There are six professional divisions in the Department responsible for legal work. The Department is headed by the Secretary for Justice, who is a member of the Executive Council and is the Government’s chief legal adviser. The Secretary has ultimate responsibility for the prosecution of all offences in the HKSAR.

The Legal Policy Division, as well as the Secretary for Justice’s Office, provides professional support in the execution of the Secretary for Justice’s duties and provides input on all legal policy issues being considered by the Government. The division advises on issues relating to the administration of justice, the legal system, the legal profession, human rights, the Basic Law, constitutional development and electoral matters and Mainland Law. The Law Reform Commission Secretariat, which provides research and secretarial support to the Commission, is part of the division.

The Civil Division provides legal advice to the Government on civil law, drafts commercial contracts and franchises and conducts civil litigation, arbitration and mediation on behalf of the Government.

The Law Drafting Division drafts, in Chinese and English, all legislation proposed by the Government and provides professional support to policy bureaux throughout the legislative process. It is also responsible for updating and publishing the consolidated legislation of the HKSAR.

One of the most important functions of the Prosecutions Division is to make prosecutorial decisions, including whether to prosecute, and if so what charges to lay and before which courts. Its counsel provide legal advice to law enforcement agencies and other government departments and agencies on all prosecution, criminal law and procedure related matters, conduct trials and most appeals (up to and including those before the Court of Final Appeal).

The National Security Prosecutions Division was established in accordance with The Law of the People’s Republic of China on Safeguarding National Security in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. It is responsible for the prosecution of offences endangering national security and other related legal work.

The International Law Division advises the Government on issues relating to public international law. Lawyers in this division also participate in the negotiation of agreements with other jurisdictions and handle requests to and from the HKSAR for international legal co-operation.

Under the direct steer of the Secretary for Justice, the Inclusive Dispute Avoidance and Resolution Office has been established since January 2019 to pursue the policy objectives of the Government in raising the international profile of the HKSAR, as well as enhancing the HKSAR’s status as the leading centre for deal-making and international legal and dispute resolution services in the Asia-Pacific region.

Back

律政司辖下有五个专责法律工作的科别。主管律政司的律政司司长身兼行政会议的成员,也是香港特区政府的首席法律顾问,并负有对本港所有罪案进行检控的最终责任。

宪制及政策事务科和律政司司长办公室提供各项专业服务,以支援律政司司长执行职责,并就政府正在考虑的所有法律政策事宜提供意见。该科也就多方面提供意见,包括司法、法律制度、法律专业、人权、《基本法》、政制发展与选举事务,以及内地法律等。

民事法律科负责向政府提供民事法律意见、草拟商业合约及专营权文件,并代表政府进行民事诉讼、仲裁和调解。

法律草拟科负责以中英文草拟所有由政府建议的法例,并在立法过程中向各决策局提供专业协助,也负责更新并发布经编订的香港特区法例

刑事检控科最重要的职能之一是作出检控决定,包括是否提出检控,而若提出检控则选在哪个法院提出什麽控罪。该科的律师就所有与检控、刑事法律和程序相关的事宜,向执法机关、其他政府部门和机关提供法律意见,并负责就刑事案件和大部分刑事上诉(包括在终审法院提出的上诉)为控方出庭。

维护国家安全检控科是根据《中华人民共和国香港特别行政区维护国家安全法》而设立,负责危害国家安全犯罪案件检控工作和其他相关法律事务。

国际法律科负责向政府提供有关国际公法的法律意见。该科律师也参与有关与其他司法管辖区缔结协定的会议,并处理外地或香港特区提出的国际司法合作请求。

直接隶属律政司司长的普惠避免及解决争议办公室自2019年1月成立,致力推展政府有关政策目标,务求提升香港特区国际形象,以及巩固香港特区作为亚太地区主要的促成交易和国际法律及争议解决服务中心的地位。

返回