It is the policy initiative of the Department of Justice (DoJ) to nurture legal talents through continuous provision of training opportunities including secondment arrangements with international organisations. By participating in the work of such organisations, local legal talent will expand their knowledge of the operation of international organisations, broaden their horizons through learning from international law experts, and inject a Hong Kong perspective in shaping the development of international law.

Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH)

Since December 2020, a standing arrangement has been put in place with the HCCH for seconding Hong Kong legal professionals in both the public and private sectors to the Permanent Bureau of the HCCH at The Hague, the Netherlands. This arrangement was made pursuant to an agreement concluded between the Central People’s Government and the HCCH, and a memorandum of understanding signed between the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSARG) and the HCCH on 22 December 2020.

For details concerning the secondment programme with the HCCH, please click here.

An online information session on the secondment programme was held on 28 April 2022. Please click here for the video recording of this information session (with PowerPoint Slides).

Useful Information and Resources

The International Institute for the Unification of Private Law (UNIDROIT)

In line with the above policy initiative, a standing agreement has recently been put in place with UNIDROIT for seconding Hong Kong legal professionals in both the public and private sectors to the Secretariat of UNIDROIT in Rome, Italy. This arrangement has been made pursuant to an agreement concluded between the Central People’s Government and UNIDROIT, and a memorandum of understanding signed between the HKSARG and UNIDROIT on 12 May 2021.

For details concerning the secondment programme with UNIDROIT, please click here.

An online information session on the secondment programme was held on 27 April 2022. Please click here for the video recording of this information session (with PowerPoint Slides).

Useful Information and Resources

Application Procedures

Any legal professional who is eligible and interested in participating in any or both international organisations should complete the Application Form and submit it together with the required information to the Online Portal on or before 10 May 2022 (Tuesday).*

For enquiries, please contact the Department’s International Law Division by email at yentlchan@doj.gov.hk.

Other Secondment Opportunities

We shall continue to explore and discuss with other international organisations for secondment opportunities to Hong Kong legal professionals in both the public and private sectors. Updated information on other arrangements will be available at this webpage in due course.




* For legal officers in the Government, please contact your Departmental Secretary for application.

律政司政策措施一貫為替法律人才提供持續培訓機會,包括與國際組織作出借調安排。參與該等國際組織的工作,不但可讓本地法律專業人員加深對國際組織運作的認識,向國際法律專家學習和拓闊視野,更讓香港可參與勾劃國際法的發展。

海牙國際私法會議(海牙會議)

自2020年12月,香港公私營界別法律專業人員借調往設於荷蘭海牙的海牙會議常設局之恆常安排已就緒。該安排是根據中央政府與海牙會議達成的協定,以及香港特區政府與海牙會議於2020年12月22日簽訂的諒解備忘錄而設立。

關於海牙會議借調安排的詳情,請按此(只有英文版本)。

有關海牙會議借調安排的網上簡介會已於2022年4月28日舉行。按此觀看簡介會影片(連投影片)(只有英文)。

有用資訊及資源

國際統一私法協會

與上述政策措施一致,香港公私營界別法律專業人員借調往設於意大利羅馬的國際統一私法協會秘書處之恆常安排已就緒。該安排是根據中央政府與國際統一私法協會達成的協定,以及香港特區政府與國際統一私法協會於2021年5月12日簽訂的諒解備忘錄而設立。

關於國際統一私法協會借調安排的詳情,請按此 (只有英文版本)。

有關國際統一私法協會借調安排的網上簡介會已於2022年4月27日舉行。按此觀看簡介會影片(連投影片)(只有英文)。

有用資訊及資源

申請程序

任何合資格並有意參與以上任何一個或兩個借調安排的法律專業人員,請填妥相關申請表格(只有英文版本)*,並將填妥表格連同所需資料於2022年5月10日(星期二)或之前透過網上系統提交申請 。

如有查詢,請以電郵yentlchan@doj.gov.hk 與律政司國際法律科聯絡。

其他借調機會

律政司會繼續與其他國際組織探討和磋商,以期香港公私營界別法律專業人員可獲更多借調機會。有關其他借調安排的最新信息將適時在此網頁發佈。




* 在政府工作的法律人員,請就申請事宜與部門秘書聯絡