The Belt and Road Initiative refers to the Silk Road Economic Belt and 21st Century Maritime Silk Road, a significant development strategy launched by the Central People’s Government with the intention of promoting economic co-operation among countries along the proposed Belt and Road routes. The Initiative has been designed to enhance the orderly free-flow of economic factors and the efficient allocation of resources. It is also intended to further market integration and create a regional economic co-operation framework of benefit to all.

The National Development and Reform Commission issued its Vision and Actions on Jointly Building the Silk Road Economic Belt and 21st Century Maritime Silk Road on 28 March 2015. This outlined the framework, key areas of co-operation and co-operation mechanisms with regard to the Belt and Road Initiative.

(Source: The Hong Kong Trade Development Council website)

Expand AllCollapse All
The inaugural Belt and Road Summit

In the “Outline of the 13th Five-Year Plan for the National Economic and Social Development of the People’s Republic of China” (March 2016), the dedicated chapter on Hong Kong and Macao expressly supports Hong Kong in establishing itself as a centre for international legal and dispute resolution services in the Asia-Pacific region as well as the participation of Hong Kong in the Belt and Road Initiative.

On 14 December 2017, the Arrangement between the National Development and Reform Commission and the HKSAR Government for Advancing Hong Kong’s Full Participation in and Contribution to the Belt and Road Initiative was signed, which expressed support for Hong Kong to provide legal and dispute resolution services for the Belt and Road Initiative.

Measures relating to legal services:

  • 132. The DoJ is committed to promoting Hong Kong as an international dispute resolution centre for the B&R Initiative. A task force has been set up to explore the establishment of a credible and neutral B&R Dispute Resolution Centre in Hong Kong, providing parties from all over the world with one-stop dispute resolution services to resolve a wide range of cross-border and international disputes, including commercial, trade and investment-related disputes. The centre will feature panels of international dispute resolution experts to offer dispute resolution solutions that accommodate the various cultures involved. It will also consider preparing a set of bespoke B&R dispute resolution rules.
  • 133. On the development of LawTech, the DoJ supports the development of a B&R e-arbitration and e-mediation platform by NGOs, so that Hong Kong will be able to provide efficient and cost-effective online dispute resolution services. The HKSAR Government will provide funding for the cost of development of this project.
The Secretary for Justice speaks at the Seminar on the Trend of Cross-border Commercial Dispute Resolution and the Belt and Road Initiative.

The Hong Kong SAR Government is very much committed to strengthening Hong Kong’s position as a deal-making hub and a leading centre for international legal and dispute resolution services in the Asia-Pacific region. This was underscored by the Chief Executive’s Policy Addresses in recent years and is one of the priorities of the DoJ.

To better cope with the challenges and to harness the additional opportunities offered by the Belt and Road Initiative, the Inclusive Dispute Avoidance and Resolution Office (IDAR Office) was established within the DoJ, which works directly under the steer of the Secretary for Justice, on 2 January 2019.

The IDAR Office's objective is to facilitate access to justice and provide equal opportunities for people from all walks of life and for all sectors of the economy without boundary, advancing Goal 16 of the United Nations 2030 Sustainable Development Goals in this region and beyond. Goal 16 emphasises the promotion of peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, the provision of access to justice for all and the building of effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels.

The IDAR Office organises, supports or participates in a variety of capacity building and promotional activities held in Hong Kong in order to raise the international profile of Hong Kong:

An Event on the Belt and Road Initiative Project

In order to strengthen the co-operation and exchange between the mediation professional bodies of Hong Kong and Shanghai, and to promote the use of mediation to resolve commercial disputes, the conference of "Development, Opportunities and Future of Mediation in Hong Kong, the Mainland China and World-wide cum the 4th Shanghai-Hong Kong Commercial Mediation Forum", co-organised by the Joint Mediation Helpline Office, the Hong Kong Mediation Council, the Shanghai Commercial Mediation Centre and the DoJ, was held in Hong Kong on 19 May 2018.

Cooperation and Exchanges

The DoJ and the Shanghai Municipal Bureau of Justice signed a co-operation agreement in August 2018 to promote exchange and co-operation between the legal professions in the two places, to enhance mutual support of the arbitration and mediation sectors, and to jointly promote arbitration and mediation. Exchanges and collaboration on the nurturing of talent of international arbitration and mediation will also be launched.

On 9 January 2019, the DoJ signed a Memorandum of Cooperation with the Ministry of Justice of Japan to strengthen the communication, collaboration and co-operation between the two sides on issues relating to international arbitration and mediation, including training and promotion of collaborative initiatives and exchanges, and to facilitate the development of services for international arbitration and mediation in Hong Kong and Japan.

To further develop Hong Kong into an international legal and dispute resolution skills training base, and following the introduction of the Mediation Mechanism for Investment Disputes in the Investment Agreement concluded under the framework of the Mainland and Hong Kong Closer Economic Partnership Arrangement, the Department will provide training for mediators in handling international investment disputes with a view to building up a team of international investment mediators in Asia to support resolution of investment disputes through mediation.

The DoJ, together with the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) and the Asia Academy of International Law, has organised the first international investment law and investor-State mediator training course in Hong Kong. The training course was held from 15 to 21 October 2018. The DoJ invited renowned speakers from the ICSID and the Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution (CEDR) to speak in the training course. There were about 50 mediation practitioners and government officials from Asia and overseas. Further rounds of such training will be conducted.

“一帶一路”,即“絲綢之路經濟帶”和“21世紀海上絲綢之路”,是中國對外發展的重要戰略。旨在推動沿線各國實現經濟政策協調,促進經濟要素有序自由流動、資源高效配置和市場深度融合,共同打造開放、包容、均衡、普惠的區域經濟合作架構。

中國國家發展和改革委員會 (“國家發改委”) 於2015年3月28日發布一份《推動共建絲綢之路經濟帶和21世紀海上絲綢之路的願景與行動》,概括地描述了“一帶一路”建設的框架思路、合作重點和合作機制。

(來源: 香港貿易發展局網頁)

全部展開全部折疊
首屆“一帶一路高峰論壇”

在2016年國家發布的《“十三五”規劃綱要》中,《港澳專章》支持香港參與“一帶一路”建設,明確提出支持香港建設亞太區國際法律及爭議解決服務中心。

2017年12月14日,國家發改委與香港特別行政區簽署《關於支持香港全面參與和助力“一帶一路”建設的安排》。該安排明確支持香港建設亞太區國際法律及爭議解決服務中心,為“一帶一路”建設提供國際法律和爭議解決服務。

有關法律服務的措施

  • 132. 律政司致力推動香港作為“一帶一路”的國際爭議解決服務中心,並已成立工作小組探討於香港成立具公信力和中立的“一帶一路”爭端解決機構,為世界各地的當事方提供“一站式”爭議解決服務,解決各類商貿和投資等跨境及國際爭議。該機構會設有國際性爭議解決專家名冊,提供包容當中所涉不同文化的爭端解決方案,亦會考慮擬備一套專設的“一帶一路”爭議解決規則。
  • 133. 就發展法律科技方面,律政司支持非政府機構籌建中的網上“一帶一路”仲裁及調解平台,促使香港提供便捷和具成本效益的網上爭議解決服務。特區政府會為此項目提供開發成本。
律政司司長在“一帶一路倡議及跨境商業爭議解決發展趨勢”研討會上致辭

香港特區政府致力鞏固香港作為亞太區主要國際法律及爭議解決服務中心和交易促成樞紐的地位,近年多份行政長官發表的《施政報告》都有所強調,律政司也以此為優先處理的工作之一。

為了更有效應對挑戰,把握“一帶一路”以及粵港澳大灣區建設規劃所帶來的額外機遇,律政司於2019年1月2日成立直接隸屬律政司司長的普惠避免及解決爭議辦公室(“辦公室”)

辦公室的目標,是無分界限地為各界人士和各行各業提供平等的機會,利便他們尋求司法公正,從而在區內外推展“聯合國2030年可持續發展目標”中的第16項目標。第16項目標着眼於創建和平與普惠包容的社會以促進可持續發展;讓所有人都能尋求司法公正;以及在各層面建立有效、負責任和普惠包容的機構。

辦公室的工作包括與其他司法管轄區和國際組織磋商和簽訂與國際仲裁及調解事宜有關的合作或伙伴安排。辦公室亦會在香港舉辦多項重要國際盛事和活動,並支持或鼓勵該等盛事和活動在本港舉行,以及在海外舉辦能力建設和推廣活動,以提升香港在促成交易和解決爭議方面的國際形象。律政司恆常在香港舉辦、支持或參與不同的能力建設和推廣活動,以提升香港的國際形象:

“一帶一路”建設的活動

為加強滬港兩地專業調解機構合作與交流,推廣以調解方式解決商事糾紛,由聯合調解專線辦事處、香港調解會、及上海經貿商事調解中心主辦,律政司協辦的“調解於一帶一路地區、內地及香港的發展、機遇與未來暨第四屆滬港商事調解論壇”於2018年5月19日在香港舉行。

“一帶一路” 合作與交流

2018年8月律政司與上海市司法局簽署合作安排,共同推動香港和上海律師交流合作,促進仲裁及調解業界相互支持,共同推廣仲裁和調解,加強仲裁調解人才培養等方面開展交流合作。

香港律政司與日本法務省於2019年1月9日簽訂合作備忘錄,加強雙方在有關國際仲裁和調解事宜上的溝通交流和合作,包括培訓方面的合作和信息交流,並推動兩地在國際仲裁和調解服務的發展。

為進一步推動香港成為國際法律及爭議解決的人力培訓中心,以及隨著《內地與香港關於建立更緊密經貿關係的安排》框架下《投資協議》的投資爭端調解機制的建立,律政司會為調解員提供處理國際投資爭端的培訓課程,為亞洲區構建處理國際投資爭端的調解員團隊。

律政司已於2018年10月15日至21日於香港舉辦首屆國際投資法及國際投資爭端調解技巧培訓課程,並邀請了國際投資爭端解決中心及有效爭議決議中心的國際知名的投資法及投資爭端調解技巧講者為課程主講。參加者約有50名,當中包括調解員及亞洲區的政府人員。我們日後會再舉辦更多這類培訓。