This section comprises the summaries of notable judgments in the past 12 months. Summaries are prepared for selected cases which involve important or significant legal principles or issues, issues of public interest, issues that attract strong media or public interest, and/or for educational purpose. The section aims to assist the public to understand the notable judgments and hence is not intended to be exhaustive. Please visit the Judiciary website for reference to other cases not covered in this section.

(The summaries of notable judgments contained in this section are prepared by the Department of Justice (DoJ) based on DoJ's own interpretation and understanding of the judgments of the courts concerned. The summaries are not legal advice and should not be relied upon by anyone as such. The summaries have no legal effect and are not intended to be cited as authorities of any kind. To fully understand the legal effect of the courts' judgments, the whole judgments of the courts concerned should be looked at.)

"Significant Judicial Decisions involving the Government Criminal Cases. This table consists of 5 columns. The first column is 'Number', the second column is 'Case Name', the third column is 'Court / Contract Ref.', the forth column is 'Date of Latest Judgment / Reasons for Verdict'
No. Date Court Case Name / Number Subject Matter
Involved
Summary
  04 Nov 2021 Court of Final Appeal HKSAR v. LO KIN MAN
SECRETARY FOR JUSTICE v. TONG WAI HUNG

FACC 6/2021
FACC 7/2021
Elements of offence and legal principles relating to unlawful assembly and riot Download
  11 Oct 2021 Court of Appeal HKSAR v. CHAN CHUN KIT

HCMA 242/2020
Possession of instrument fit for unlawful purposes under section 17 of the Summary Offences Ordinance (Cap. 228) Download
  27 Sep 2021 Court of Final Appeal SECRETARY FOR JUSTICE v. LEUNG KWOK HUNG

FACC 3/2021
Freedom of speech and debate (section 3) and the offence of contempt (section 17(c)) under the Legislative Council (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance (Cap. 382) Download
  16 Jul 2021 Court of Final Appeal HKSAR v. LEUNG CHUNG HANG SIXTUS

FACC 2/2021
Mental element of the 'likely limb' of the offence of unlawful assembly Download
  25 Mar 2021 Court of Appeal SECRETARY FOR JUSTICE v. TONG WAI HUNG & OTHERS

CASJ 1/2020
The doctrine of joint enterprise in the offences of unlawful assembly and riot Download
  17 Mar 2021 Court of Appeal SECRETARY FOR JUSTICE v. LIU CHI FUNG

CACC 108/2020
Sentencing considerations for triad offences Download
LOAD MORE

此部分涵盖过去12个月的重要判决摘要。我们选取有关案件拟备摘要的准则,是有关案件涉及事关重要或重大的法律原则或问题,关乎公众利益的事宜,广受社会关注,传媒或公众有重大兴趣的案件,及/或具有教育价值。此部分的目的,是让公众理解重要判决,因此所载案件无意详尽无遗。如欲参考不包含在此部分的其他案件,请查阅司法机构的网页。

(此部分所涵盖的重要判决摘要是由律政司根据部门对有关法庭判决的诠释和理解而拟备。有关摘要并非法律意见,任何人士不应依赖上述资料为法律意见。有关摘要并无法律效力,亦不应被援引为任何典据。读者应参考判决的全文,以全面理解有关法庭判决的法律效力。)

Significant Judicial Decisions involving the Government Criminal Cases. This table consists of 5 columns. The first column is 'Number', the second column is 'Case Name', the third column is 'Court / Contract Ref.', the forth column is 'Date of Latest Judgment / Reasons for Verdict'
号码 日期 法院 案件 / 案件编号 涉及的事宜 摘要
  2021年11月04日 终审法院 香港特别行政区 诉 卢建民
律政司司长 诉 汤伟雄

FACC 6/2021
FACC 7/2021
非法集结及暴动的罪行元素及法律原则 下載
  2021年10月11日 上诉法庭 香港特别行政区 诉 陈俊杰

HCMA 242/2020
管有《简易程序治罪条例》(第228章)第17条所指的适合作非法用途的工具 下载
  2021年09月27日 终审法院 律政司司长 诉 梁国雄

FACC 3/2021
《立法会(权力及特权)条例》(第382章)所订的言论及辩论的自由(第3条)和藐视罪(第17(c)条) 下载
  2021年07月16日 终审法院 香港特别行政区 诉 梁颂恒

FACC 2/2021
非法集结罪中"相当可能"一环的意念元素 下载
  2021年03月25日 上诉法庭 律政司司长 诉 汤伟雄及其他人

CASJ 1/2020
非法集结及暴动罪中的夥同犯罪原则 下载
  2021年03月17日 上诉法庭 香港特别行政区 诉 廖子凤

CACC 108/2020
三合会罪行的判刑考虑 下载
更多