Government Counsel Grade

A career as Government Counsel in the Department of Justice offers a unique opportunity to apply and develop your professional ability in a diverse and challenging job, which would not be available in the private sector, including working with various bureaux, departments as well as enforcement agencies and participating in legal decisions and processes concerning matters of public importance. We invite applications from both newly qualified lawyers and those with experience. We offer considerable job satisfaction, competitive salaries and fringe benefits, with good prospects for promotion to higher positions.

Expand AllCollapse All

The Government Counsel Grade comprises the following six ranks -

Rank Pay Scale
Law Officer DL#6
Principal Government Counsel DL3
Deputy Principal Government Counsel DL2
Assistant Principal Government Counsel DL1
Senior Government Counsel MPS# 45-49
Government Counsel MPS 32-44

Government Counsel may be deployed to undertaking criminal advocacy, civil litigation, legal advisory work (criminal, civil and public international law), bilingual legislative drafting, commercial law, mutual legal assistance and legal policy work, etc. For operational or career development purposes, Government Counsel will be deployed to work in any offices/divisions of the Department of Justice, such as the Secretary for Justice’s Office, Civil Division, Constitutional and Policy Affairs Division, International Law Division, Law Drafting Division or Prosecutions Division.

Find out more about the Department's work at About us > Organisation.

PROMOTION PROSPECTS

Promotion will be made on the basis of character, ability, and experience. Depending on the merits of individual officers, generally a Government Counsel will be promoted to Senior Government Counsel in several years. The most capable and aspiring counsel will fill directorate positions in the longer run.

TRAINING

We attach great importance to staff development and training. To equip our counsel with the necessary knowledge and skills to discharge their duties more effectively and to prepare them for career advancement, we provide them with a wide range of training such as –

  • New recruits at Government Counsel rank will receive an induction course to help them attain a better understanding of their career as well as the structure and work of different divisions in the Department of Justice.
  • From time to time, legal, management and communication training (e.g. workshops and seminars) will be organised in-house, or conducted by local institutes and the Civil Service College for our counsel.
  • To keep abreast of the latest legal development, counsel will have opportunities to participate in a range of law seminars, conferences and law-related training programmes.
  • Counsel may be sponsored to attend law-related courses outside office hours on a course-fee refund basis.
  • Counsel may be nominated to attend national courses at Tsinghua University, Peking University and the Chinese Academy of Governance as well as foreign affairs study programmes and thematic study programmes in the Mainland of China, so as to strengthen their understanding of the law and the legal environment in the Mainland.
  • Counsel may be arranged to attend overseas conference / workshop or other training programme in relation to the legal field to widen their exposure and knowledge.
  • Training attachments to justice bureaux in the Mainland or other common law countries may be arranged for counsel to widen their experience and enhance their knowledge of different legal systems.

A new appointee to the Government Counsel rank will be appointed on civil service probationary terms for three years. Upon passage of probation bar, the officer may be considered for appointment on the prevailing permanent terms.

The entry pay for Government Counsel is the Master Pay Scale Point 32, currently $72,225. Subject to the prevailing situation, candidates may be considered for the granting of increments with additional relevant post-qualification experience above the stipulated minimum requirement. Counsel will also enjoy a range of fringe benefits, including paid leave, medical and dental benefits, and where appropriate, assistance in housing.

For the basic entry requirements for the Government Counsel rank, candidates –

  1. must be -
    1. solicitors admitted in a recognised jurisdiction as stipulated under Section 2A and Schedule 2 of the Legal Officers Ordinance Note (1); or
    2. barristers with one year’s professional experience since attaining the right to full practice in a recognised jurisdiction as stipulated under Section 2A and Schedule 2 of the Legal Officers Ordinance Note (1) and (2);
  2. must have a Level 2 result Note (3) in the Use of English Notes (4) and (5) paper and a Level 1 result in the Use of Chinese Note (4) paper in the Common Recruitment Examination (CRE). Candidates without the requisite CRE results but who have met the other entry requirements may also apply. Appointment will be subject to their obtaining Level 2 in the Use of English paper and Level 1 in the Use of Chinese paper of the CRE by the time of the appointment. Candidates who do not have Level 1 in the Use of Chinese paper of the CRE by the time of appointment may also be appointed. However, only a limited number of applicants who do not possess the requisite Chinese language proficiency may be appointed subject to the operational needs of the Department. Please visit Civil Service Bureau’s homepage at http://www.csb.gov.hk for details of the CRE; and
  3. must have a pass result in the Basic Law and National Security Law Test Note (6).
Notes :
  1. Trainee solicitors/pupil barristers may also apply. Their appointment, however, will be subject to their admission as solicitors/barristers with satisfactory completion of pupilage. Please refer to the recruitment advertisement for further details.
  2. Barristers with right to full practice but who do not possess one year’s professional experience since attaining the right to full practice may also apply. If selected, they will enter at an appropriate point below the minimum of the Government Counsel pay scale.
  3. The results of the Use of Chinese (UC) and Use of English (UE) papers in the CRE are classified as Level 2, Level 1 or Fail, with Level 2 being the highest.
  4. For civil service appointment purpose, Level 5 or above in Chinese Language of the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination (HKDSEE); or Grade C or above in Chinese Language and Culture or Chinese Language and Literature of the Hong Kong Advanced Level Examination (HKALE), are accepted as equivalent to Level 2 in the UC paper of the CRE. Level 4 in Chinese Language of the HKDSEE; or Grade D in Chinese Language and Culture or Chinese Language and Literature of the HKALE, are accepted as equivalent to Level 1 in the UC paper of the CRE. Besides, Level 5 or above in English Language of the HKDSEE; or Grade C or above in Use of English of the HKALE; or Grade C or above in English Language of the General Certificate of Education (Advanced Level) (GCE A Level), are accepted as equivalent to Level 2 in the UE paper of the CRE. Level 4 in English Language of the HKDSEE; or Grade D in Use of English of the HKALE; or Grade D in English Language of the GCE A Level, are accepted as equivalent to Level 1 in the UE paper of the CRE.
  5. Candidates with an overall band of 6.5 or above with no subtest score below band 6 obtained in the same sitting in the Academic Module of the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) within the two-year validity period of the test result are accepted as equivalent to Level 2 in the UE paper of the CRE.
  6. All applicants for civil service jobs will be assessed on their knowledge of the Basic Law and the National Security Law. A pass result in the Basic Law and National Security Law Test is an entry requirement for all civil service jobs. Only those candidates who have passed the Basic Law and National Security Law Test will be considered for appointment. For candidates who have not taken the relevant Basic Law and National Security Law Test or have not attained a pass result in the relevant Basic Law and National Security Law Test at the time of application, they may still apply for the job and arrangements will be made for them to take the relevant Basic Law and National Security Law Test during the recruitment process.

RECRUITMENT

The application period for the 2022 Government Counsel Recruitment Exercise ended on 9 September 2022. The next exercise will be advertised around August 2023.

Candidates interested in bilingual legislative drafting may be invited to attend a written test for assessing their aptitude in this area of work.

Enquiries can be made to Executive Officer (Personnel)5 or Senior Clerical Officer (Personnel)2 of the Department of Justice at 3902 8740 or 3902 8754 or to our Personnel Registry via email: pr@doj.gov.hk.

Back

政府律师职系

在律政司任职政府律师,工作多元化而具挑战性,并且有独特机会发挥及发展专业才能,包括与各决策局、政府部门和执法机关合作,以及就与公众有重大关系的事宜参与法律决定和过程。这些工作机会是私人执业所不能提供的。刚取得资格的律师和具工作经验的合资格律师,均可报考政府律师。有关工作有满足感,薪酬优厚,且享有多项附带福利,更有良好前境晋升至更高职位。请按此处浏览更多关于政府律师职位的资料。

全部展开全部折叠

政府律师职系由下列六个职级组成:

职级 职位数目
律政专员 首长级(律政人员)薪级第6点
首席政府律师 首长级(律政人员)薪级第3点
副首席政府律师 首长级(律政人员)薪级第2点
助理首席政府律师 首长级(律政人员)薪级第1点
高级政府律师 总薪级第45-49点
政府律师 总薪级第32-44点

政府律师可调派负责刑事讼辩、民事诉讼、提供法律意见(刑事、民事及国际公法)、草拟双语法例、商法、司法互助及法律政策等工作。基于职务上或职业培训的需要,政府律师或会在不同时间调派往律政司民事法律科、国际法律科、法律草拟科、宪制及政策事务科、刑事检控科等任何法律科别工作。

有关律政司工作的详细资料,请浏览关于我们 > 组织图

晋升机会

晋升选拔是以品格、能力及经验作为准则。视乎个人才干,政府律师一般可在数年内晋升为高级政府律师。长远而言,最具才干及抱负的律师会担任首长级职位。

培训

我们十分重视员工的发展及培训,并会安排各类型的培训课程,协助本司律师掌握工作所需的知识及技巧,以便更有效地履行职务,并为日后晋升作好准备。

  • 新招聘的政府律师职级人员会参加入职课程,让他们进一步认识本身职业及律政司各科别的架构和工作。
  • 本司、本地机构和公务员培训处会不时为本司律师举办法律、管理和传意课程(例如工作坊及研讨会)。
  • 本司律师会有机会参加各类法律讲座、会议及与法律相关的培训课程,以掌握法律方面的最新发展。
  • 律师可在获发还学费的资助下,在办公时间以外攻读与法律有关的课程。
  • 律师可获提名到内地参加清华大学、北京大学和国家行政学院的国家事务研习课程,以及修读外交事务研习课程和专题研习课程,以加强对内地法律及司法环境的了解。
  • 律师可获安排参加海外研讨会/工作坊或其他与法律界有关的培训计划,以扩阔视野,增广知识。
  • 律师可获安排到内地的司法局或其他普通法国家接受实习训练,以扩阔经验和加强对不同法律制度的认识。

获取录为政府律师的人士会按公务员试用条款受聘,试用期为三年。成功通过试用期的人员,可获考虑按当时适用的长期聘用条款受聘。

政府律师的入职薪酬为总薪级第32点,金额现为70,465元。视乎当时的情况,如申请人取得资格後的相关工作经验较规定的最低要求为高,或会获考虑给予额外增薪点。律师亦可享有各项附带福利,包括有薪假期、医疔及牙科福利。在适当情况下,更可获得房屋资助。

按政府律师职级的基本入职条件,申请人:

  1. 必须—
    1. 在《律政人员条例》注(1)第2A条及附表2所规定的认可司法管辖区内取得律师资格;或
    2. 在《律政人员条例》注(1)及(2)第2A条及附表2所规定的认可司法管辖区内取得大律师资格和全面执业权後,具备一年专业经验;以及
  2. 在综合招聘考试的英文运用注(4)及(5)试卷考获‘二级’成绩注(3),以及在中文运用注(4)试卷考获‘一级’成绩。未有取得所需综合招聘考试成绩但符合其他入职条件的人士,亦可提出申请。他们在获聘任时,必须已在英文运用试卷取得‘二级’成绩和在中文运用试卷取得‘一级’成绩,方会获聘。在综合招聘考试中文运用试卷未能考获‘一级’成绩的申请人,亦可能获聘。然而,只有少数中文能力未达所需要求的申请人可能获聘,视乎律政司的工作需要而定。有关综合招聘考试的详情,请浏览公务员事务局网页(http://www.csb.gov.hk)。
注:
  1. 实习律师和实习大律师亦可申请。但他们须完成有关训练,表现令人满意并取得律师或大律师资格,方会获聘。有关的详情,请参考招聘广告。
  2. 有全面执业权,但在取得全面执业权後并无1年专业经验的大律师亦可申请。如获取录,入职薪酬会定于某个适当的薪点,较政府律师薪级的起薪点为低。
  3. 综合招聘考试中文运用和英文运用试卷的成绩会分为‘二级’、‘一级’或‘不及格’,以‘二级’为最高。
  4. 香港中学文凭考试英国语文科第5级或以上成绩;或香港高级程度会考英语运用科C级或以上成绩;或General Certificate of Education (Advanced Level) English Language科C级或以上成绩,会获接纳为等同综合招聘考试英文运用试卷的二级成绩。此外,香港中学文凭考试中国语文科第4级成绩;或香港高级程度会考中国语文及文化、中国语言文学或中国语文科D级的成绩,会获接纳为等同综合招聘考试中文运用试卷的一级成绩。
  5. 申请人如在International English Language Testing System (IELTS)学术模式整体分级取得6.5或以上,并在同一次考试中各项个别分级取得不低于6的成绩,在IELTS考试成绩的两年有效期内,其IELTS成绩即视为符合政府律师职位有关英文能力的入职要求。
  6. 为提高大众对《基本法》的认知和在社区推广学习《基本法》的风气,所有公务员职位的招聘将包括一项基本法知识测试。学位/专业职系职位的申请人在基本法知识测试的表现,会用作评核其整体表现的其中一个考虑因素,但不会影响他/她申请公务员职位的资格。原则上,申请人的学历、经验和才能仍然是考虑其是否适合被聘用的主要因素。

招聘

2021年政府律师招聘申请已于2021年9月10日截止。下一次招聘的广告将大约在2022年8月刊登。

如有查询,请致电3902 8740或3902 8754与律政司行政主任(人事)5或高级文书主任(人事)2联系,或透过电邮联系人事组:pr@doj.gov.hk

返回