To pursue the objective of effective implementation of the "one country, two systems" principle, the Department of Justice has taken steps to develop mutual legal assistance between the Mainland and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) so that disputes with cross boundary elements could be dealt with more effectively.

Under Article 95 of the Basic Law, the HKSAR "may, through consultations and in accordance with law, maintain juridical relations with the judicial organs of other parts of the country, and they may render assistance to each other".

Expand AllCollapse All

Apart from the arrangement on mutual enforcement of arbitral awards signed in June 1999, in accordance with the provision of Article 95 of the Basic Law and through mutual consultation between the Supreme People's Court and the HKSAR Government, arrangement has been made in July 2006 for the recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters pursuant to choice of court agreements made between the parties concerned (the "Choice of Court Arrangement"). Amendments to the Choice of Court Arrangement were made in February 2008 to reflect the new provisions in the amended Civil Procedure Law of the Mainland regarding the time limit for application for execution of judgments (by extending the time limit for an applicant to apply for recognition and enforcement of a judgment from one year (if one or both of the parties were natural persons) or six months (if both parties were legal persons or any other organizations) to a standardized period of two years).

The Choice of Court Arrangement covers money judgments given by a designated court of either the Mainland or the HKSAR exercising its jurisdiction in business-to-business agreements where the parties concerned have agreed in writing to designate a people's court of the Mainland or a court of the HKSAR as the forum to have sole jurisdiction for resolving such disputes. Apart from specifying the scope of cases and level of courts covered, the Choice of Court Arrangement also provides for grounds for refusal of enforcement which are similar to common law rules and those stipulated under the Foreign Judgments (Reciprocal Enforcement) Ordinance (Cap.319). Moreover, special procedures which are generally in line with the requirements laid down by Hong Kong courts are provided in the Choice of Court Arrangement to address the common law requirements of finality for enforcement of money judgments. Please click here for key features of the Choice of Court Arrangement.

To give effect to the Choice of Court Arrangement, the Mainland Judgments (Reciprocal Enforcement) Ordinance (Cap. 597) was enacted in April 2008 and came into effect on 1 August 2008 whereas the Supreme People's Court has promulgated the relevant judicial interpretation giving effect to the Choice of Court Arrangement in the Mainland.

The list of Primary People's Courts authorized to exercise jurisdiction of the first instance in civil and commercial cases involving foreign, Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan parties has been updated by the Supreme People’s Court and incorporated into the Choice of Court Arrangement as an annex thereto. The updated list of recognized Primary People’s Courts was published by the Secretary for Justice in the Gazette on 14 December 2018 (G.N. 9195) pursuant to section 25(1) of the Mainland Judgments (Reciprocal Enforcement) Ordinance (Cap. 597). Please refer to G.N. 4289 for the list of recognized Primary People’s Courts published by the Secretary for Justice in the Gazette on 25 July 2014.

The Choice of Court Arrangement will be superseded upon the commencement of the Arrangement on Reciprocal Recognition and Enforcement of Judgments in Civil and Commercial Matters by the Courts of the Mainland and of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (“REJ Arrangement”). However, the Choice of Court Arrangement will continue to apply to a “choice of court agreement” in writing made between the parties before the commencement of the REJ Arrangement.

To facilitate the reciprocal recognition and enforcement of civil judgments in matrimonial and family matters between HKSAR and the Mainland, the Arrangement on Reciprocal Recognition and Enforcement of Civil Judgments in Matrimonial and Family Cases by the Courts of the Mainland and of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region was signed between the Supreme People's Court and the HKSAR Government on 20 June 2017.

The Arrangement covers various types of matrimonial and family civil judgments, including decrees absolute of divorce, decrees absolute of nullity, maintenance orders, custody orders etc. made by the HKSAR courts and judgments on divorce, invalidity of marriage, spousal maintenance, custody of a child etc. given by the Mainland courts. Please click here for the key features of the Arrangement.

In order to give effect to the Arrangement in Hong Kong, the Mainland Judgments in Matrimonial and Family Cases (Reciprocal Recognition and Enforcement) Ordinance (Cap. 639) was enacted. Please click here for the text of the Ordinance. For details on the main provisions of the Ordinance, please click here.

The relevant court rules, which complement the operation of the Ordinance, as well as a commencement notice, in which the Secretary for Justice appointed 15 February 2022 as the day on which the Ordinance comes into operation, have been tabled before the Legislative Council for negative vetting. In the Mainland, the Arrangement will be implemented by way of judicial interpretation to be promulgated by the Supreme People’s Court. The Arrangement and the Ordinance do not have any retrospective effect.

The Arrangement on Reciprocal Recognition and Enforcement of Judgments in Civil and Commercial Matters by the Courts of the Mainland and of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region was signed between the Supreme People’s Court and the HKSAR Government on 18 January 2019. It is the sixth arrangement with the Mainland on mutual legal assistance in civil and commercial matters and the third arrangement providing for recognition and enforcement of judgments between Hong Kong and the Mainland in civil and commercial matters. It seeks to establish a bilateral legal mechanism with greater clarity and certainty for recognition and enforcement of judgments in a wider range of civil and commercial matters between the two places.

The Arrangement applies to matters considered to be of a “civil and commercial” nature under both Hong Kong and Mainland law. Non-judicial proceedings and judicial proceedings relating to administrative or regulatory matters are excluded. The Arrangement covers both monetary and non-monetary relief. It also sets out jurisdictional grounds for the purpose of recognition and enforcement as well as grounds for refusal of recognition and enforcement. Please click here for the key features of the Arrangement.

The Arrangement will be implemented by local legislation in Hong Kong. It will take effect after both places have completed the necessary procedures to enable implementation and will apply to judgments made on or after the commencement date.

The Record of Meeting of the Supreme People’s Court and the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region on Mutual Recognition of and Assistance to Bankruptcy (Insolvency) Proceedings between the Courts of the Mainland and of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region was signed between the Supreme People's Court and the HKSAR Government on 14 May 2021.

The Record of Meeting establishes a framework for cooperation between the High Court of the HKSAR and the relevant People’s Courts in corporate insolvency and debt restructuring matters. In particular,

  1. a HKSAR liquidator or provisional liquidator may apply to the relevant Intermediate People’s Court at a pilot area in the Mainland designated by the Supreme People’s Court for recognition of and assistance to insolvency and debt restructuring proceedings in the HKSAR; and
  2. a Mainland bankruptcy administrator may apply to the High Court of the HKSAR for recognition of and assistance to Mainland bankruptcy proceedings.

In connection with the Record of Meeting, the Department of Justice has issued for general reference a practical guide setting out the key features of the procedures for an application to the HKSAR court for recognition and assistance.

Regarding the implementation of the Record of Meeting in the Mainland, the Supreme People's Court has promulgated a set of opinion which provides detailed guidance to the relevant Mainland courts on implementation of the Record of Meeting. In such opinion, the Shanghai Municipality, Xiamen Municipality in Fujian Province and the Shenzhen Municipality in Guangdong Province have been designated as pilot areas for the new cooperation framework.

为有效落实“一国两制”的原则,律政司积极推动内地与香港特别行政区(香港特区)的司法协助,以便更有效地处理涉及两地的纠纷。

基本法》第九十五条规定,香港“可与全国其他地区的司法机关通过协商依法进行司法方面的联系和相互提供协助”。

全部展开全部折叠

除在1999年6月签订相互执行仲裁裁决的安排外,根据《基本法》第九十五条,最高人民法院与香港特区政府经协商後,在2006 年7月就当事人协议管辖的民商事案件判决的认可和执行问题作出安排(《协议管辖安排》)。2008年2月,为体现内地经修订的《民事诉讼法》中关于申请执行期限的新规定,政府修订《协议管辖安排》,将申请人申请认可和执行判决的期限由一年(若双方或一方当事人是自然人)或六个月(若双方是法人或其他组织),一律延长至两年。

协议管辖安排》 函盖由指定的内地法院或香港特区法院依据商业协约行使其司法管辖权所作出须支付款项的判决,而有关各方以书面同意指定内地人民法院或香港特区法院为唯一具管辖权审理纠纷的法院。除指明案件的范围及适用的法院等级外,《协议管辖安排》还订明拒绝执行判决的理由,而这些理由与普通法原则及《外地判决(交互强制执行)条例》(第319章)所订准则相若。此外,为符合普通法对涉及金钱最终判决的要求,《协议管辖安排》订明大致上符合香港法院规定的特别程序。请按此处下载《协议管辖安排》的主要内容。

为实施《协议管辖安排》,政府在2008年4月通过《内地判决(交互强制执行)条例》(第597章),并由2008年8月1日起生效,而最高人民法院则公布相关的司法解释,以便在内地执行《协议管辖安排》。

最高人民法院已更新内地经授权管辖第一审涉外、涉港澳台民商事案件的基层人民法院名单,更新後的名单已列入《协议管辖安排》附件。律政司司长在2018年12月14日根据《内地判决(交互强制执行)条例》(第597章)第25(1)条,在宪报公布经更新的认可基层人民法院清单(第9195号公告)。至于律政司司长在2014年7月25日在宪报公布的认可基层人民法院清单,请参阅第4289号公告。

《关于内地与香港特别行政区法院相互认可和执行民商事案件判决的安排》(《认可和执行判决安排》)自生效当日起会取代《协议管辖安排》,但《协议管辖安排》仍适用于当事人在《认可和执行判决安排》生效前订立的书面管辖协议。

为促进香港特区与内地之间相互认可和执行婚姻及家庭事宜的判决,最高人民法院和香港特区政府在2017年6月20日签订了《关于内地与香港特别行政区法院相互认可和执行婚姻家庭民事案件判决的安排》。

《安排》函盖各类型婚姻家庭民事案件的判决,包括香港特区法院作出的离婚绝对判令、婚姻无效绝对判令、赡养令、管养令等;以及内地法院作出关于离婚、婚姻无效、赡养配偶、抚养子女等的判决。有关《安排》的主要内容,请按此处

为了在香港实施《安排》,政府已制定《内地婚姻家庭案件判决(相互承认及强制执行)条例》(第639章)。请按此参阅《条例》文本(只有繁体中文版本)。有关《条例》的主要条文,请按此

配合《条例》运作的相关法院规则以及律政司司长指定《条例》于2022年2月15日实施的生效日期公告已提交立法会,按先订立后审议的程序制订。在内地方面,最高人民法院将会发布司法解释,实施《安排》。《安排》及《条例》没有追朔力。

最高人民法院和香港特区政府在2019年1月18日签订了《关于内地与香港特别行政区法院相互认可和执行民商事案件判决的安排》(《安排》)。该《安排》是第六份与内地关于民商事事宜的司法协助安排,以及第三份香港与内地相互认可和执行民商事案件判决的安排,旨在就香港与内地相互认可和执行更广泛范围的民商事判决,建立一套更清淅和明确的双边法律机制。

《安排》适用于香港及内地法律均视为“民商事”性质的事宜。非司法程序以及有关行政或规管事宜的司法程序均被豁除。《安排》函盖金钱和非金钱济助,同时订明关于管辖权的规定以及拒绝认可和执行的理由。有关《安排》的主要内容,请按此处

《安排》会透过本地法律实施,并会在两地均完成有关实施《安排》的所需程序後才生效。《安排》将适用于生效日或之后作出的判决。

最高人民法院和香港特区政府在2021年5月14日签订了《最高人民法院与香港特别行政区政府关于内地与香港特别行政区法院相互认可和协助破产程序的会谈纪要》

《会谈纪要》就有关公司清盘及债务重组事宜,订立香港特区高等法院及相关人民法院的合作机制。其中:

  1. 香港特区的清盘人或者临时清盘人可以就香港特区的清盘及债务重组程序,向最高人民法院指定的内地试点地区的有关中级人民法院申请认可及协助;及
  2. 内地破产管理人可以就内地破产程序,向香港特区高等法院申请认可及协助。

律政司就《会谈纪要》发布了实用指南以供参考,简述向香港特区法院申请认可及协助的有关程序的要点。

就在内地实施《会谈纪要》而言,最高人民法院已经颁布意见向相关内地法院提供实施《会谈纪要》的详细指引。在该意见中,上海市、福建省厦门市及广东省深圳市获指定为新合作框架的试点范围。