An overview

The Department plays a key role in the legal system of Hong Kong and in maintaining the rule of law. We handle criminal prosecutions; draft Government legislation; advise the Administration on a vast array of legal issues; and represent the Government in civil proceedings. We have over 400 lawyers and 900 supporting staff.

Our Work

The legal work of the Department is handled by six divisions: Civil Division, International Law Division, Law Drafting Division, Legal Policy Division, National Security Prosecutions Division and Prosecutions Division. Administrative support is provided by the Administration and Development Division. There is also the Secretary for Justice's Office which provides legal and administrative support to the Secretary for Justice.

For those who are looking for a challenging and meaningful career in which you can serve the community and put your professional expertise to good use, the Department of Justice would be your ideal choice. If you are prepared to take up the challenges, do sign up and we look forward to welcoming you to our big family.

Find out more about the Department's work at About us > Organisation.

Professional Development

Expand AllCollapse All

In addition to gaining hands-on knowledge from their everyday work, Counsel in the Civil Division receive training in areas of law relevant to the work of the Division. Speakers from local and overseas are regularly invited to speak on relevant topics such as administrative law, land, town planning and environmental law matters as well as new areas of law. Briefing sessions are held monthly to enable sharing of knowledge and practical skills by experienced in-house Counsel on selected subjects.

Counsel also have the opportunities to receive training in the Mainland and overseas to enhance their legal knowledge and exposure. The Division also provides training in advocacy for those who are interested in court appearance. This includes overseas advocacy training courses and placement in overseas barristers’ chambers. The In-house Civil Advocacy Course provides talks and mock hearings covering main areas of work of the Division, including civil trials and appeals, tribunal hearings, interlocutory applications and judicial reviews.

On the alternative dispute resolution aspect, in line with the Division’s work on implementing major initiatives in the promotion of wider use of mediation, Counsel attend the General Mediation Training Courses approved by the Hong Kong Mediation Accreditation Association Limited to enhance Counsel’s knowledge in mediation.

The International Law Division organises lectures and seminars from time to time on a variety of topics that are relevant to the Department’s work relating to international law. Recent talks conducted include the talk by Judge Liu Daqun, current Judge of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals, on the topic of "The Contribution of the United Nations ad hoc Tribunals to the Development of International Criminal Law", the lecture titled "A Standalone Appellate Mechanism as a Reform Option for ISDS Mechanism" given by Sir Christopher Greenwood, GBE, CMG, QC, current Member of the Iran-United States Claims Tribunal and former Judge of the International Court of Justice, and the talk by Mr. Jia Guide, Director-General of the Department of Treaty and Law of the PRC Ministry of Foreign Affairs, on the latest developments in international law.

The International Law Division also arranges its counsel to attend training within or outside Hong Kong for their professional development where appropriate.

Since few local lawyers have any experience in legislative drafting before joining the Law Drafting Division, the training of drafters is a priority for the Department. Drafts prepared by drafters are subject to clearance by directorate officers, which enables juniors to draw experience from seniors and accumulate skills.

Apart from providing on-the-job training, the division holds internal seminars, for which officers in the Department as well as external experts are invited to be speakers to share local and overseas drafting experience. In-house training also covers topics related to language issues and legal translation.

Regular monthly meetings for all counsel in the division are held to keep counsel updated on current issues relevant to the division and provide an easy means of knowledge sharing among counsel at all ranks in the division.

Drafters also participate in overseas legislative drafting conferences and undertake training attachments in other jurisdictions to broaden their horizons and maintain international connections.

Given the specialist nature of its work, professional training for counsel working in the Legal Policy Division is mostly provided in-house, with counsel gaining experience and exposure through handling a variety of work in the division, from legal advisory to policy work, organisation and attendance of major conferences, and participation in negotiations and committee work, etc. From time to time, internal training talks are provided on such topics as aspects of the Basic Law, human rights and rules of procedure of the Legislative Council. The division also arranges for counsel to attend external training courses locally and overseas for their professional development, where appropriate.

Advocacy is the core business of the Prosecutions Division. The Prosecutions Division aims to equip prosecutors, both in-house and those acting on fiat, with the necessary skills to conduct prosecutions to a high professional standard.

All new recruits are required to join an intensive 12-week Criminal Advocacy Course comprising lectures, mock court exercises and attachment to magistrates’ courts. Learning does not stop there however. Continuing Education Programmes, often in the form of seminars, are regularly offered to our prosecutors, helping them keep pace with the latest development in criminal law.

The Joint Training Programme, co-organised by the Prosecutions Division of the Department of Justice, the Hong Kong Bar Association and the Law Society of Hong Kong, is held twice every year for young lawyers in the private sector wishing to prosecute cases on behalf of the Department of Justice. The Prosecutions Division also provides training opportunities to prosecutors from other government departments and statutory bodies with delegated powers to prosecute cases summarily in the magistrates’ courts.

Our counsel are consistently sent out of Hong Kong to attend a wide range of international training courses to help them better discharge their duties in this age of ever closer cross-border cooperation in the combat of crime.

Existing job vacancies

Recruitment Closing Date Subject
  • There is at present no recruitment advertisement.

Career opportunities for legal professionals

Videos

Legal Trainee
Government Counsel

概览

律政司在香港的法律制度和维持法治方面担当重要角色。我们的职责包括处理刑事检控、草拟政府法例、就多个范畴的法律事宜向政府提供意见,以及在民事法律程序中代表政府。我们有超过400名律师和900名支持人员。

我们的工作

本司的法律工作由六个科别处理:民事法律科丶刑事检控科丶宪制及政策事务科丶法律草拟科丶国际法律科及维护国家安全检控科。政务及发展科负责行政支援,律政司司长办公室则向律政司司长提供法律和行政辅助。

如你正寻找具挑战和富意义的职业,从而可服务社会,亦能发挥专业所长,律政司会是你的理想选择。如你已准备好迎接挑战,请申请加入律政司,我们期待你成为这个大家庭的一分子。

有关律政司工作的详细资料,请浏览关于我们 > 组织图

专业发展

全部展开全部折叠

除了在日常工作中得到的实践知识,民事法律科的律师会接受与该科工作相关的法律培训。民事法律科定期邀请本地及海地的讲者举办主题讲座,例如行政法,土地,城市规划及环境法事宜,以及新的法律范畴。民事法律科亦会于每月举办工作简介会,让科内有经验的律师分享他们在特定工作范畴上的知识及实用技巧。

科内律师更有机会到内地及海外培训以扩阔其法律知识及视野。民事法律科亦为对法庭讼辩工作有兴趣的律师提供讼辩培训,包括海外讼辩课程以及到海外大律师事务所实习。科内的民事讼辩课程并会安排讲座和模拟聆讯,内容涵盖该科的主要工作范畴,包括民事审讯和上诉、审裁处聆讯、非正审申请和司法复核。

在替代争议解决方面,为配合民事法律科在推动更广泛使用调解,科内律师会参与获香港调解资历评审协会有限公司认可的调解训练课程,以提升他们在调解方面的知识。

刑事检控科以讼辩为核心工作,致力培训科内及外判检控人员,使他们具备所需技巧,以高度专业水平执行检控工作。

所有新入职人员均须参加为期12周的密集式刑事讼辩课程,内容包括课堂讲座、仿真法庭,以及派驻裁判法院实习。然而,修毕课程不代表完成学习。刑事检控科还定期举办持续进修课程,大多以研讨会形式进行,让检控人员掌握刑事法的最新发展,与时并进。

律政司刑事检控科每年与香港大律师公会和香港律师会合办两次联合培训课程,对象是有意替律政司执行检控工作的新晋私人执业律师。至于获授权在裁判法院循简易程序检控案件的其他政府部门和法定机构,刑事检控科也为其检控人员提供培训机会。

现今打击罪行较前更讲求紧密跨境合作。刑事检控科经常派科内律师到香港以外的地方参加各类国际培训课程,助其更有效履行职务。

鉴于宪制及政策事务科的工作性质专门,该科律师主要接受由内部提供的专业培训,透过在科内处理法律咨询以至政策工作、筹办和出席主要会议、参与谈判及委员会等不同类型的工作,汲取经验,增广识见。该科不时提供内部培训讲座,内容函盖《基本法》、人权及立法会议事规则等课题。如本地或海外有合适的外间培训课程,也会安排律师参加,以促进其专业发展。

由于鲜有本地律师在加入法律草拟科之前已具备法律草拟经验,本司视培训法律草拟人员为首要任务。草拟人员所草拟的文本须由首长级人员审阅,初级草拟人员可藉此汲取资深同僚的经验,积累技巧。

法律草拟科除提供在职培训外,亦会举行内部讲座,邀请司内人员及外间专家担任讲者,分享本地和海外的法律草拟经验。内部培训的课题亦涵盖语文问题和法律翻译。

法律草拟科每月举行定期全体律师会议,让律师得知与本科相关的最新事宜,并提供渠道让科内各级律师可轻易分享知识。

法律草拟人员也参加海外的法律草拟会议,和到其他司法管辖区参与培训实习,以扩阔视野和保持在国际间的联系。

国际法律科不时举办主题与律政司国际法律工作相关的讲座和研讨会。近期举办的讲座包括现任联合国刑事法庭余留事项国际处理机制法官刘大群法官以“联合国临时法庭对国际刑事法律发展的贡献”为题的演讲;前任联合国国际法院法官、现任伊朗─美国求偿法庭成员Christopher Greenwood爵士, 御用大律师, 大英帝国爵级大十字勋章, 圣米迦勒及圣佐治同袍勋章主持题为“单独的上诉机制作为投资者与东道国间争议解决机制(ISDS)改革的一个方案”的讲座;以及中国外交部条约法律司贾桂德司长主讲有关国际法最新发展的讲座。

如情况合适,国际法律科也会安排该科律师参加本港或外地的培训,以协助其专业发展。

现有的职位空缺

招聘截止日期 标题
2021年10月06日

法律专业人员的就业机会

影片

见习律政人员
政府律师