Nature of the Basic Law

The Basic Law of the HKSAR was enacted by the National People's Congress in accordance with Article 31 of the Constitution of the People's Republic of China. It is the constitutional document of the HKSAR. It was promulgated on 4 April 1990 and took effect on 1 July 1997 on the establishment of the HKSAR. All the systems and policies practised in the HKSAR must be based on the provisions of the Basic Law. These include the social and economic systems; the system for safeguarding the fundamental rights and freedoms of its residents; the executive, legislative and judicial systems; and the relevant policies. Furthermore, no law enacted by the legislature of the HKSAR may contravene the Basic Law.

The most prominent feature of the Basic Law is the underlying principle of "one country, two systems" whereby the socialist system and policies shall not be practised in the HKSAR, and the previous capitalist system and way of life is to remain unchanged for 50 years.

Under the Basic Law, the laws previously in force in Hong Kong (that is, the common law, rules of equity, ordinances, subordinate legislation and customary law) shall be maintained, except for any that contravene the Basic Law and subject to any amendment by the HKSAR legislature. National laws of the People's Republic of China shall not be applied in the HKSAR except for a number of such laws relating to defence and foreign affairs as well as other matters outside the limits of the autonomy of the Region under the Basic Law which are listed in Annex III to the Basic Law.

Relationship between the Central Authorities and the HKSAR

The National People's Congress through the Basic Law authorises the HKSAR to exercise a high degree of autonomy directly under the Central People's Government. The HKSAR enjoys executive, legislative and independent judicial power, including that of final adjudication, in accordance with provisions of the Basic Law. Although foreign affairs relating to the HKSAR are the responsibility of the Central People's Government, the HKSAR is authorised to conduct relevant external affairs on its own in accordance with the Basic Law. The Central People's Government is also responsible for the defence of the HKSAR, but the responsibility of maintaining public order in the HKSAR is a matter for its government.

Fundamental rights protected by the Basic Law

The Basic Law details the fundamental rights, freedoms and duties of the residents of the HKSAR. These rights include the right to equality before the law; freedom of speech, of the press and of publication; freedom of association, of assembly, of procession and of demonstration; and the right and freedom to form and join trade unions, and to strike; freedom of movement; freedom of conscience; and freedom of religious belief. The Basic Law also guarantees that the provisions of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights; the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights; and the international labourconventions as applied to Hong Kong shall remain in force.

The political structure of the HKSAR

The Chief Executive is the head of the HKSAR and is accountable to the Central People's Government and the HKSAR. He or she is assisted in policy making by the Executive Council of the HKSAR. The Chief Executive presides over the Executive Council and appoints its members.

The main powers and functions of the Government of the HKSAR (which is headed by the Chief Executive) include the formulation and implementation of policies, the conduct of administrative affairs and the drawing up and introduction of budgets and bills.

The HKSAR's legislature is the Legislative Council, and the Basic Law prescribes the specific method for forming the Legislative Council and its procedures for voting on bills and motions. Under the Basic Law, the Legislative Council's functions include the making of laws, approving budgets and public expenditure and monitoring the work of the government in general.

Back

《基本法》的性质

《香港特别行政区基本法》由全国人民代表大会根据《中华人民共和国宪法》第三十一条制定,是香港特区的宪制性文件,于1990年4月4日公布,并自1997年7月1日香港特区成立时实施。香港特区的所有制度和政策,包括社会及经济制度、有关保障居民基本权利和自由的制度,行政管理、立法和司法方面的制度,以及有关政策,必须以《基本法》的规定为依据。此外,香港特区立法机关制定的任何法律,均不得与《基本法》相抵触。

《基本法》的最大特色,便是“一国两制”的基本原则。在这原则下,香港特区不实行社会主义制度和政策,保持原有的资本主义制度和生活方式,五十年不变。

根据《基本法》,香港原有法律(即普通法、衡平法、条例、附属立法和习惯法),除同《基本法》相抵触或经香港特区的立法机关作出修改者外,予以保留。中华人民共和国的全国性法律,除列于《基本法》附件三有关国防和外交的法律和其他按《基本法》规定不属于香港特别行政区自治范围的法律外,不在香港特区实施。

中央和香港特区的关系

全国人民代表大会通过《基本法》,授权香港特区实行高度自治,直辖于中央人民政府。香港特区依照《基本法》的规定,享有行政管理权、立法权、独立的司法权和终审权。虽然中央人民政府负责管理与香港特区有关的外交事务,但授权香港特区依照《基本法》自行处理有关的对外事务。中央人民政府也负责管理香港特区的防务;维持社会治安的责任,则由香港特区政府承担。

《基本法》保障的基本权利

《基本法》详细载列香港特区居民的基本权利、自由和义务。有关权利包括:在法律面前一律平等的权利;言论、新闻和出版的自由;结社、集会、游行和示威的自由;组织和参加工会、罢工的权利和自由;迁徙的自由;信仰自由及宗教信仰的自由。《基本法》也保证《公民权利和政治权利国际公约》、《经济、社会与文化权利的国际公约》和国际劳工公约适用于香港的有关规定继续有效。

香港特区的政治体制

行政长官是香港特区的首长,对中央人民政府和香港特区负责。香港特区行政会议协助行政长官决策。行政长官主持行政会议,并委任其成员。

香港特区政府的首长是行政长官,政府的主要职权包括:制定并执行政策、管理各项行政事务、编制拟定并提出财政预算及法案。

香港特区的立法机关是立法会而《基本法》就立法会产生的具体办法和法案、议案的表决程序作出了规定。根据《基本法》,立法会的职能主要包括制定法律、通过财政预算及公共开支,以及监察政府整体工作。

返回