Hong Kong: the international arbitration centre for Asia Pacific region

Expand AllCollapse All

Arbitration Ordinance (Cap.609)

In June 2011, a new Arbitration Ordinance (Cap.609) ("the Ordinance") came into effect to reform the arbitration law then in force by unifying the dual regimes for domestic and international arbitrations. The Ordinance is based on the Model Law on International Commercial Arbitration of the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (“Model Law”), which is well understood by practitioners from both civil law and common law jurisdictions and familiar to the international business community.

The reform under the Ordinance has the following features:

  • Making our arbitration law more user-friendly to arbitration users both in and outside Hong Kong by unifying the separate regimes of domestic and international arbitration under a self-contained legislation which gives legal effect to those provisions of the Model Law that are applicable to Hong Kong;
  • Enhancing confidentiality for international arbitration by providing that court proceedings relating to arbitration are generally not to be heard in open court and prohibiting the publication, disclosure or communication of any information relating to arbitral proceedings and awards unless otherwise agreed by the parties or under any exceptions in the Ordinance;
  • Allowing foreign law firms and practitioners to engage in and advise on arbitration in Hong Kong and parties in arbitration may retain advisers regardless of their nationalities and professional qualifications;
  • Limiting the court’s powers of intervention in arbitral proceedings to certain circumstances and restricting the power of appeal to proceedings which determine substantive rights with a view to ensure fair and speedy resolution of disputes by arbitration; and
  • Retaining the status quo of domestic subcontracting agreements in the construction industry applying the domestic regime by opt-in provisions.

The Arbitration Ordinance has since been amended over the years to ensure that Hong Kong’s arbitration law stays abreast of international developments, to consolidate Hong Kong’s competitiveness as a leading international arbitration centre and to promote Hong Kong as a preferable seat of arbitration for both local and overseas parties. The primary objects of each amendment are set out below:

  • Arbitration (Amendment) Ordinance 2013
    • Implementing the Arrangement Concerning Reciprocal Recognition and Enforcement of Arbitral Awards Between the HKSAR and the Macao SAR (“the Arrangement”), concluded in January 2013, to facilitate summary recognition and enforcement of Macao arbitral awards by Hong Kong courts under the Arrangement.
    • Clarifying that emergency relief granted by an emergency arbitrator in or outside Hong Kong is enforceable in accordance with the Ordinance.
  • Arbitration (Amendment) Ordinance 2015
    • Removing legal uncertainties relating to the opt-in mechanism under Part 11 of the Ordinance such that parties opting for domestic arbitration could decide on the number of arbitrators whilst retaining their right to seek the Court’s assistance on certain matters set out in the Ordinance.
  • Arbitration (Amendment) Ordinance 2017
  • Arbitration and Mediation Legislation (Third Party Funding) (Amendment) Ordinance 2017

Worldwide Recognition and Enforcement of Arbitral Awards

Arbitral awards made in Hong Kong can be enforced in all State parties to the New York Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards.

Cooperation with the Mainland and Macao on arbitration-related matters

In order to complete the network for recognition and enforcement of arbitral awards, the HKSAR has respectively entered into reciprocal arrangements with the Mainland and the Macao SAR, namely an arrangement between Hong Kong and the Mainland for reciprocal enforcement of arbitral awards and an arrangement between Hong Kong and Macao for reciprocal recognition and enforcement of arbitral awards.

To commemorate the 20th anniversary of the implementation of the Arrangement Concerning Mutual Enforcement of Arbitral Awards between the Mainland and the HKSAR signed on 21 June 1999 and came into effect on 1 February 2000 (“1999 Arrangement”), the Supreme People’s Court and the Department of Justice have jointly published a Compendium of Notable Cases of Mainland and Hong Kong judgments concerning enforcement of arbitral awards under the 1999 Arrangement. Each side has chosen five notable cases and the Compendium can be found at the Publications of this website.

Further, pursuant to the Arrangement Concerning Mutual Assistance in Court-ordered Interim Measures in Aid of Arbitral Proceedings by the Courts of the Mainland and of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, parties to arbitral proceedings seated in the HKSAR and administered by designated arbitral institutions may apply to the Mainland courts for interim measures, including property preservation, evidence preservation and conduct preservation. Notably, Hong Kong has become the first jurisdiction outside the Mainland where, as a seat of arbitration, parties to arbitral proceedings administered by its arbitral institutions would be able to apply to the Mainland courts for interim measures.

Over the last ten years, there has been an increasing number of reputable international legal and dispute resolution institutions setting up offices in Hong Kong, reinforce our position as a leading international arbitration centre in the Asia Pacific region:

  • Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (“HKIAC”): HKIAC is Hong Kong’s own home-grown arbitration body established in the 1980’s and is totally independent, free from governmental interference. HKIAC has been designated under the Ordinance to appoint arbitrators and to determine the number of arbitrators where the parties to a dispute are unable to agree.
  • The International Court of Arbitration of the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC-ICA): In November 2008, the Paris-based ICC-ICA has opened the first overseas branch of its Secretariat in Hong Kong to serve ICC arbitration in the Asia-Pacific Region, namely ICC-ICA – Asia Office.
  • China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (“CIETAC”): CIETAC was established in 1956 and is China’s oldest and most experienced arbitration institution, accepting the majority of foreign-related arbitration cases in China. In September 2012, CIETAC established its first branch outside the Mainland in Hong Kong, namely the CIETAC Hong Kong Arbitration Centre.
  • China Maritime Arbitration Commission (“CMAC”): CMAC was established in 1959 and is the sole maritime arbitration institution in China. In November 2014, CMAC established a branch in Hong Kong, namely the CMAC Hong Kong Arbitration Centre.
  • Permanent Court of Arbitration (“PCA”): PCA was established in 1899 by the Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes and has developed into a modern and reputable arbitral institution handling international investment arbitration with its headquarters in The Hague.  In January 2015, the PCA signed a host country agreement with the Central People’s Government and a related memorandum of administrative arrangements with the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region to facilitate the conduct of PCA-administered arbitration in Hong Kong, including state-investor arbitration.  
  • The Hong Kong Maritime Arbitration Group (“HKMAG”): HKMAG was originally formed in February 2000 as a division of HKIAC and became an independent organization in March 2019. HKMAG has the specific aim of the promotion of the development and use of maritime arbitration and mediation in Hong Kong.
  • eBRAM International Online Dispute Resolution Centre (“eBRAM”): eBRAM was established in June 2018 and is an independent and not-for-profit organisation under Hong Kong law. It provides a new online dispute resolution platform in Hong Kong.
Hong Kong and Japan sign Memorandum of CooperationDepartment of Justice co-organises Hong Kong Forum on 60th Anniversary of the New York Convention on international arbitration

To further promote Hong Kong as a leading centre for international arbitration services in the Asia-Pacific region, the Secretary for Justice has set up an Advisory Committee on Promotion of Arbitration, comprising representatives from the DoJ and the legal, arbitration and relevant sectors in Hong Kong. Overseas arbitration experts may also be appointed from time to time to assist in the work of the Advisory Committee either generally or on specific issues.

The Inclusive Dispute Avoidance and Resolution Office (“IDAR Office”) was established on 2 January 2019 to provide support to the Secretary for Justice in planning and taking forward initiatives to enhance Hong Kong’s role as a deal making hub and a leading international legal and dispute resolution services centre.

The IDAR Office receives support from the Arbitration Unit and China Law Unit of the Legal Policy Division, the Mediation Team of the Civil Division and the International Organizations and Legal Cooperation Team of the Treaties & Law Unit of the International Law Division, to enhance the overall coordination of the Department's promotional work for international legal and dispute resolution services.

The IDAR Office organises, supports and encourages a variety of major and international events and capacity building programmes to raise the international profile of Hong Kong, including the annual “Hong Kong Arbitration Week”. For more details about the past and upcoming key legal and dispute resolution events in Hong Kong, please visit the Legal Hub’s website.

Further information about arbitration in Hong Kong may be obtained from:

Department of Justice

香港:亚太区的国际仲裁中心

全部展开全部折叠

《仲裁条例》(第609章)

《仲裁条例》(第609章)在2011年6月生效,统一本地和国际仲裁两分的制度,从而改革当时实施的仲裁法律。《仲裁条例》以联合国国际贸易法委员会《国际商事仲裁示范法》(《示范法》)为基础,后者广为大陆法和普通法司法管辖区的法律执业者了解,也为国际商界所熟悉。

《仲裁条例》改革的内容如下:

  • 把本地和国际仲裁两个独立的制度统一纳入同一条完备的法例下,使《示范法》中适用于香港的条文具有法律效力,从而令香港的仲裁法律更方便境内外的仲裁用户使用;
  • 为加强国际仲裁的保密性,规定有关仲裁的法院程序一般不得在公开法庭聆讯,除非各方另有协议或在该条例所订明的例外情况下,否则不得发表、披露或传达任何关乎仲裁程序及裁决的资料;
  • 容许外地律师事务所及法律执业者在香港从事仲裁事务或就仲裁提供意见,而仲裁各方亦可聘用顾问,其顾问的国籍及专业资格不受限制;
  • 限制法院只可在某些情况下行使干预仲裁程序的权力,以及把上诉的权力限于决定实质权利的程序,以确保仲裁可公平及迅速地解决争议;以及
  • 透过可供选用的条文,保留建造业本地分判合约应用本地仲裁制度的现状。

《仲裁条例》经过历年修订,旨在确保香港的仲裁法律紧贴国际最新发展,巩固香港作为主要国际仲裁中心的竞争力,并推广香港为本地及海外各方的首选仲裁地。每次修订的主要目标如下:

  • 《2013年仲裁(修订)条例》
    • 实施2013年1月签订的《关于香港特别行政区与澳门特别行政区相互认可和执行仲裁裁决的安排》(《安排》),以便香港法院根据《安排》循简易程序认可和强制执行澳门的仲裁裁决。
    • 订明紧急仲裁员在香港或香港以外地方批给的紧急济助均可根据《仲裁条例》强制执行。
  • 《2015年仲裁(修订)条例》
    • 消除《仲裁条例》第11部就供选用的机制有关的若干法律不明确情况,使选择本地仲裁的各方可决定仲裁员人数,同时保留他们就《仲裁条例》载述的若干事宜寻求法庭协助的权利。
  • 《2017年仲裁(修订)条例》
  • 《2017年仲裁及调解法例(第三者资助)(修订)条例》
    • 因应法律改革委员会(法改会)在2016年10月12日所发表报告书内的建议。
    • 厘清第三者在香港资助仲裁、调解及相关程序不受助讼及包揽诉讼的普通法原则所禁止。
    • 有关第三者资助仲裁的条文在2019年2月1日生效,与之配合的《第三者资助仲裁实务守则》(《实务守则》)则订明保障措施和规例。有关第三者资助调解的新条文,将会在进一步咨询调解业界及相关持份者後实施。
    • 政府已委任谘询机构,负责监察及检讨新条文和《实务守则》的运作。
    • 详情请参阅法改会谘询文件报告书条例刊宪版本,以及载述此项修订主要内容的摘要

仲裁裁决获世界各国认可和执行

在香港所作的仲裁裁决可在所有签订《承认及执行外国仲裁裁决公约》—《纽约公约》的缔约国执行。

与内地和澳门在仲裁相关事宜上的合作

为使认可和执行仲裁裁决的网络完整,香港特区已与内地和澳门特区订立相互安排,分别是《关于内地与香港特别行政区相互执行仲裁裁决的安排》《关于香港特别行政区与澳门特别行政区相互认可和执行仲裁裁决的安排》

为纪念于1999年6月21日签订及于2000年2月1日生效的《关于内地与香港特别行政区相互执行仲裁裁决的安排》(“《安排》”)实施二十周年,最高人民法院及律政司共同发布在《安排》下相互执行仲裁裁决的内地及香港判决的典型案例。双方各自选择了五个典型案例,典型案例载于本网站刊物一栏。

此外,依据《关于内地与香港特别行政区法院就仲裁程序相互协助保全的安排》,以香港特区为仲裁地并由指定仲裁机构管理的仲裁程序的当事人可以向内地法院申请保全措施,包括财产保全、证据保全及行为保全。值得留意的是,香港已成为第一个内地以外的司法管辖区,在作为仲裁地时,由其仲裁机构管理的仲裁程序的当事人可以向内地法院申请保全措施。

过去十年,愈来愈多着名的国际法律及争议解决机构在香港设立办事处,巩固香港作为亚太区主要国际仲裁中心的地位:

  • 香港国际仲裁中心:香港国际仲裁中心是1980年代在香港创立的本地仲裁机构,完全独立,不受政府干预。该中心是《仲裁条例》指定的机构,负责在争议各方未能达成协议时委任仲裁员及决定仲裁员人数。
  • 国际商会国际仲裁院:位于巴黎的国际商会国际仲裁院于2008年11月在香港设立首个海外秘书局分局,名为亚洲事务办公室,负责监督亚太区的国际商会仲裁。
  • 中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会(贸仲委):贸仲委在1956年成立,是中国历史最悠久、经验最丰富的仲裁机构,国内大部分涉外仲裁个案,均由贸仲委处理。2012年9月,贸仲委在香港设立首个在中国内地以外的分处,名为贸仲委香港仲裁中心。
  • 中国海事仲裁委员会(海仲委):海仲委在1959年成立,是中国唯一的海事仲裁机构。2014年11月,海仲委在香港设立分处,即海仲委香港仲裁中心。
  • 常设仲裁法院:常设仲裁法院在1899年根据《和平解决国际争端公约》的建议成立,总部位于海牙,现已发展为在处理国际投资仲裁方面享有盛誉的现代仲裁机构。 2015年1月,常设仲裁法院与中央人民政府签订东道国协议,并与香港特别行政区政府签订相关的行政安排备忘录,使常设仲裁法院负责管理的仲裁(包括东道国与投资者之间的仲裁)得以在香港进行。
  • 香港海事仲裁协会:香港海事仲裁协会于2000年2月成立,原属香港国际仲裁中心的一部分,后于2019年3月成为独立的机构,宗旨为促进香港海事仲裁与调解的发展和使用。
  • 一邦国际网上仲调中心:一邦国际网上仲调中心在2018年6月根据香港法律成立,是非牟利独立机构,在香港提供崭新的网上争议解决平台。
Hong Kong and Japan sign Memorandum of CooperationDepartment of Justice co-organises Hong Kong Forum on 60th Anniversary of the New York Convention on international arbitration

为进一步推广香港为亚太区主要国际仲裁服务中心,律政司司长成立了仲裁推广咨询委员会,成员包括律政司和香港法律、仲裁及相关界别的代表。委员会亦会不时委任海外仲裁专家,协助委员会处理一般或特定事项的工作。

普惠避免及解决争议办公室(普惠办公室)在2019年1月2日成立,负责支援律政司司长筹划和推展各项措施,以巩固香港作为交易促成枢钮和主要国际法律及争议解决服务中心的地位。

宪制及政策事务科中国法律组、民事法律科仲裁小组和调解小组,以及国际法律科条约法律组国际组织及法律合作小组亦为普惠办公室提供支持,加强协调本司推广国际法律及争议解决服务的工作。

普惠办公室举办、支持和鼓励各项大型国际活动及能力建设计划,包括“香港仲裁周”年度活动,以提升香港的国际形象。关于香港过往及最新法律及争议解决重点活动的更多详情,请浏览法律枢钮网站

律政司

有关香港仲裁服务的进一步资料,可在以下地点索取: