Header

Mediation

Mediation Week 2014

The Report of the Working Group on Mediation

In the 2007-08 Policy Address, the Chief Executive announced the establishment of a cross-sector working group headed by the Secretary for Justice to map out plans to employ mediation more extensively and effectively in handling higher-end commercial disputes and relatively small scale local disputes.

On 8 February 2010, the Secretary for Justice, as Chairman of the Working Group on Mediation (the Working Group), speaking at a Press Conference released the Working Group Report (the Report):

The Working Group made 48 recommendations covering three important areas of regulatory framework, training and accreditation, and publicity and public education. Members of the public were invited to send comments and views on the findings and the recommendations in the Report during the 3 months' public consultation period. We received positive and constructive feedback on the 48 recommendations.


The Mediation Task Force

In order to consider the recommendations of the Working Group which required further deliberations after taking into account the public feedback received and to implement those which received general support, the Secretary for Justice has set up a Mediation Task Force comprising members of the Judiciary, the legal professions and major mediation service providers. The membership and terms of reference of the Mediation Task Force (the Task Force) are as follows:

Membership and Terms of Reference pdf file format

The Task Force is assisted in its work by three groups working specifically on the following three areas:

  • regulatory framework
  • accreditation and training
  • public education and publicity

MEDIATION ORDINANCE, CAP. 620

The Working Group in its Report recommended that Hong Kong should have legislation on mediation, which should be aimed at providing a proper legal framework for the conduct of mediation in Hong Kong. However, the legislation should not hamper the flexibility of the mediation process.

There was overwhelming support during the public consultation for the enactment of a Mediation Ordinance. With the advice of the Mediation Ordinance Group of the Task Force, we prepared a draft Mediation Bill and conducted two consultation sessions with stakeholders on the draft Mediation Bill in late June 2011.

The Mediation Bill was introduced into the Legislative Council on 30 November 2011. A Bills Committee was formed by the Council to study the Bill. The Bills Committee held seven meetings to study the Bill and received views from 32 deputations at one of its meetings. Please click here to read the Report of the Bills Committee which sets out the deliberations of the Bills Committee.

The Mediation Ordinance (Cap. 620) was enacted in June 2012 and came into operation on 1 January 2013. The Mediation Ordinance provides a regulatory framework for the conduct of mediation in Hong Kong without hampering the flexibility of the mediation process. Its objects are to promote, encourage and facilitate the resolution of disputes by mediation, and to protect the confidential nature of mediation communications (section 3). It also defines the meaning of mediation (section 4), mediator and mediation communication (section 2). Please click here to read the text of the Mediation Ordinance.

DEVELOPMENT OF A SYSTEM OF ACCREDITING MEDIATORS

At present, accredited mediators practicing in Hong Kong are accredited by different mediation accrediting organisations, local and overseas alike, each adopting its own set of training and accreditation requirements.

In early 2010, the Hong Kong Mediation Code pdf file format(the Code) was promulgated by the Working Group. The Code is intended to provide a common standard among mediators and to serve an important quality assurance function. A number of mediation service providers have already adopted the Code. We will continue to work with relevant stakeholders to oversee the adoption and implementation of the Code and to review the operation in the light of experience.

The Working Group in its Report also recommended that the establishment of a single accreditation body would be desirable and could assist in ensuring the quality of mediators, consistency of standards, education of the public about mediation and mediators, enhancing public confidence in mediation services, and maintaining the credibility of mediation. Nonetheless, it noted that the time was not right to prescribe a standardized system of accrediting mediators, and the emphasis should be on the provision of appropriate mediation information to potential users of mediation that would enable them to decide whether to choose mediation to resolve disputes and also assist them to be better able to choose competent mediators. The Report recommended that the possibility for establishing such a body be reviewed in five years.

The majority of the submissions received in the public consultation expressed that a single accreditation body should be set up as soon as possible. As there are a number of mediation service providers in Hong Kong, local and overseas alike, it is important for the major service providers to work together on the formation of an accreditation body and to agree on mutually acceptable professional standards, including training standards.

The Task Force considered that a non-statutory industry-led single accreditation body should be supported. The Accreditation Group of the Task Force has deliberated on the setting up of such an industry-led accreditation body, which will become the premier accreditation body for mediators in Hong Kong responsible for accreditation and dealing with disciplinary matters. This single accreditation body, by the name of Hong Kong Mediation Accreditation Association Limited, HKMAAL for short, was incorporated in the form of a company limited by guarantee on 28 August 2012 with the Hong Kong Bar Association, the Law Society of Hong Kong, the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre, and the Hong Kong Mediation Centre as the founder members. Following its incorporation, representatives of the founder members of HKMAAL conducted a briefing of its objectives and functions on 11 October 2012 for stakeholders which was attended by almost 60 representatives of the stakeholders. We will continue to work with HKMAAL and mediation stakeholders to keep in view the development of the system of accrediting mediators.

PUBLIC EDUCATION AND PUBLICITY INITIATIVES

There was general support for the Working Group's recommendations in respect of public education and publicity of mediation in Hong Kong. We recognise that successful public education and publicity require the concerted efforts of all stakeholders. In this regard, there was much support for the Pilot Project on Community Venues for Mediation to continue. This Pilot Project was started in 2009 with the objectives to identify suitable venues for mediation available at very low or no cost; to promote such venues to mediators; to co-ordinate the usage of such venues; and to collect statistics on such usage. Currently, with the support of the Yau Tsim Mong District Council and the Wan Chai District Council, designated time slots are reserved in two community centres (the Henry G Leong Yaumatei Community Centre and Leighton Hill Community Hall) for the use of mediators. We will monitor the usage statistics and users' feedback closely with a view to assessing how best to support the further development of mediation.

A "Mediate First" Pledge campaign was launched in May 2009, with more than 100 companies and trade organisations pledging to consider the use of mediation first before resorting to other means of dispute resolution. The “Mediate First” Pledge (the Pledge) is a statement of policy aimed at encouraging greater use of mediation as a flexible, creative and constructive approach in resolving commercial disputes. In the absence of dispute resolution provisions in the contract, the Pledge articulates the intent of the disputants to resolve conflicts in amicable and constructive ways that produce mutually-determined resolutions while controlling risks, expenditures and time consumed. Companies and trade organizations can rely on their adherence to the Pledge as a policy favouring appropriate use of interest-based negotiation and mediation. Signing the Pledge signifies the willingness to approach the resolution of disputes by mediation before pursuing litigation. Companies, organizations and associations can show their support to first explore the use of mediation to resolve disputes by filling out and submitting the "Mediate First" Pledge to the DoJ Mediation Team via the link below.

Separately, the Public Education and Publicity Group of the Task Force has, in collaboration with other individuals, organisations and the community, focused on the implementation of various recommendations. Among various promotional ideas, the Task Force and its Public Education and Publicity Group have implemented the following initiatives:

  • Production of an Announcement in the Public Interest (API) for the promotion of mediation - The API on TV and on the radio was broadcasted in December 2011. Please click here for the API.
  • The second Mediation in Hong Kong Conference in 2012 - After the first successful one held jointly with other relevant stakeholders in December 2007, the second Mediation in Hong Kong Conference entitled “Mediate First” Conference was held on 11 and 12 May 2012 at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. It was jointly organized by the Department of Justice, Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre and The Hong Kong Mediation Council with the support of the Judiciary. The two-day conference aimed to raise public awareness of mediation and provide an opportunity for overseas and local mediation experts to share their experiences. It was well received and was attended by more than 250 speakers and participants on each day. Please click here for the Opening Remarks by the Secretary for Justice on the first day of the conference. Please click here for further information on the Conference.

Steering Committee on Mediation

To further foster the development of mediation in Hong Kong, the Secretary for Justice has set up a new Steering Committee on Mediation, comprising members from different sectors of the community including legal professionals, medical practitioners, academics, administrators, social workers and insurers. The Steering Committee is assisted by the Regulatory Framework Sub-committee, the Accreditation Sub-committee and the Public Education and Publicity Sub-committee. Please click here for the Terms of Reference and Membership of the Steering Committee.

Steering Committee on Mediation

Members of Steering Committee at the first meeting on 8 January 2013

Go to Top

 

Web Accessibility Conformance Statement

标题

调解

调解


Logo Award Scheme



调解工作小组报告

行政长官在《二零零七至零八年施政报告》宣布成立一个由律政司司长領导的跨界别工作小组,筹划如何更有效和更广泛利用调解处理高层次的商业纠纷,以及相对小型但与社区息息相关的纠纷。

2010年2月8日,调解工作小组主席律政司司长在记者会上发言并发表工作小组报告(报告):

工作小组提出48项建议,涵盖3个主要范畴-即规管框架、培训和资格评审,以及宣传和公众教育。工作小组邀请公众在为期3个月的公众咨询期,就报告所载结果和建议提出意见。我们就该48项建议收到正面和积极的回应。


调解专责小组

律政司司长成立了调解专责小组,因应公众就工作小组建议所提出的意见,研究当中须予进一步考虑的建议,并落实已得到广泛支持的建议。调解专责小组(专责小组)的成员包括司法机构人员、法律专业人士及主要的调解服务提供者。专责小组的成员名单及职权范围如下︰

成员名单及职权范围 pdf file format

专责小组由3个组支援。该3个组分别专责处理以下范畴的工作:

  • 规管框架
  • 资格评审和培训
  • 公众教育及宣传

《调解条例》(第620章)

工作小组在报告中建议,香港应就调解事宜进行立法,目的是提供适当的法律架构以在香港进行调解。不过,有关法例不可妨碍调解程序的灵活性。

公众咨询的过程中绝大部分回应者支持制定《调解条例》。我们根据专责小组辖下的《调解条例》组的建议,拟备了《调解条例草案》拟稿,并在2011年6月底就该拟稿与持份者举行了两次咨询会。

我们在2011年11月30日把《调解条例草案》提交立法会审议。立法会成立了法案委员会审议条例草案。法案委员会曾先后举行7次会议研究条例草案,并在其中一次会议上听取32个代表团体陈述意见。有关法案委员会所进行的商议载于法案委员会报告,请按此处参阅该报告。

《调解条例》(第620章)在2012年6月制定,并于2013年1月1日起实施。《调解条例》在不妨碍调解程序灵活性的前提下,为在香港进行调解订立规管框架。该条例旨在提倡、鼓励和促进以调解方式解决争议,以及使调解通讯得以保密(第3条)。该条例亦界定调解的涵义(第4条),以及调解员和调解通讯的涵义(第2条)。请按此处参阅《调解条例》的文本。

《道歉条例》(第631章)

经过2015及2016年的两轮公众咨询后(请按此处参阅《咨询文件》),政府于2017年1月将《道歉条例草案》引入立法会。《道歉条例草案》委员会就审议《道歉条例草案》举行了6次会议,及在其中一个会议中听取11个团体的意见(请按此处参阅《道歉条例草案》委员会的文件)。

《道歉条例》(第631章)(请按此处参阅)于2017年7月制定并于2017年12月1日生效。《道歉条例》的目的是提倡和鼓励作出道歉,以期防止争端恶化,和促进和睦排解争端。该条例作出不同规定包括在大部分民事法律程序中,道歉并不构成以明示或默示的方式承认过失或法律责任(第7(1)(a)条);在裁断过失、法律责任或任何其他争议事项时,道歉不得列为不利于道歉者的考虑因素(第7(1)(b)条);及一般不得为裁断过失、法律责任或任何其他争议事项,而接纳为不利于道歉者的证据(第8条)。该条例同时规定如根据某保险或弥偿合约,就某事宜对任何人提供保险保障、补偿或其他形式的利益,则某人就该事宜作出的道歉,并不使该项保障、补偿或利益无效,或受到其他影响(第10条)及道歉并不构成《时效条例》(第347章)所指的承认(第9条)。

就《道歉条例》而言,某人就某事宜作出的道歉,指该人就该事宣表达歉意、遗憾、同情或善意,并包括该人就该事宜表达抱歉。道歉可属口头或书面形式,亦可藉行为作出,并包括以明示或默示的方式作出,承认上述的人在上述事宜方面的过失或法律责任的表达的任何部分;或与上述事宜相关的事实陈述(第4条)。

订立调解员资格评审制度

现时,在香港从事调解工作的认可调解员,都是经由不同的本地及海外调解资格评审机构取得认可,各间机构各自订立不同的培训及资格评审规定。

2010年年初,工作小组颁布《香港调解守则pdf file format》。该守则旨在为调解员订立通用标准,并具有确保调解服务质素的重要作用。现巳有多个调解服务提供者采用该守则。我们会继续与相关的持份者合作,监察该守则的采用和执行情况,以及根据经验,检讨该守则的运作情况。

工作小组亦在报告中建议,成立一个单一资格评审组织是可取的,而且有助确保调解员的质素、使评审标准一致、向市民灌输有关调解服务和调解员的知识、加强市民对调解服务的信心,以及维持调解的可信性。然而,报告指出,目前并非适当时候订定划一的调解员资格评审制度,而应致力于为可能使用调解服务的人士提供适合的调解资料,以便他们决定是否选用调解来解决纠纷,并且协助他们选择胜任的调解员。报告建议应在5年内检讨成立该组织的可能性。

公众咨询所接获的大多数意见书,都表示应尽快成立一个单一评审组织。鉴于香港有多个本地及海外的调解服务提供者,由这些主要的服务提供者携手合作,成立一个资格评审组织,并议定共同接受的专业标准(包括培训标准),至为重要。

专责小组认为,成立一个由业界主导的非法定单一资格评审组织,是应该支持的。专责小组辖下的资格评审组已就设立上述由业界主导、负责资格评审和处理纪律审裁事宜的香港单一调解员资格评审组织进行商议。该单一资格评审组织称为香港调解资历评审协会有限公司,简称调评会,已在2012年8月28日以担保有限公司的形式注册,创会成员包括香港大律师公会、香港律师会、香港国际仲裁中心及香港和解中心。调评会成立后,创会成员的代表在2012年10月11日为持份者举行简介会,向近60名持份者代表讲解调评会的目标和职能。我们会继续与调评会及调解持份者合作,密切留意调解员资格评审制度的发展。

公众教育和宣传计划

工作小组就香港调解服务的公众教育和宣传工作提出的建议,获得公众普遍支持。我们确认,公众教育和宣传工作必须由所有持份者合力推行,方能发挥成效。就这方面,社会普遍支持继续推行社区场地调解试验计划。这个试验计划于2009年开展,目标为物色以低廉收费或免费提供的合适调解场地;向调解员推介这些场地;统筹这些场地的使用;以及收集有关场地使用率的统计数字。目前,在油尖旺区议会和湾仔区议会的支持下,有两个社区中心(即油麻地梁显利社区中心和礼顿山社区会堂)预留指定时段供调解员使用。我们会密切留意使用情况的统计数字和使用者的意见,以评估如何为调解的进一歩发展提供最佳的支援。

“调解为先”承诺书运动在2009年5月展开,有超过100间公司及行业机构承诺在使用其他方法解决争议前,先考虑进行调解。“调解为先”承诺书(承诺书)是一份政策声明,旨在鼓励更广泛使用调解,以灵活创新和有建设性的方式解决商业纠纷。承诺书表明,如合约没有订明解决纠纷的条款,争议各方的意向是以友好和有建设性的方式,在控制风险、开支和时间的同时,共同议定解决方案。公司和行业组织可借着信守这项承诺,表明其政策是主张适当使用利益为本的谈判及调解方式。承诺书一经签署,即代表公司或行业组织愿意在诉讼前先透过调解解决纠纷。任何公司, 组织和联会如愿意支持先尝试采用调解来解决争议,可以按以下连结,填写“调解为先”承诺书及提交律政司调解组。

此外,专责小组辖下的公众教育及宣传组已与其他个别人士、机构及社区组织合作,集中处理落实各项建议。在多项有关宣传的构思中,专责小组和其辖下的公众教育及宣传组已推行以下活动:

  • 制作推广调解的宣传短片/声带- 我们已于2014年在电视及电台播放有关推广宣传短片及声带。请按此处观看该宣传短片
  • 2012年第二届香港调解研讨会-继与其他相关持份者于2007年12月成功举办香港调解研讨会后,第二届香港调解研讨会,即“调解为先”研讨会,在2012年5月11及12日在香港会议展览中心举行。研讨会由律政司、香港国际仲裁中心和香港调解会合办,并获得司法机构支持。该两天的研讨会旨在提高公众对调解的认识,以及为海外和本地的调解专家提供交流机会。研讨会广受欢迎,每日有超过250位讲者及参加者出席。请按此处参阅律政司司长在“调解为先”研讨会首日的开幕辞全文。请按此处浏览有关研讨会的进一步详情。

调解督导委员会

为进一步促进调解在香港的发展, 律政司司长成立了新的调解督导委员会(督导委员会) ,成员来自社会不同界别, 包括法律专业人士、医生、学者、行政管理人员及社工。督导委员会由规管架构小组委员会、评审资格小组委员会和公众教育及宣传小组委员会支援。请按此处参阅督导委员会的职权范围及成员名单。

调解督导委员会

督导委员会成员在2013年1月8日举行第一次会议


返回页首

 

无障碍网页守则