《基本法》第八十二条获授予“终审权”。终审法院概述、案件如何到达终审法院、终审法院的独特法庭程序,以及终审法院大楼简史,载于以下连结:https://www.hkcfa.hk/sc/home/index.html

法定委员会及审裁小组

香港除设有法院制度外,还根据不同法例设立多个委员会和审裁小组,就影响民生或个人/法团业务的不同范畴(例如发牌事宜、税务上诉和城市规划事宜)提供纠正渠道。这些委员会和审裁小组根据相关的规管法例条文运作,该等条文也就具体规则和程序作出规定。这些机构可由社会人士(而非专业法官)组成,并旨在以较相宜的方式迅速解决问题。例子包括:行政上诉委员会、市政服务上诉委员会、上诉审裁小组(《建筑物条例》)等。

提供法律援助

为配合确保公众能寻求公义的公共政策,法律援助署向任何具有合理理据但因缺乏经济能力而无法提出诉讼或抗辩的人士提供法律援助。一般而言,除某些被豁除的法律程序外,法律援助适用于民事和刑事法律程序,惟申请人须通过经济和案情审查。合资格人士可获提供法律援助,费用全免或视乎其经济状况按比例收取。相关详情载于法律援助署网站,连结如下:https://www.lad.gov.hk/index.html

香港其他法律援助计划

政府措施

私营机构措施