Expand AllCollapse All

Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (Greater Bay Area) comprises Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Macao Special Administrative Region, and the nine municipalities of Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Foshan, Huizhou, Dongguan, Zhongshan, Jiangmen and Zhaoqing in Guangdong Province.

The map of the Greater Bay AreaSymposium on the Outline Development Plan for the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area
Infrastructure to the Greater Bay Area

On 1 July 2017, the National Development and Reform Commission and the governments of Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao signed the Framework Agreement on Deepening Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Cooperation in the Development of the Greater Bay Area in Hong Kong, which sets out the objectives and principles of cooperation for the development of the Greater Bay Area. These include to consolidate and enhance Hong Kong’s status as international financial, transportation and trade centres, strengthen its status as a global offshore Renminbi business hub and an international asset management centre, promote the development of its professional services and innovation and technology industries, and establish a centre for international legal and dispute resolution services in the Asia-Pacific Region.

“The ABC to Building a Smart Belt and Road: Law and Artificial Intelligence, Block chain and Cloud” Legal Forum

On 18 February 2019, the Outline Development Plan for the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (“Outline Development Plan”) was promulgated. Specifically, in the Outline Development Plan, the development objectives relating to the legal and dispute resolution services of Hong Kong include:

  • To establish Hong Kong as a centre for international legal and dispute resolution services in the Asia-Pacific region and to support Hong Kong in becoming a service centre for resolving investment and commercial disputes relating to Belt and Road projects.
  • To promote alternative dispute resolution (including arbitration, mediation and consultation) as a means to resolve intellectual property disputes. To fully leverage the advantages of Hong Kong in intellectual property protection and related professional services.
  • To strengthen judicial exchanges and co-operation among Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao, promote the development of a multi-faceted dispute resolution mechanism that is based on wide consultation, joint contribution and shared benefits, provide quality, effective and convenient judicial services and protection for the development of the Greater Bay Area, and strive to create a business environment based on the rule of law. To refine the mechanism for international commercial dispute resolution, develop an international arbitration centre, support exchanges and co-operation among arbitration and mediation organisations in Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao, and provide arbitration and mediation services to the economic and trade activities in Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao.
  • To take forward the implementation of special liberalisation measures under CEPA for Hong Kong’s legal and dispute resolution services. To leverage the advantages of Hong Kong’s international professional services with respect to the legal and dispute resolution services, expand and optimise international service networks, and offer consultancy and information support to enterprises.
  • To expedite the development of the legal services industry, encourage and support legal services organisations in providing services for the Belt and Road Initiative and for Mainland enterprises going global, expand pilot areas for Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao law firms to operate in the form of partnership associations, study matters relating to practice qualification and scope of practice of Hong Kong and Macao legal practitioners in the nine Pearl River Delta municipalities, set up multi-faceted dispute resolution mechanism, and collaborate with Hong Kong to develop an international legal services centre and an international commercial dispute resolution centre.
“From Bay Area to International Arena” Hong Kong Legal Services Forum”

The legal profession in Hong Kong has been developing the Mainland market by utilising the liberalisation measures under the “Mainland and Hong Kong Closer Economic Partnership Arrangement”. The Department will continue to liaise with the legal and dispute resolution industry and to discuss with the relevant Mainland authorities to further deepen the liberalisation measures. The Department will also continue to explore the feasibility of the proposals on wider application of the Hong Kong laws, the choice of arbitration in Hong Kong and the expansion of the scope of practice of Hong Kong legal practitioners in the Greater Bay Area, and to study the feasibility of promulgation of a set of unified mediators’ accreditation standards, best practice for mediation rules and best practice for mediators’ code of conduct for the purpose of promoting further use of mediation in the Greater Bay Area.

According to the Agreement Concerning Amendment to the CEPA Agreement on Trade in Services signed by the Mainland and Hong Kong in November 2019, Hong Kong legal practitioners, upon passing a special examination, will be qualified to practise in specific areas to provide Mainland legal services in the nine Pearl River Delta municipalities in the Greater Bay Area. On 11 August 2020, the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress passed the decision on authorising the State Council on the implementation of pilot measures for Hong Kong and Macao legal practitioners to obtain Mainland practice qualifications and to practise as lawyers in the nine Pearl River Delta municipalities in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area. Specific pilot measures will be formulated and announced by the State Council.

Public-Private Partnerships Conference

The Department will strive to develop Hong Kong as an international legal services centre and an international commercial dispute resolution centre. In addition, the Department will promote alternative dispute resolution (including arbitration, mediation and consultation) as a means to resolve intellectual property disputes.

In order to refine the mechanism for international commercial dispute resolution, and to develop an international arbitration centre, the Department supports exchanges and co-operation among arbitration and mediation organisations in Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao, so as to provide arbitration and mediation services to the economic and trade activities in Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao. The Department has also established the Inclusive Dispute Avoidance and Resolution Office (IDAR Office) to help seize the valuable opportunities generated by the Greater Bay Area plan.

The Department works towards supporting Hong Kong in becoming a service centre for resolving investment and commercial disputes relating to Belt and Road projects.

For more details about Hong Kong’s legal and dispute resolution activities, please refer to the website of Legal Hub of Hong Kong Government.

The Department and the legal and dispute resolution industry organise exchange and training activities from time to time, where legal practitioners can share their experience. The Department will continue to put resources on capacity building and strengthen the co-operation with the organisations in the Greater Bay Area and internationally, so as to establish Hong Kong as a legal capacity building centre in the Greater Bay Area.

In September 2019, the Department and the High People’s Court of Guangdong Province signed a framework arrangement on exchange and mutual learning in legal aspects in the Greater Bay Area. The Arrangement aims to facilitate courts in Guangdong and relevant legal bodies in Hong Kong to launch legal projects on exchanges and collaboration.

"One country, two systems and three jurisdictions" are the unique characteristics of the Greater Bay Area, which present the opportunity for Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao to show their respective strengths and provide innovative and diversified legal services to enterprises in the Greater Bay Area.

In view of the above, the Department of Justice together with the Department of Justice, Guangdong and the Office of the Secretary for Administration and Justice of the Macao Special Administrative Region held the first Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Bay Area Legal Departments Joint Conference (the Joint Conference) in Hong Kong on 12 September 2019.

The main purpose for setting up the Joint Conference is, in accordance with the guiding directions set out in the Outline Development Plan for the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, to strengthen the legal exchanges and collaborations between Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao with a view to jointly promoting legal development in the Greater Bay Area, thereby providing more comprehensive and inclusive legal and dispute resolution services to enterprises.

At the meeting, the three parties agreed to establish a joint conference mechanism among the legal departments, which will be hosted in the three locations alternately to discuss work progress and research priorities on legal exchanges and collaboration. Specific proposals, including those relating to dispute resolution and choice of law in the Greater Bay Area, were also put forward during the meeting.

全部展开全部折叠

粤港澳大湾区(大湾区)由香港特别行政区、澳门特别行政区,以及广东省广州、深圳、珠海、佛山、惠州、东莞、中山、江门、肇庆九市组成。

大湾区地图《粤港澳大湾区发展规划纲要》宣讲会
连接大湾区的基建

2017年7月1日,国家发展和改革委员会与粤港澳三地政府共同签署《深化粤港澳合作 推进大湾区建设框架协议》,为大湾区建设订下合作宗旨和原则,包括巩固和提升香港国际金融、航运、贸易三大中心地位,强化全球离岸人民币业务枢钮地位和国际资产管理中心功能,推动专业服务和创新及科技事业发展,建设亚太区国际法律及解决争议服务中心。

“建构智能一带一路:法律与人工智能、区块链和云端 ”法律论坛

2019年2月18日,《粤港澳大湾区发展规划纲要》(《规划纲要》)正式公布。具体而言,《规划纲要》中与香港法律及争议解决服务相关的发展目标包括:

  • 建设亚太区国际法律及争议解决服务中心,并支持香港成爲解决“一带一路”建设项目投资和商业争议的服务中心。
  • 推动通过非诉讼争议解决方式(包括仲裁、调解、协商等)处理知识产权纠纷。充分发挥香港在知识产权保护及相关专业服务等方面的优势。
  • 加强粤港澳司法交流与协作,推动建立共商、共建、共享的多元化纠纷解决机制,为粤港澳大湾区建设提供优质、高效、便捷的司法服务和保障,着力打造法治化营商环境。完善国际商事纠纷解决机制,建设国际仲裁中心,支持粤港澳仲裁及调解机构交流合作,为粤港澳经济贸易活动提供仲裁及调解服务。
  • 推动在CEPA下对香港的法律及争议解决服务实行特别开放措施。发挥香港在法律及争议解决服务方面的国际化专业服务优势,扩展和优化国际服务网络,为企业提供咨询和信息支持。
  • 加快法律服务业发展,鼓励支持法律服务机构为“一带一路”建设和内地企业走出去提供服务,深化粤港澳合伙联营律师事务所试点,研究港澳律师在珠三角九市执业资质和业务范围问题,构建多元化争议解决机制,联动香港打造国际法律服务中心和国际商事争议解决中心。
“汇聚湾区 迈向国际”香港法律服务论坛

香港的法律专业界一直受惠于《内地与香港关于建立更紧密经贸关系的安排》下有关法律服务的各项开放措施,藉以开拓内地市场。律政司将继续与业界联系以及跟内地有关机关商讨,进一步深化各项开放措施。律政司亦会继续探讨在大湾区更广泛地适用香港法律、选用香港仲裁、扩大香港法律执业者业务范围的可行性,为推动大湾区进一步使用调解服务,律政司也会研究制订统一的调解员资格评审标准、调解规则最佳做法和调解员专业操守最佳准则的可行性。

根据2019年11月内地与香港签署关于修订《〈内地与香港关于建立更紧密经贸关系的安排〉服务贸易协议》的协议,香港法律执业者通过特定考试取得大湾区内地九市执业资质后,可从事特定范围的内地法律服务。全国人民代表大会常务委员会于2020年8月11日通过《关于授权国务院在粤港澳大湾区内地九市开展香港法律执业者和澳门执业律师取得内地执业资质和从事律师执业试点工作的决定》,具体试点办法将由国务院制定公布。

公司伙伴关系研讨会

律政司积极打造香港成为国际法律服务中心和国际商事争议解决中心。另外,律政司亦推动通过非诉讼争议解决方式(包括仲裁、调解、协商等)处理知识产权纠纷。

为完善国际商事纠纷解决机制,建设国际仲裁中心,律政司支持粤港澳仲裁及调解机构交流合作,为粤港澳经济贸易活动提供仲裁及调解服务。律政司亦已设立普惠避免及解决争议办公室(普惠办公室),以把握大湾区建设带来的难得机遇。

律政司支持香港成为解决“一带一路”建设项目投资和商业争议的服务中心。

如想了解更多与香港有关的法律及争议解决活动,请閲览香港特区政府法律枢钮网站。

律政司与法律及争议解决界不时举办交流及培训活动,以便法律执业者交流经验。律政司会继续投放资源于能力建设工作,加强与大湾区及国际组织的合作,将香港发展成为大湾区的法律能力建设中心。

2019年9月,律政司与广东省高级人民法院签署了一份关于大湾区法律交流与互鉴的框架安排。该安排旨在促进广东法院与香港有关法律机构推行法律项目上的交流与协作。

“一国两制”、三法域是大湾区的特点,让粤港澳有机会将优势体现,为大湾区的企业提供创新及多元化的法律服务。

有见及此,律政司联同广东省司法厅及澳门特别行政区行政法务司在2019年9月12日在香港举行首次粤港澳大湾区法律部门联席会议(联席会议)。

设立联席会议的主要目的是按照《粤港澳大湾区发展规划纲要》(《规划纲要》)的指导方向,加强粤港澳三地的法律交流和协作,共同推动大湾区法律建设工作,为企业提供更全面和完善的法律及争议解决服务。

会上,三方同意确立法律部门联席会议的制度,由三地轮流召开,就法律交流和协作事项商讨工作进展和研究工作重点。会上也提出了一些具体建议,包括有关在大湾区解决争议及适用法律的事宜。