The Legislative Council is the legislature of the HKSAR. Articles 66 to 79 of the Basic Law provide for, among other matters, the Legislative Council’s formation, term of office, powers and functions. The main functions of the Legislative Council are to enact, amend or repeal laws; examine and approve budgets, taxation and public expenditure; and raise questions on the work of the government. In addition, the Legislative Council is also given the power to endorse the appointment and removal of the judges of the Court of Final Appeal and the Chief Judge of the High Court, as well as the power to impeach the Chief Executive.

The Legislative Council has 70 Members, with 35 Members returned by geographical constituencies through direct elections, and 35 Members by functional constituencies. The President of the Legislative Council is elected by and from among Members of the Legislative Council. Except for the first term, the term of office of the Legislative Council of the HKSAR is four years. The sixth term commenced on 1 October 2016. Due to the severe COVID-19 epidemic situation, the Chief Executive in Council has decided to postpone the 2020 Legislative Council General Election, originally scheduled for September 6, 2020, for a year to September 5, 2021, in order to protect public safety and public health as well as ensure elections are conducted openly and fairly. According to the decision made by the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress on 11 August 2020, the sixth-term Legislative Council of the HKSAR will continue to discharge its duties for no less than one year until the commencement of the seventh-term Legislative Council. The decision also stated clearly that the seventh-term Legislative Council of the HKSAR will have a term of four years after it has been formed in accordance with the law.

The Legislative Council normally meets weekly. Its business includes: tabling of subsidiary legislation and other papers; reports and addresses; questions; bills; and motion debates. From time to time, the Chief Executive attends a special Council meeting to deliver a policy address and to answer questions on the work of the Government from Members. All Council meetings are open to the public and the proceedings are recorded in the Official Record of Proceedings of the Legislative Council (Hansard), and are broadcast live on the Legislative Council website.

Through a committee system, Members of the Legislative Council perform the important functions of scrutinizing bills, approving public expenditure and monitoring the Government's work. There are three standing committees (Finance, Public Accounts and Members' Interests). Bills Committees are formed by the Legislative Council House Committee as the need arises to study legislative proposals. There are also 18 Legislative Council Panels which receive regular briefings from the Government and examine the effectiveness of Government policies and measures.

The Legislative Council Redress System receives and handles complaints from members of the public who are aggrieved by Government actions or policies. It also deals with public representations on Government policies and legislation as well as other matters of public concern.

Back

立法会是香港特区的立法机关。《基本法》第六十六至七十九条就立法会订立多项规定,包括其产生办法、任期和职权。立法会的主要职能包括制定、修改和废除法律;审核和通过财政预算;审批税收和公共开支;以及对政府的工作提出质询。此外,立法会也获赋权同意终审法院法官和高等法院首席法官的任免,并有权弹劾行政长官。

立法会由70名议员组成,其中35名议员经分区直接选举产生,其余35名议员经功能团体选举产生。立法会主席由立法会议员互选产生。除第一届外,香港特区立法会每届任期四年。第六届任期由2016年10月1日开始。鑑于2019冠狀病毒病疫情嚴峻,為了保障公共安全和市民健康,並確保選舉在公開、公平情況下進行,行政長官會同行政會議已決定將原定于2020年9月6日舉行的二○二○年立法會換屆選舉押後一年至2021年9月5日舉行。根據全國人大常委會在2020年8月11日作出的決定,香港特區第六屆立法會繼續履行職責,不少于一年,直至第七屆立法會任期開始為止。決定並明確香港特區第七屆立法會依法產生後,任期仍為四年。

立法会通常每星期都开会处理事务,包括在会议上提交附属法例及其他文件;提交报告及发言;提出质询、审议法案和动议辩论。行政长官不时出席立法会的特别会议,以发表施政报告和解答议员对政府工作提出的质询。立法会所有会议均公开让市民旁听。会议过程记录在《立法会会议过程正式纪录》,也会在立法会网站直播。

立法会议员透过委员会制度,履行审议法案、批准公共开支和监察政府工作等重要职能。立法会辖下有三个常设委员会,分别是财务委员会、政府帐目委员会和议员个人利益监察委员会。有需要时,立法会内务委员会会成立法案委员会研究立法建议。此外,立法会下设18个事务委员会,定期听取政府的简报,并审核政府政策和措施的成效。

立法会设有申诉制度,接受并处理市民就政府措施或政策感到受屈而提出的申诉。申诉制度也处理市民就政府政策、法例及其他公众关注事项提交的申述。

返回